We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Over the top open sandwiches ”

Restaurant Schoennemann
Ranked #52 of 3,015 Restaurants in Copenhagen
Cuisines: Danish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Indre By (Inner City)
Reviewed 25 October 2018 via mobile

So much ripping you can’t see the bread!

The classic roast beef was absolutely perfect. You will never be satisfied with a normal sandwich again.

The roast duck and herring was a little on the salty side, but still good.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank Cindy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (783)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

45 - 49 of 783 reviews

Reviewed 6 October 2018

Historic Restaurant Schønnemann offers a unique Northern European experience in both its cuisine and atmosphere. We liked the dark paneled side dining room's decor and its handful of tables where guests enjoyed a leisurely lunch. The restaurant’s beer list is extensive, and beer flowed like water, making us wonder how things went at the office in the afternoon for local diners.
Cheerful servers helped us in selecting three open-faced sandwiches we shared, two featuring pickled herring as well as a dish with baked camembert cheese and elderberry jam. With more than 100 sandwich choices, the help was appreciated. The dessert and French-pressed coffee were exquisite. We will treasure the experience among many in our trip to Denmark.

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Reggie293
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 22 September 2018 via mobile

Food was fine, not particularly memorable
Staff very rude. Very busy place so maybe manners are less critical to the profitability. All credit cards accepted, no issues with payment. Suggest reservation due to significant volume of customers.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank cholland16
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 16 September 2018

Make sure to book a table!
We showed up a little early and the place was closed because they do two lunch seatings and close in between, the wait was worth it, the service was good and friendly and the smorrebrod and beer was so yummy.
Plus the atmosphere in there is so authentic and cozy.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank disab2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 9 September 2018

If you want the best sandwiches (smørrebrød) in town this is definitely the place to go. Be warned: the sandwiches are big. Two to three is more than enough and they are so tasty, that you just have to repeat your visit. Highly recommendable.

Date of visit: August 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Carlarsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Restaurant Schoennemann also viewed

 

Been to Restaurant Schoennemann? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.