We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This hotel could be great, but (sad to say) lets itself down badly”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
AC Hotel Bella Sky Copenhagen
Ranked #21 of 116 Hotels in Copenhagen
Chester, England
Level Contributor
45 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“This hotel could be great, but (sad to say) lets itself down badly”
Reviewed 18 February 2014

First the good points - and there are many:-

Amazing architecture gives this place a wow factor from first sight (as we landed at Copenhagen airport) and the closer you get the better it looks, with two towers (one for the hotel and the other for a conference centre)

Easy to get to from the airport (two stops on the train, change to metro and then first stop)

Great check-in from a lovely, friendly and helpful young lady

Wonderful room on twelfth floor with amazing views - we'd upgraded to a corner room

Great design and fittings and everything looked spotlessly clean (but more on that later)

Easy access into town by bus to train station and Tivoli or metro to main shopping area

The Sky Bar is amazing and has a really nice vibe (in addition to the amazing views you'd expect on the 23rd floor).

...and now the bad

The first morning - we were met at the doors of the breakfast room by a man who guided us instead over a covered walkway to the conference centre where we were in very basic surroundings on huge round tables and with long queues at the inadequate and poorly stocked buffet table. Bread, but no toaster, supplies running out and more like a school dining room than a quality hotel.

In the evening (a Saturday) we ended up back at the hotel and found all of the restaurants were fully booked - as there is nowhere to eat in the surrounding area, we decided to eat in the foyer bar - the food was not good and (in common with the plates of other diners) ours had a lot of food still on them when they took them away - but the staff could not be bothered to ask us or anyone else if they had enjoyed the meal.

When the next morning we were again steered towards the conference centre for breakfast I stood my ground and said, "no, we won't be doing that again" - we were then directed downstairs into the library bar, which was much better.

Before going out after breakfast my wife noticed a shadow on the bed - a disgusting (passport sized) dark stain on the mattress topper hidden by the (clean) sheet. It was obvious that some attempt had been made to clean it, but without any success. We called in the maid, who called in her supervisor - both agreed this was unacceptable and would be fixed.

On our return at about 9pm were were appalled to find that the bed had been made and the room serviced, but the stain was still present. Did the housekeeper think we wouldn't look? Eventually the problem was sorted by the duty manager who changed the mattress and sheet, after he had first offered us a substitute room.

My ratings for value, sleep quality and cleanliness do not fully reflect our revulsion about this incident - as I've attempted to give a more balanced view, and without this those marks would have been a four.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Around the World in 80 Ways
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,565 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,247
    1,545
    516
    161
    96
See reviews for
414
1,239
169
1,175
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (618)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014

This hotel is clean, spacious and extremely modern. Maybe it lacks a bit of "soul", but it's still a good choice. The room and the Sky Bar had amazing views to the city center and airport. Polite staff and good breakfast (breakfast room was a little crowded at times but food didn't run out). Easily reachable by Metro train.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RHMo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BellaSkyComwell, Guest Relations Manager at AC Hotel Bella Sky Copenhagen, responded to this review, 28 February 2014
Thank you very much! The overall theme at our hotel is New Nordic Cool which gives a great Scandinavian atmosphere – simplicity, functionality and high quality both in design and materials. And yes, you are absolutely right, the Metro station is only 3 minutes’ walk from Bella Sky Comwell and the trip downtown takes less than 10 minutes.
We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire
Level Contributor
179 reviews
179 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2014

Check in was friendly (a definite improvement on my previous visit) although I didn't take up the offer of an upgrade to a top floor room as I wasn't going to be in the hotel enough to make it worthwhile. The (standard) room was on the 7th floor and was entirely adequate with some interesting designs. Breakfast is included in the room rate, which is a bonus compared with most hotels, but the breakfast room is huge and impersonal. The staff are efficient at clearing tables, but the whole experience is not restful ....
Check out was friendly and efficient. I got a very good deal, so the hotel represented excellent value for money. As others have noted, the hotel is about 5 minutes from the Metro station and buses stop outside the entrance so it's easy to get into the centre of the city.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hampshire-resident
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BellaSkyComwell, Guest Relations Manager at AC Hotel Bella Sky Copenhagen, responded to this review, 28 February 2014
Thank you, I will make sure your kind words about our staff will be passed on. We look forward to welcoming you at Bella Sky Comwell very soon again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Netherlands
Level Contributor
109 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2014

Stayed one night as a couple at the Bella Sky. First impression was 'wow' when seeing this nice design hotel but that stops there quickly.

The modern architecture is indeed quite impressive and the view from the top floor is worth checking. The room was really modern, latest trend (trying too hard, I thought), clean and spacious.

However, our disappointment came regarding mainly the food. Room service can be ordered using the TV service system with your remote control, where it states that it opens at 22:00. First of all, the menu is rather limited (for such a big hotel). We then chose 2 Cesar salads. After 5 minutes we received a phone call from one of the staff telling us that " because the kitchen is closed, we should order something else". How strange was that!! You tell customers that room service starts at 22:00 (all through the night) and your kitchen is closed! [Other cheaper rate hotels have a wider choice on their room service menu and I assume they do pay staff to prepare those meals for night time.] Besides, preparing a couple of salad should not be that complicated. When opting for 2 salmon sandwiches instead, based on the lovely picture on the TV screen menu, we were delivered 2 enormous sandwiches (in some cheap quality bread) which looked nothing like what was presented on the menu. If we knew, we would have ordered only one sandwich to share between the 2 of us.

The breakfast choice was pretty basic but this was not actually the problem: the quality of the products was. The soft boiled eggs were not cooked (way too abnormally runny for my taste) and not to mention how horrible the scramble eggs tasted, I shall stop here.

My point is that for 180 euros a night, service and attention to details should come before fancy design.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Agnès L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BellaSkyComwell, Guest Relations Manager at AC Hotel Bella Sky Copenhagen, responded to this review, 28 February 2014
Thank you for your feedback. We are very pleased to know you were impressed by the architecture and the design of our hotel.

Regarding the room service we think there has been a misunderstanding. Between 12 pm to 22 pm we serve burgers, pastas, sandwiches, salads and desserts and from 22 pm to 5 am we shift to our Night Menu where we only serve sandwiches, chefs choice. The same information is given on the TV service system but we are sorry if you have been of another idea and for the inconvenience it may have cost you. From the 25th February we have changed the time schedule for room service to 12 pm to 22.30 pm and 22.30 pm to 05.00 am.

Our breakfast normally earns a lot of great feedback and therefore we are sorry to hear you experienced it otherwise. We hope to prove to you that the standard quality of our breakfast is very high and to have the chance to welcome you at Bella Sky Comwell soon again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2014 via mobile

Stayed for 3 nights to see the city sights. Great location to get from airport and into the city. Really friendly helpful staff with any request answered promptly. Beautiful view of the city and retro decor and uptodate technology throughout the room. Free wifi everywhere in the hotel and a great choice at the buffet breakfast.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Susan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BellaSkyComwell, Guest Relations Manager at AC Hotel Bella Sky Copenhagen, responded to this review, 14 February 2014
Thank you very much for your positive feedback. Your kind comments about our staff has been passed on. We look forward to welcoming you at Bella Sky Comwell very soon again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2014

We arrived late on a Friday evening. Although the hotel is 'out of town' its location is actually perfect! The hotel from lobby to the 23rd floor is stylish, sleek and very modern! Check in was easy. Finding the room was easy. The room was again very stylish with a minimalist design. The only downside to the hotel room is that there were no draws. Nowhere to put the socks and knickers!! But since that's the only negative it didn't really have much impact. The bed was the most comfortable bed I had ever slept on in a hotel. The hotel location was really convenient, a few minutes walk from the local metro station. From the metro station it is a 9 minute ride into town which isn't much at all. The breakfast was fantastic. Everything you could ask for, pastries, cheeses, meats, breads(oh the breads were wonderful and freshly baked), bacon, eggs, sausages, fruit, yogurt, cereal, juices and so the list goes on and on and served on a self service all you can eat style. Perfect set up for a day of sightseeing. The restaurant and bar were a bit pricey but then again most places were in Copenhagen. The sky bar(23rd floor) was nothing special, just a bar with a FANTASTIC view. There is a bag store for on the last day which is very helpful. I would stay here, or at its sister hotels with no qualms at all! Many have said on previous reviews that theres nothing around the hotel, but when the town is only 10 minutes away, I would rather have fields and a golf course as my view with the city in the distance rather than other buildings blocking the great view! All the staff were very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Email the hotel in advance and ask for a room with a view....its worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank EmmaP1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BellaSkyComwell, Guest Relations Manager at AC Hotel Bella Sky Copenhagen, responded to this review, 13 February 2014
Thank you very much for your great review. We are happy to know you had a pleasant stay at our hotel. We look forward to see you at Bella Sky Comwell very soon again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Island of Malta, Malta
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2014

Stayed here in Fabruary 2014. Great location to Airport Kastrup (5 Minutes), but 25 minutes away from the city. Bought an upgrade on the "executive level" from a standard room. Arrivng there, the room was not clean. Long black hair in the tub, black hear on the sheets, forehaead prints on all windows, on the door spy, fatty head prints on the bed heads, dust and dirt on the showers corner showed that it was not cleaned properly at all - worst was that some parts looked even very much older than just one guest. Calling for additional cleaning just took the hair in the tub away, and that's it.

The views from the higher levels naturally are good. You look onto Kopenhagen, streets, fields the airport or even water, depending on the direction and the height of the room. The hotel bar offers little snaks, in themself not bad, but terribly overcooled, a clear sign they are not freshly made. Conference food from the hotel was mainly inedible, terrible undefinable meat chunks, salami from the discounter, even the coffee was light as tea, with milk coming from dirty open milk mugs.

Breakfast to the room was ordered for 8am, didn't come. Calling at 8:10 needed a return call to 8:15, telling me there was a mixup with the room number and the breakfast will be there in around 10 minutes. As at 8:30 I needed to leave, I told them that this is going to be too late. Only a "OK" - no apoligy, no offering of a lunch bag, nothing.

Dishes and drinks ordered from the room service over the day were not taken away from the room, despite checking the "remove my tray" button after 8 hours. Elevators in peak times are overcrowded and take ages to come to the upper levels, and then they are still already full. Calculate 15 minutes to get to the lobby at least (not joking).

Beds no not have real matresses, but are boxed beds with a light cushion, and on top a thin (4cm) matress with a thin sheet. Even after asking for a king size bed, I got two single beds next to each other. Those were so lihgt, when sleepung in the middle (alone) they moved away from each other, leaving me falling to the ground in between over night. Never seen anything like this in the whole world in that class.

So, not a pleasant stay after all if you need your room or your bed. Even though they have a pretty LEGO model of the hotel in the lobby...

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Herr_Lotze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Copenhagen hotels
Inner Vesterbro
Copenhagen Island Hotel
Copenhagen Island Hotel
#16 of 116 in Copenhagen
2,134 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Copenhagen Marriott Hotel
Copenhagen Marriott Hotel
#10 of 116 in Copenhagen
1,262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner Vesterbro
Absalon Hotel
Absalon Hotel
#6 of 116 in Copenhagen
1,814 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Tivoli Hotel
Tivoli Hotel
#28 of 116 in Copenhagen
2,949 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Andersen Boutique Hotel
Andersen Boutique Hotel
#4 of 116 in Copenhagen
2,270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AC Hotel Bella Sky Copenhagen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AC Hotel Bella Sky Copenhagen

Property: AC Hotel Bella Sky Copenhagen
Address: Center Boulevard 5, Copenhagen 2300, Denmark (Formerly Bella Sky Comwell)
Region: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Amager
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Copenhagen
#9 Family Hotel in Copenhagen
#11 Luxury Hotel in Copenhagen
#12 Romantic Hotel in Copenhagen
#13 Business Hotel in Copenhagen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — AC Hotel Bella Sky Copenhagen 4*
Number of rooms: 812
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Visit Copenhagen in style when staying in the AC Hotel Bella Sky Copenhagen. Our contemporary hotel provides comfortable accommodations with spacious pet-friendly guest rooms and suites, complimentary high speed Internet access, flat screen televisions with premium channels and many more thoughtful amenities. Ideal for a weekend getaway in Copenhagen, we offer a full-service spa, state-of-the-art fitness center, decadent bars and lounges and a shuttle to Copenhagen Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your AC Hotel Bella Sky Copenhagen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bella Sky Comwell Hotel Copenhagen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing