We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Decent sleeping”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
First Hotel Esplanaden
Ranked #97 of 116 Hotels in Copenhagen
Nova Gorica, Slovenia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Decent sleeping”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2013

Perfectly located hotel in KØBENHAVN, very nice staff, nice rooms, hotel is renting bikes, restaurant is nothing special, you can park along the street for free - if you can read danish, otherwise you get a ticket, like me - very good price concerning that you are in Danemark. I would pick it again.

Room Tip: Rent a bike for 20 eur per day and explore The city. It is really safe and taken a good care for cyc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank drSegula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    34
    46
    36
    25
See reviews for
17
42
12
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
2 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2013

We were in disbelief at how run down and tiny room 520 was. The website claimed that the hotel had spacious rooms with high ceilings but we were given a small attic room that smelt like body odour and had a broken shower. When we mentioned this to the staff (who were very nice) they admitted that the hotel was closing later in August for renovations and that some rooms didn't fit the description on the web page. We booked for three nights but only stayed one (we arrived after 11pm so had no option on the first night) but could receive no refund. Try the Radisson Blu Scandinavia, not much more expensive and very classy.

Room Tip: Stay away from this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Graham M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Copenhagen hotels

Varese, Italy
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2013

We went in family in this hotel for a week-end trip in Copenhagen. Our triple room was clean enough but furnitures and the bathroom were obsolete. A curtain was broken and has been repaired promptly. The previous host left a jacket in a cabinet. The cleaning lady should have a look on these small thinks too...

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MHO66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kalix, Sweden
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2013

A. Small hotel in a calm and quiet area. The rooms was small but fresh and clean so it was good value for the money. There was a small but good working lobby with kind and helpful stuff. Its walking distanse to the most you want to se and do in Copenhagen. Very close to Langelinie port, Nyhavn, Ströget. And a good breakfast buffet was included.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lindsvan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2013

I stayed here with two colleagues. The beds were very comfortable. A perfect night's sleep. But everything else was moderate. The rooms are fairly basic and in need of sprucing up. Attention to detail was lacking: two colleagues did not have towels. One had a toilet seat that she had to clean herself. Breakfast was adequate. But the main impression we all had was of lack of a customer care culture. At the reception desk, we could not find a member of staff to solve the towel problem. At checkout, a queue of five people formed in front of a staff-free desk,

The distance between a welcome and feeling irrelevant, is not really very great. Cleaning rooms properly should not be a challenge. This hotel needs to try harder.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Porvoo, Finland
Level Contributor
40 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2013

I stayed in this hotel for one night in July. I had read mixed reviews before booking,but there wasn't much left to choose from,so I decided to give it a go. I know Copenhagen is expensive,but after paying 95 euros for a singleroom with breakfast included,I expected more.

Pros:

+ The location.The hotel is located within easy walking distance to many of the main sights.
+ Quiet room facing the back of the hotel.
+ Quick check-in and ok service by the staff.
+ Free wi-fi

Cons

- Dated hotel. Creaky floorboards,scary old elevator,rusty mirror in the bathroom.
- Small room
- Weird,damp smell in the bathroom. This must be because as you take a shower,the water floods the bathroom floor,with no possibility to get to the drain.This is because of the placement of the drain. There should be two drains in the bathroom instead.
- I found hairs on my pillow.I've worked as a hotel cleaner before,so I know that sometimes the hairs are already there when the sheets get back from the cleaners,but it doesn't take long to check the bed when you've finished making it. It's a small thing for the cleaning lady,but a big deal for me as a guest.
- No milk by the coffee at breakfast.You had to take milk from the milkmachine,which felt silly.Why not have a milkjug there instead.

All in all

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annicha84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2013

We stayed for a weekend in June - one of the poorer hotels we have visited.
Copenhagen is an expensive city however this hotel was overpriced (c £160 per night) for a poorly decorated & standard of room. Shower leaks all over the bathroom floor, pillows are half a normal pillow size and dooner does not cover the bed. We stayed two nights and for some reason our room was not cleaned. Hotel has a fancy lobby however tired interior everywhere else. Recommend some TLC and service/controls improvement. Would advise to stay elsewhere.

Room Tip: Consider staying in another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Noel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Copenhagen hotels
Indre By (Inner City)
Babette Guldsmeden - Guldsmeden Hotels
Indre By (Inner City)
Phoenix Copenhagen
Phoenix Copenhagen
#43 of 116 in Copenhagen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,165 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Hotel Christian IV
Hotel Christian IV
#25 of 116 in Copenhagen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Indre By (Inner City)
Scandic Front
Scandic Front
#41 of 116 in Copenhagen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 836 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Hotel Skt. Annae
Hotel Skt. Annae
#46 of 116 in Copenhagen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,335 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
71 Nyhavn Hotel
71 Nyhavn Hotel
#2 of 116 in Copenhagen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to First Hotel Esplanaden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about First Hotel Esplanaden

Property: First Hotel Esplanaden
Address: Bredgade 78, Copenhagen 1260, Denmark
Region: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Indre By (Inner City)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #97 of 116 Hotels in Copenhagen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional 5-story Hotel located downtown, close to Amalienborg (the Queen's Palace) & "The Little Mermaid". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your First Hotel Esplanaden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel Copenhagen
Comfort Inn Copenhagen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing