We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lunch at Schonnemann”

Restaurant Schoennemann
Ranked #32 of 2,378 Restaurants in Copenhagen
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Danish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Indre By (Inner City)
Thornhill, Canada
Level Contributor
213 reviews
148 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Lunch at Schonnemann”
Reviewed 11 June 2014

The veal tongue was excellent, tender and nicely prepared. Service was very good. Portions was just right for us. I had the fried plaice, pan fried would have been better. Overall a good lunch experience.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

575 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    384
    139
    32
    10
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Thank you, Lea!”
Reviewed 7 June 2014

The very Danish experience, expensive and worth it. Our lovely waitress, Lea, was remarkably attentive, warm and welcoming. Thank you, Lea, for adding the special touch to that lunch! Will definitely visit again when we come back.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CinnamonRaisinBagel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Delicious traditional smørrebrød in a historic setting”
Reviewed 14 May 2014

The selection of open-faced sandwiches here is truly impressive, as is the variety of snaps on their menu. We went with two varieties of fried fillet of plaice ("a Dane" and "a Swede"), the "Virgin's Midnight Snack," and beef tatar, and all of them were delicious. This is a great spot for an authentic and traditional Danish lunch. Service is a bit brusque, and do not arrive before your precise reservation time (we arrived 10 minutes early and were quickly told to leave and come back at the time of our reservation). Open for lunch only.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank globetrekkerfromNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Excellent!”
Reviewed 12 May 2014 via mobile

High quality food and professional service in a charming old Danish setting. A bit off the beaten track, about 10 minutes walk from Stroget. Guests were mostly locals which is always a good sign ;) 5 stars.

Helpful?
Thank Kristófer D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tetbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Top notch!”
Reviewed 2 April 2014 via mobile

Precision is the order of the day here. We were surprised to arrive for the second lunchtime sitting (at 14.14), only to find other diners waiting outside...strange? Then the doors opened and we all walked in to find a perfectly set-up restaurant, with fresh white linen and sparkling cutlery and glasses. You would not have thought that they had already served a restaurant full of people that afternoon. The menu is dizzying! Traditional Danish lunch dishes sit alongside updated versions. The selection of schnapps is huge! We ate two dishes each and could not move afterwards. I suggest you skip breakfast and indulge to the fullest. Plan on sleeping it off in the afternoon. Staff are upbeat, friendly and very professional, and the atmosphere promotes conversation between tables. Altogether the very best lunch restaurant in the capital.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Yankeegir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Restaurant Schoennemann also viewed

 
Copenhagen, Zealand
Copenhagen, Zealand
 
Copenhagen, Zealand
 

Been to Restaurant Schoennemann? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing