We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good facilities but service is very hit and miss”
Review of Charlottehaven

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Copenhagen
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Charlottehaven
Ranked #41 of 116 Hotels in Copenhagen
Certificate of Excellence
copenhagen
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good facilities but service is very hit and miss”
Reviewed 13 August 2012

We have now stayed here twice and seen inside three different rooms...

Location is good. Although not in the city centre it is right next to Nordhavn station so easy to get around Copenhagen. The area it is in has blossomed over the past few years with plenty of cute cafes and galleries opening up.

Rooms are nice and a good size. This is an apartment hotel so you have everything you need in the room for a medium length self catering stay. With food prices so high in Denmark when you eat out this could be a good economic choice for families etc

The first time we stayed here the cleaner came in once a week, the second time the cleaner didnt come by at all in 9 days. Yes you have a vacuum cleaner etc in the apartment but not everything you need to keep the place clean and at the end of the day if you are on holiday or on business travel you dont want to be vacuuming and dusting and nobody appreciates having to hike through reception clutching replacement toilet roll!!!

Ive marked sleep quality lowish, but thats only because the pillows sucked so easily solved by the hotel.

Facilities are excellent, the gym has everything you could want and there is free wi fi and a pretty little cafe. The one facility they should add is free bikes for guests like many of their competitors in Copenhagen have.

The main downside is the staff. When we were arrived we were made to feel instantly unwelcome by the reception staff who seemed to view customers as an unecessary inconvenience. To be honest they were really rather rude in the way they talked at us and completely unconstrcutive when it came to questions, problem solving etc. You really had to pry information or constructive solutions out of them. The only exception we found was one of the male night receptionists who was really friendly and is how all hotel receptionists should be... maybe he could give the rest some training. Gym staff and cafe staff were also nice and helpful so seems to be a problem only with the ladies in the reception team.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank CopenhagenRagdoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    96
    17
    3
    6
    0
See reviews for
51
21
4
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2012

We stayed here prior to relocating abroad permanently, so we had a lot of luggage, a dog, plus we were feeling a bit cheated having left our big apartment in Frederiksberg. Well we had absolutely nothing to worry about and we were pleasantly surprised, from the moment we walked in to the reception area. It's very trendy but welcoming. The check-in process was friendly @ efficient and the room was already available at 0930. Our one bedroom apartment came with a big terrace, a fantastic view and all the amenities that you could possibly think of. I would definitely recommend Charlottehaven as an alternative to staying in a regular hotel.

Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank carla018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gland, Switzerland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2012

We have again stayed in this nice apartment hotel in Copenhagen/Østerbro.
Its very good for families with 2/3 kids. 2 bedrooms.
Rooms nice and you can make your own breakfast/dinner in the kitchen
Very good brunch, unfortunately not in July.
Very good fitness
Close to public transport
free wifi

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sohald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
115 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2012

These apartments are excellent, with very well equipped kitchens, lovely big bedrooms and very nice bathroom. Well equipped with laundry also. We were in a 2-bedroom apartment which had a lovely big balcony also. Supermarkets are a few minutes walk and the train station is just a few hundred metres. We were staying in Copenhagen as were about to go on a cruise and these apartments are within 15min walk of the Port. Very convenient and would stay there again. When we arrived our apartment was not ready so we were given complimentary coffee while we waited and also complimentary brunch with champagne the next morning which was excellent. The gym at Charlottehaven is also very well equipped. Overall this is an excellent place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lynne033
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2012

Very nice apartment accomodaions with good sized bedroom, large modern bath with heated floors, great well equipped kitchen, seperate living room with slider to nice outside pato / deck.

Hotel is located in a very lovely residential neighborhood away from the cowds of the central district Th hotel has agreat gym an nice modern restaurant. There are many other dining choices a short walk away.

The only down side to this hotel is it's distance to key tourist attractions like Nyhaven & Stroget...approx a 40 minute walk away.

Excellent choice for an extended stay.

Room Tip: High floor overlooking courtyard. Rent a bicycle to visit central city areas
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DelGriffith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2011

I spent six months living and working in Copenhagen as part of a business assignment and fell on my feet when I found Charlottehaven as my new weekday home. I happily called it my home away from home!

The apartments are well equipped with every utensil you could need to cook lovely food, are very stylishly designed with comfy beds and... are all light and airy. If you don’t fancy cooking, the café food is very tasty – Brunch on a Sunday is a Danish tradition, and comes highly recommended! There is a really nice gym and pool open to guests so that you can work off the calories from all of the great food.

Charlottehaven is located in a nice residential area, but only steps away from Nordhavn station which transports you to the centre in 10 mins. All of the Charlottehaven team I encountered were friendly, helpful and went out of their way to make my stay enjoyable – so much so it was actually quite sad to say goodbye when my contract ended in Copenhagen.

I realise this review might sound like I’ve been paid by Charlottehaven to say so many nice things, but I cannot recommend this place highly enough. During the course of my career, I have stayed in many hotels, but none as nice or as friendly as this! It's a pleasure to leave the first Trip Advisor review.

Thank you all so much!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Andrew-Julie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Copenhagen hotels
Inner Oesterbro
Adina Apartment Hotels Copenhagen
Inner Oesterbro
Hotel 9 Smaa Hjem
Hotel 9 Smaa Hjem
#94 of 116 in Copenhagen
22 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Hotel Osterport
Hotel Osterport
#65 of 116 in Copenhagen
911 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner Noerrebro
Hotel Nora CopenHagen
Hotel Nora CopenHagen
#75 of 116 in Copenhagen
219 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Babette Guldsmeden - Guldsmeden Hotels
Indre By (Inner City)
Hotel Kong Arthur
Hotel Kong Arthur
#14 of 116 in Copenhagen
1,667 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Charlottehaven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charlottehaven

Property: Charlottehaven
Address: Hjoerringgade 12C, Copenhagen 2100, Denmark
Phone Number:
Region: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Outer Oesterbro , Østerbros , Østerbros
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 116 Hotels in Copenhagen
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charlottehaven offers exclusive hotel apartments in a central, peaceful location in Copenhagen with first-class service.We offer fully furnished, serviced hotel apartments, ranging from one-bedroom apartments to family apartments and spacious penthouse apartments with sea views. Timeless decor, hardwood floors, large windows and balconies create a bright and pleasant atmosphere.Charlottehaven welcomes guests with its unique homely atmosphere and a team of staff with a fastidious sense of service. You will also have access to the best in-house facilities in the city: fitness centre, cafe, conference rooms, garden, playground and much more.We offer three times as much space as a hotel room.Make yourself at home away from home! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing