We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent!”

Restaurant Schoennemann
Ranked #24 of 2,310 Restaurants in Copenhagen
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European, Scandinavian, Danish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighbourhood: Indre By (Inner City)
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014 via mobile

High quality food and professional service in a charming old Danish setting. A bit off the beaten track, about 10 minutes walk from Stroget. Guests were mostly locals which is always a good sign ;) 5 stars.

Helpful?
Thank Kristófer D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

543 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    361
    136
    29
    10
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tetbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Top notch!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2014 via mobile

Precision is the order of the day here. We were surprised to arrive for the second lunchtime sitting (at 14.14), only to find other diners waiting outside...strange? Then the doors opened and we all walked in to find a perfectly set-up restaurant, with fresh white linen and sparkling cutlery and glasses. You would not have thought that they had already served a restaurant full of people that afternoon. The menu is dizzying! Traditional Danish lunch dishes sit alongside updated versions. The selection of schnapps is huge! We ate two dishes each and could not move afterwards. I suggest you skip breakfast and indulge to the fullest. Plan on sleeping it off in the afternoon. Staff are upbeat, friendly and very professional, and the atmosphere promotes conversation between tables. Altogether the very best lunch restaurant in the capital.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Yankeegir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Excellent traditional danish lunch!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2014

The food is excellent here. If you are in Copenhagen and looking to try traditional danish lunch this is the place to go! Rather expensive though, but worth it! If you´re not driving and are over 18, you should order a snaps and a Carlsberg with you´r meal... just like the danes do :)

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SallyBR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level Contributor
81 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Top Danish Lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014

Schonneman serves only lunch in a beautifully preserved barroom with large windows that make it bright and pleasant. They serve traditional smorrebrod enjoyed with beer and aquavit, of which they have many including their own. Go VERY hungry; you will not need dinner that evening.
Fantastic bread and even better service. There are two prix-fixe luncheon plates - large and larger - or you can have a variety of sandwiches like herring with curried hard-boiled egg, capers and onion; smoked eel with scrambled eggs and chives; and also non sandwich dishes. The two of us had the smaller of the two luncheon menus (cost: DKK 248) which included herring three ways; pork roast (amazing); and cheese course. We added the dessert of Grandma's Apple Cake (not anything like my Grandma's) which pushed us over the edge. Book in advance as it is a small restaurant.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank VolvanaWhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
230 reviews
136 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Not Just Lunch but a Danish Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2014

We went with our Danish Rotary Exchange Student from 18 years ago and his new wife. We ordered the Special Sampler at 375 DKK each. I was initially reluctant as I didn't think I would like Herring. Not only was the Herring outstanding but so was absolutely everything else. Make sure you're hungry when you go, so you will have room for this amazing spread. And you also won't need to worry about having dinner later the same day as you will find yourself satisfied for some time. Add a glass of their Schonneman's ale and some schnapps and this is indeed a very special dining experience; one of the best meals I have ever had. Although it seems pricy, it is not extraordinarily so for Copenhagen. In fact, considering the quality and quantity of the food, the atmosphere of the restaurant, the excellent service, the overall experience, and the memories created, it is a bargain!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Steve A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Restaurant Schoennemann also viewed

 
Copenhagen, Zealand
Copenhagen, Zealand
 

Been to Restaurant Schoennemann? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing