We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value in an expensive city”
Review of Hotel Osterport

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Osterport
Ranked #65 of 116 Hotels in Copenhagen
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good value in an expensive city”
Reviewed 16 August 2013

The hotel isn't amazingly fancy, but as one of the cheapest in copenhagen, it is an ideal base for exploring the city. The rooms are a bit old fashioned, but are clean and have everything you might need, and the staff were nice and polite. The location for me was perfect as you could either choose to walk to explore, or take the train, which is a very convenient option for this hotel. In regards to the train noise at night, i can only speak from the experience of the rooms not directly facing the track, there was a slight rumble when a train went past but nothing major and i slept well, however the hotel also provide earplugs for those who may need them. Overall a great value city hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessh16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

909 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    117
    293
    271
    134
    94
See reviews for
144
266
73
276
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tallinn
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013

This is probably one of the worst hotels that I have stayed at in my life. This Hotel is situated on top of the Osterport railroad station, meaning you will hear every train coming and leaving this station, the building will shake and vibrate and I have a hard time understanding why anyone would want to stay here.
The room was poor, with dirty carpets and peeling wallpaper. The furniture is definitely on the cheap side, the TV set and conditioner was not working. It's room certainly seen better days. If you get beyond this, the trains will keep you up as they rumble past all night. I won't go back, but – breakfast is nice.

Room Tip: Don't stay in this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vilve T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Copenhagen hotels

Providence, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013

I was booked into the First Hotel Osterport by someone else and immediately read all of the negative remarks on Trip Advisor. Needless to say, I was worried about it. The hotel is not, however, as bad as it is made out to be. I travel a great deal and I have seen other hotels in CPH. These are the key issues:

-Copenhagen is an expensive city. For those of us coming from North America, the expense of the city and the exchange rate make it a pricey venture. It seems like many of the North American guests think that they are begin given less value for what appears to be a large sum of money. Likely, many of these travelers are not taking into account the financial equation that makes this so. Instead they think that they are paying a lot for a budget-quality hotel. By the standards of the Danish economy, this hotel is a very reasonably priced, budget hotel. I witnessed several guests take out their financial frustrations on the hotel staff. The staff remained courteous and friendly.

- The hotel is adjacent to the Osterport train station. This is a fact. Likely, most visitors are not accustomed to this level of train and car traffic. If, however, you reside in a major city with significant traffic hubs (New York, London, Tokyo, etc.), this is likely not a noticeable feature. For many people, being close to the train that serves as a major connector to inter-city and regional trains is a bonus. I had two heavy suitcases when I left for the airport. I walked out of the hotel, crossed the street and took the elevator down to the tracks in about 3 minutes. Had I stayed anywhere else, I would have paid to take a taxi and walked a distance with my luggage. Additionally, I returned several times during my stay after midnight and alone via the train. It was an easy, safe and well-lit passage from the train track to the hotel. Plus the surrounding neighborhood (which includes several consulates) is lovely; full of restaurants, cafes, and a park.

-The room décor is dated. Yes it is, but the room and bathroom that I was given were very clean. I suspect that, again, some travelers think that their money should go farther.

I am going back to Copenhagen next year and I may stay at the Osterport again. I can afford a more expensive hotel, but I like being in a neighborhood (rather than tourist areas) and being close to a train.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lemuel-T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2013

Honestly, I was very confused about staying here cause there were too many mixed reviews but booked it last minute. This wasn't somewhere I wanted to stay at for sure. The railway track is a nightmare. All night you hear trains buzzing and believe me, if you're a light sleeper, you can forget about sleeping. The staff wasn't that great and even at cheaper and smaller hotels I've seen very courteous staff. They weren't even helpful. The only plus was that this was bang opposite the Osterport station, but in Europe, I prefer walking to places so it really wasn't very close by. I wasn't impressed with their hospitality and the room itself is a long walk. For everything the staff said 10 minutes but it really took over 30. There is no room service and no hospitality.I was here for two nights and couldn't sleep a wink cause of all the noise coming from the trains. It was awful

Room Tip: please tell them you don't want a room near railway track
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Devvaki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyderabad-Deccan, Andhra Pradesh, India
Level Contributor
151 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2013

This is a sure disaster in hotel category. The hotel does not have an elevator and I fail to understand as to how the hotel expects guests to move their bags up and down. The air-conditioning is terrible. The location is good but that is no consolation. This hotel must be avoided unless you get it free and you have no money for another room elsewhere.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 84doctor84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
149 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2013

The only redeeming factor for this hotel is the location : directly across from Osterport Station one can save a bundle in taxis while staying here. I took the train directly from the airport to this hotel and all I had to do was cross the street to get to the front door of the hotel. It is also located a pleasant stroll from the city centre ( Kongen's Nytorv) and Trianglen ( the opposite direction). There are a few eateries - but not many - within walking distance ( towards Trianglen). The more trendy and expensive ones are enroute to the City centre. While the hotel is located literally "on the train tracks" I disagree with other reviewers about the noise............I am certain they have noise proofed the place as I was not disturbed by noise. The room however was very cramped and I could barely stand it. Everything was in working order but the bathroom was also quite awful. Hallways are dark and dingy. I didn't have the brunch deal as I spent as much time as possible out. There is a welcome surprise in the reception/"lobby" area in that they have a free coffee/hot chocolate machine - and there is also a commercial "cooler " with sandwiches and clamshell boxed salads for purchase. However, if you want that you are better off buying them from the local grocery chain called "Irma" which is located right next door to the train station and they have a much better selection that is cheaper. As an oddity I asked for a facecloth and they didn't seem to know what that was; also poor quality wall mounted "dispenser" shampoo and shower gel ( in one) - this is a place where you need to buy or bring your own toiletries to be a bit more comfortable. Front desk staff also lack training and seem unmotivated and unsupervised. My rate was a discounted 125 $ /night rate for one week - this is cheap for Copenhagen but I did locate better places in similarly good locations for a bit more.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kdk0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reykjavik
Level Contributor
53 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2013

When we came into the room the first thing we noticed was that there were two ear plugs on the desk. What are these for? We soon found out that they were necessary to sleep during the night as the noise from trains driving the tracks that are next to the hotel. In addition to that you could hear all the announcements from the train station though all the night. Unfortunately the hotel was unable to move us to another room when we complained about the noise. The reply given was "Then I just have to give that room to someone else!"

Breakfast was very basic. I wouldn't say it was bad, but maybe not worth what they charge for it.

The room was fairly clean although the double bed was made out of two beds, that kept sliding apart during the night.

Location isn't fantastic, but now it was an advantage being next to the Østerport train station. It is easy to take the trains to go down town.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing away from the train tracks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ArcherReykjavik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Copenhagen hotels
Indre By (Inner City)
Copenhagen Mercur Hotel
Copenhagen Mercur Hotel
#55 of 116 in Copenhagen
912 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Copenhagen Star Hotel
Copenhagen Star Hotel
#73 of 116 in Copenhagen
991 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Babette Guldsmeden - Guldsmeden Hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner Vesterbro
Saga Hotel
Saga Hotel
#72 of 116 in Copenhagen
484 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
ProfilHotels Richmond Hotel
ProfilHotels Richmond Hotel
#100 of 116 in Copenhagen
816 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Hotel Maritime
Hotel Maritime
#68 of 116 in Copenhagen
536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Osterport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Osterport

Property: Hotel Osterport
Address: Oslo Plads 5, Copenhagen 2100, Denmark (Formerly First Hotel Osterport)
Phone Number:
Region: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Indre By (Inner City)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #65 of 116 Hotels in Copenhagen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Osterport 3*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Osterport is great for the busy traveler and those who want a single concept at a good price. At the Hotel Osterport, there are many opportunities to experience art and culture, Gronningen with Citadel just around the corner, Music, galleries and museums like the Freedom Museum, the National Gallery of Art and the Glyptotek. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Osterport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Copenhagen
Comfort Hotel Copenhagen
Comfort Hotel Osterport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing