We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb traditional Danish smorrebrod - fantastic choices - too many to choose”

Restaurant Schoennemann
Ranked #52 of 3,015 Restaurants in Copenhagen
Cuisines: Danish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Indre By (Inner City)
Reviewed 25 April 2019

Highly recommend. A very lovely restaurant - so pleased I'd researched, found it and made a reservation for late lunch. Menu - extensive choice of shellfish, pork, meat, tartares, hot / cold dishes. Staff - lively, polite, on it ;)
Presentation - superb. Every course we had was a work of art.
We chose shrimp and egg, Botanical Garden (potatoes with cauliflower creme and crispy onions) and pickled herring with curry sauce (amazing according to my other half - his favourite thing all weekend!). Prices - good value for quality, taste and presentation.

Date of visit: April 2019
Thank Jo D
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (783)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

34 - 38 of 783 reviews

Reviewed 26 March 2019

Historic restaurant in beautiful Copenhagen. Traditional smørrebrød with beer and schnapps... this is where the locals go for lunch. The atmosphere is nice, food is delicious and the service was excellent. Highly recommend for anyone who wants to have an authentic experience in Copenhagen.

Date of visit: December 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank L K
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 16 March 2019

This wasn't my first visit to this restaurant. Stay are serving traditional Danish sandwiches in a modern way and have special focus on beer and different schnapps (exquisite selection of schnapps). I can highly recommend Søren Special, which is fried eel on scrambled egg. Go for it. Service is focused and friendly.

Date of visit: March 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Carlarsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 20 February 2019 via mobile

We had an impromptu lunch here and enjoyed a lovely meal. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Our waiter gave us great advice when choosing snaps to match our chosen dishes. Would recommend.

Date of visit: February 2019
1  Thank C2862CNandrewc
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 21 January 2019 via mobile

From the moment we sat down, the waitress was rude and made us feel like we were not good enough to be there. Her attitude was snobbish and unhelpful throughout the meal, she provided absolute minimum service and, even that, she made sure to make it obvious that it was an effort. When it was time to pay, and we asked to pay on two cards, she stated that the card machine was not working and if she managed to get it work, she would only let us use one card. No explanation, no discussion. The machine didn't work so she told us that we had to go get cash. Completely unapologetic, as if it were our fault, and told us that we had to leave our phone behind while we went to the ATM. Not once did she apologise for the inconvenience, she was smug, arrogant and disdainful. If the food had been good, then maybe you could overlook the horrible service, but the food is massively overpriced for what was a pretty average lunch. Absolutely not worth the hype. Save your money, go elsewhere.

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank itchyfeet310
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Restaurant Schoennemann also viewed

 

Been to Restaurant Schoennemann? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.