We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hotel for railways fans ...”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Osterport

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Osterport
Ranked #62 of 116 Hotels in Copenhagen
Nuuk, Greenland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Hotel for railways fans ...”
Reviewed 19 June 2014

I came across the Østerport hotel through a recommendation of a research colleague. Besides my work, I fancy both trains and railways ... and the hotel is located right beside the Østerport railway station in Copenhagen and surrounded by beautiful parks ... a very nice place, indeed. Also, rails are welded for which trains are not so noisy and there is an around the clock activity: Denmark is an avant-garde country in sustainable transportation and energy systems and their gov. has invested heavily in railways. Seven railways operating, at the same time. An amazing world which will take you back to your childhood. Moreover: all of the personnel is truly nice. SHALL RETURN whenever I come back to Copenhagen! All the best from Nuuk/Greenland (before in Canary Islands). Aldo P. Solari.

Room Tip: A perfect place for railways fans.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aldo_Solari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

842 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    105
    277
    251
    123
    86
See reviews for
135
249
67
254
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Complimentary earplugs. Unstable WIFI air conditioner cannot be stopped I had to use the towel to stop freezing... and 2156 DKK (361€!). Stealing in Denmark is allowed.
Construction seems from the 70's. Room looks clean.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zxc z z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Copenhagen hotels

Horley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

I stayed here on a recent business trip to Copenhagen, my allocated room was at the very far end of the lower ground floor, the room had a 'musty' smell to it, and in need of redecoration. The bathroom was small and the hot water, when it finally arrived, was tepid. It is next to the railway line but I wasn't troubled by noise from this. Be aware that there are very few restaurants within a short walking distance, that said we did find a reasonable restaurant/bar approx 10 mins from the hotel (the Toldbod Bodega), and the food was excellent. All in all if your on business, its handy for the station and provides a very basic bed and breakfast service for a reasonable price

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Popsbest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mumbai
Level Contributor
78 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

we stayedhere twice,before and after our norway cruise.the location is brilliant,as a direct train to and from airport.also all the tourist sights are possible in a 3 hr walk.also cruise terminal is very close.rooms are very basic.no frills.toilets are also basic.rooms next to the railway line are a little noisy,if you like to keep window open.
breakfast was reasonable,and overall rates are reasonable.

Room Tip: choose a room close to reception,away from railway line
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mumbaiace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2014 via mobile

I thought carefully about the wisdom of staying at this hotel. It had such consistently bad reviews I admit I was worried but in the end convenience of location convinced me to go anyway.
To be fair, it wasn't all bad. My room was clean, front of house staff were friendly and efficient and the breakfast was good both in terms of variety and freshness.
The downsides however are considerable. My room was very small, sparsely furnished without even the basics such as coat hangers or water. The bathroom was tiny. I had to make a conscious effort not to step into the toilet when stepping out of the shower.
It was very difficult to sleep because the train tracks are ten feet outside the window and the trains stop for two hours between 3am and 5 am. This was room 106 but none of the other rooms on the railway side of the hotel are any better.
This is really better described as a no frills hostel and possibly ok for a short stay if the location is really important. But generally speaking I wouldn't stay again unless my budget dictated it.

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Commuterqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014

I enjoyed staying in this hotel and would definitely stay there again. It's very clean, fairly new and has nicely practical, basic Scandinavian fittings. The good features of my room included a bathtub (shorter than full length) and a window that provided considerable natural light. The staff were very nice and helpful and my entire stay was thoroughly pleasant. The hotel is in a great location for accessing Copenhagen airport and attractions such as Helsingor (Elsinor) because Osterport station is literally across the street. The station has a well-stocked convenience store and you can walk to the city centre. The hotel is situated in a quiet neighbourhood that seems largely residential, very safe and includes remarkably little noise at night. Although my room had a window onto the railway line and trains did pass at night, the noise wasn't enough to be a problem and I didn't need the earplugs provided. The hotel was much less noisy than places I've stayed in central Sydney and New York. As the Danish train system is very smooth and relatively unobtrusive, the hotel is not like having New York subway trains hurtling past your bedroom. Only someone who requires almost complete silence would be likely to have difficulty sleeping through the background noise in this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mazzy99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
240 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Ok, so .... good location ... easy to take the train from the airport, hotel is right next to the train station. If you stay here definitely do one or more of a) pay extra for a quiet room on the side of the hotel away from the train tracks b) drink too much acquavit so that you don't care about the train noise c) use the earplugs

I suspect this place was converted from an office block in the 1970's. Certainly the bathrooms are from that era. This is not a boutique hotel despite what the funky foyer might like to be doing to convince you otherwise.

Don't bother asking the staff for restaurant recommendations, the one I spoke to was trying very hard to be helpful but also said 'the trouble is as a local i don't eat out' which didn't inspire confidence.

On the plus side it is a ten minute walk from the centre of town and the route is scenic.

This plays tries hard but it's a bit like asking someone who is colour blind to advise on paint choices ... they are starting at a major disadvantage so with the best will in the world it is likely to go awry.

Room Tip: get a quiet room or don't stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bramblesici
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Copenhagen hotels
Inner Vesterbro
Saga Hotel
Saga Hotel
#70 of 116 in Copenhagen
470 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Copenhagen Star Hotel
Copenhagen Star Hotel
#68 of 116 in Copenhagen
958 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Wakeup Copenhagen Carsten Niebuhrs Gade
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Indre By (Inner City)
Hotel Maritime
Hotel Maritime
#69 of 116 in Copenhagen
517 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Wakeup Copenhagen, Borgergade
Wakeup Copenhagen, Borgergade
#32 of 116 in Copenhagen
2,314 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
ProfilHotels Richmond Hotel
ProfilHotels Richmond Hotel
#98 of 116 in Copenhagen
786 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Osterport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Osterport

Property: Hotel Osterport
Address: Oslo Plads 5, Copenhagen 2100, Denmark (Formerly First Hotel Osterport)
Phone Number:
Region: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Indre By (Inner City)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 116 Hotels in Copenhagen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Osterport 3*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Osterport is great for the busy traveler and those who want a single concept at a good price. At the Hotel Osterport, there are many opportunities to experience art and culture, Gronningen with Citadel just around the corner, Music, galleries and museums like the Freedom Museum, the National Gallery of Art and the Glyptotek. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Osterport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Copenhagen
Comfort Hotel Copenhagen
Comfort Hotel Osterport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing