We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location Next to Tivoli...but Expensive”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel Copenhagen
Ranked #35 of 116 Hotels in Copenhagen
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Great Location Next to Tivoli...but Expensive”
Reviewed 26 May 2011

This hotel is in a great location. It was part of a a pre-cruise package so we were greeted at the airport and driven to the hotel where our room/paperwork was already processed. The room was on a lower floor, but we enjoyed it's location. It is right across the street to Tivoli, within walking distance to Stroget and right on top of a train stop (which amazingly we did not even hear/notice). There were numerous places to eat, we really enjoyed the breakfast at the hotel, but we also found the cafe's/deli's across the street to be a treat in looking at the various dishes that are unique to Denmark. I was wondering how the Danes classify "Danish pasteries" ....which turned out to be difficult for me to restate...but they were very happy to give us a short lesson on their selection of pasteries and open sandwiches.

Overall, this hotel was very nice, pricey but just about everything in Copenhagen is expensive (even a McDonalds Big Mac combo meal was about $20 US Dollars).
There are alot of local supermarkets and Seven-Eleven shops where you can get soda, water, wine and snacks.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank GailKO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,349 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    678
    959
    475
    154
    83
See reviews for
360
896
186
599
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (449)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2011

I arrived at approximately 2300 and upon reaching the check-in desk I introduced myself and asked if they need my passport/ID to which the exact response I got was "No I need your money"!!. I thought the service was very rude. I was also entitled to a room upgrade as a gold points plus member and had to and had to remind the guy checking me in to do this even though it was mentioned on my reservation.
So the first room I got to had a broken flush. It would take 5 minutes to finish flushing and make lots of noise. They changed my room to another one.
In room 2 the large message light on the phone would not stop flashing and they could not fix this so they said "put a handkerchief on it". Also the A/C and bedside lamp did not work in that room.
The wifi login did not work on my blackberry and as a result I was out of contact with the office. There was no tech support at night and I had to wait till the morning till the issue was resolved by them adding the blackberry IP to their network so that I would not have to log in.
The night concierge was useless and as a result of taking his advise and booking tours in the morning I missed out on the segway tour which was full.
Room 3: so they changed my room again and this one was ok with the exception of the hair dryer not working so they sent a replacement.
Also for such an expensive hotel they did not even provide slippers.
the hotel is very old and in desperate need of renovation.
also they say they have a satisfaction guarantee where if your not happy your stay is free but of-course they do not honour it!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sydjetsetter86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 May 2011

Location great but the service from the staff fails to meet the price & star rating of the hotel. Could have got better service from aother hotel with at a cheaper price.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RHTRA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2011

Grat location next to Tivoli and Central train station. This hotel was the first desigener hotel in Europe so the hype says, and therein lies the problem. It was built in the 1950's as an iconic vision of modernism and design. The thing is it might have wowed you then, but certainly not now. The outside looks dated and the lobby does too. Nothing wrong but nothing great either. Rooms are ok with Scandinavian simplicity which at best is minimal and worst basic. Howeverr the beds are very comfortable.
Copenhagen is very expensive so didnt try the restaurant, there are great restaurants at Tivoli. Try Hereford Steakhouse for good food and service.
One of lifes great mystry is why hotel mini bars can charge £4.50 for 200ml coke? If you are looking for a swim there is no pool at this hotel!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CheshireDave33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2011

I recently stayed at the Radisson Blu Royal. From the moment you step in you feel, your stay will be well accomodated and cared for.
The location is great, couldn't get much better, only 5-6 mins walk from the central train station (4 EUR, 20 mins trainride from the airport). It is also next to Tivoli (famous amusement park) and the shopping district if you are into that kind of stuff.

The hotel is beautiful inside, clean, great 70s,80s style furnishing desingned by local designer. The room I stayed in was high up on the 12th floor giving excellent view over the city. Spacious and well equipped with everything a business or leasure traveller could ask for.
Iron with board, safe, kettle, lcd tv with international channels, complementary wifi (also wired in room) everywhere in the hotel, good coverage all round for making skype calls etc.
I would definitelly recommend the it to anyone. Only downside is the breakfast buffet choice, which was not as expected, however go for the house burger and you will not be dissappointed ;-)

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Zag123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 6 Contributor
227 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 229 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2011

Really impressive hotel, especially if you are a fan of architecture. The room 606 suite (known by the staff as the 'museum room') is a special treat for those interested in Arne Jacobsen's design. The original twisting staircase also still remains in the lobby.

What makes it really stand out is the service. The receptionist, Anna, had organised dinner for us at Umami - a place where it is very hard to get tables on a Friday night, as soon as we arrived after a flight late that evening. She also flagged us down a taxi. Such efficiency is hard to come by and I don't mind paying a premium for it! In fact I would say the service at this hotel is really unbeatable. Usually one has to wait a long time for room service at hotels - not at the Radisson Blu - all customers demands are met efficiently and quickly. My perfect hotel!

The cocktail bar on the ground floor is very special. As is the 20th floor Alberto K restaurant - be prepared to be amazed if you are a foodie. The prices are eye wateringly expensive though and it is best to forget about the Kroner exchange rate while you are here :)))

We really enjoyed our corner room suite - spectacular views over Tivoli and Radhus and beyond. Lovely! So, all in all, no complaints. A wonderful hotel with wonderful staff. Well done everyone at Radisson Royal.

Room Tip: corner room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Londoner016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2011

My wife and I stayed here for 5 nights in 2 separate stays, at the beginning and the end of a short Scandinavian holiday. We were very happy with our choice and stay at the Royal. The hotel is conveniently located next to the train station, which can sometimes be a negative in many cities (i.e. Roma termini) but here we found the area quite safe and relatively quiet. and since we were planning on taking the train to Stockholm and back, the proximity to the station, and to and from the airport was a big plus. The hotel is a 3 minute walk from City Hall Square, and the Stroget. We cannot understand the reviews that would rate this hotel "out of the way"...
Both my wife and I are architects, mid-century modern fans, so we were obviously delighted to be staying at this storied property. Designed by architect Arne Jacobsen, it is among the world's first "designer hotels". Jacobsen designed everything down to the cutlery, and door handles. Now, a lot has changed since the original design, as can be observed by visiting suite 606, kept with the original colours and design, but the spirit of the design still lives on, especially in the corner rooms. But I understand how this aesthetic doesn't appeal to everyone -- think Mad men offices!. (Full disclosure, our dining room chairs are all Jacobsen and we have a Swan chair also!)
We found the staff to be generally friendly and helpful (in a Scandinavian kind of way), check-in and out was fast and efficient. An air conditioning issue was addressed in less than 10 minutes.
By North American standards, this is probably more in line with a 4 star property (nothing wrong with that), and not 5. But overall we had a great rate and found it to be great value for money. The beds were very comfortable and the rooms quite clean.
An additional advantage to it's location adjacent to the train station was the next door pharmacy, open on Easter Sunday and evenings (which came in handy) and the tourist office right across the street, for instant info on what to do & see.
Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for corner room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank window_seat0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Copenhagen hotels
Inner Vesterbro
Copenhagen Marriott Hotel
Copenhagen Marriott Hotel
#9 of 116 in Copenhagen
1,306 reviews
Amager
Radisson Blu Scandinavia Hotel, Copenhagen
Indre By (Inner City)
Scandic Palace Hotel
Scandic Palace Hotel
#20 of 116 in Copenhagen
2,103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Indre By (Inner City)
Skt. Petri
Skt. Petri
#34 of 116 in Copenhagen
124 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Absalon Hotel
Absalon Hotel
#6 of 116 in Copenhagen
1,867 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
71 Nyhavn Hotel
71 Nyhavn Hotel
#3 of 116 in Copenhagen
227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Royal Hotel Copenhagen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Royal Hotel Copenhagen

Property: Radisson Blu Royal Hotel Copenhagen
Address: Hammerichsgade 1, Copenhagen 1611, Denmark
Phone Number:
Region: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Indre By (Inner City)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Copenhagen
#20 Romantic Hotel in Copenhagen
#20 Luxury Hotel in Copenhagen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Radisson Blu Royal Hotel Copenhagen 5*
Number of rooms: 260
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stunning architectural hotel welcomes Copenhagen guests to Denmark Expertly designed and perfectly situated, the Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Copenhagen is the premier accommodation choice near Tivoli Gardens in Denmark's capital city. Designed by Danish architect Arne Jacobsen, the hotel is a beacon of style with its spiral staircase and reflective facade. Choose from 260 rooms and suites with amenities including Free high-speed, wireless Internet. Hotel guests enjoy on-site features as restaurant, exceptional fitness centre and flexible conference facilities. • Unique design elements including the famous "Swan" and "Egg" chairs • The city's central train station, Tivoli Gardens and popular shopping street Stroget within walking distance of this Copenhagen hotel's location • A total of 260 striking guest rooms and suites offering bathrobes and 24-hour room service • Personal trainers, dry and steam saunas and massage services available at the 2,000-square-metre fitness centre • Meeting facilities with the option of auditoriums seating 300 and smaller rooms for intimate gatherings The Radisson Blu Royal Hotel are currently upgrading facilities at the hotel with the least inconvenience for our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Rezidor, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Radisson Blu Royal Hotel Copenhagen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Copenhagen Hotel Copenhagen
Radisson Copenhagen
Radisson Sas Copenhagen
Radisson Sas Royal Copenhagen
Copenhagen Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing