We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rude and inconsistent staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel Copenhagen
Ranked #36 of 118 Hotels in Copenhagen
Reviewed 4 July 2014 via mobile

The hotel is in an ok location and it's the usual quality of a Radisson Blu. The staff however, is rude. Most hotels will allow early check-in if it's available ESPECIALLY to international travelers who just need a shower. Not this one. They refuse to even look at the computer, like they won't even pretend, and just say 2pm over and over. Think about a Hilton is my honest opinion.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rachele G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boline2014, Manager at Radisson Blu Royal Hotel Copenhagen, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Dear Rachele,

Thank you for your feedback and we would like to extend our sincere apology for the inconvenience you experienced.
We regret to let you know that we run full house almost everyday during high peak Summer period and early check in is subject to availability, depending on the booking situation from previous night. We would like to ask for your kind understanding that the staff did not mean to be perceived rude and certainly we aim to provide the Best service at all time.

We hope to get an opportunity to welcome you back one day in near future.

Kind regards,
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Copenhagen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,429)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,014 - 1,020 of 2,429 reviews

Reviewed 3 July 2014

This was our first visit to Copenhagen so we wanted a centrally located hotel. The location was perfect for us. We were able to walk everywhere - including the train station on the day of departure. (Side note about the train - we don't usually take public transport to the airport due to luggage. However, it could not have been easier. In less than 20 minutes we were able to check-out of the hotel, take the train and arrive at the airport. There was plenty of room on the train for us and our luggage and a train leaves for the airport about every 10 minutes).

We stayed in a Royal Club room facing Tivoli – great view. We were able to watch the Saturday night fireworks right from our bed. The breakfast buffet at Alberto K on the 20th floor was the best hotel breakfast buffet we have ever had. They offered champagne, eggs anyway you’d like them, waffles, fresh fruit and vegetables, sausage, bacon, lunch meat, 10 different freshly baked breads, various baked sweets, bagels, croissants, jams, jellies, Nutella, nuts, seeds, yogurt, cereals and of course juices, tea and coffee. It was a great way to fuel up for long walks in a fabulous city.

Check-in (our room was ready when we arrived at 9:00 a.m.), housekeeping, wait staff and concierge were all wonderful. All made us feel welcome and took great care of us. The hotel is showing some age but it is quite clean and the amenities are up to date – the free Wi-Fi was refreshingly fast. I would certainly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Corner rooms ending in 11 have great views of Tivoli and many other landmarks!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PJ P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boline2014, Manager at Radisson Blu Royal Hotel Copenhagen, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Dear MintTea.

Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to write about your experience. We are delighted to read that you were satisfied with your stay at the hotel. We value your comments and they will be used to consider improvements in the future.

We look forward to welcoming you for your next stay.

Kind regards,
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Copenhagen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

This was our first visit to Copenhagen so we wanted a centrally located hotel. The location was perfect for us. We were able to walk everywhere - including the train station on the day of departure. (Side note about the train - we don't usually take public transport to the airport due to luggage. However, it could not have been easier. In less than 20 minutes we were able to check-out of the hotel, take the train and arrive at the airport. There was plenty of room on the train for us and our luggage and a train leaves for the airport about every 10 minutes). We stayed in a Royal Club room facing Tivoli – great view. We were able to watch the Saturday night fireworks right from our bed. The breakfast buffet at Alberto K on the 20th floor was the best hotel breakfast buffet we have ever had. They offered champagne, eggs anyway you’d like them, waffles, fresh fruit and vegetables, sausage, bacon, lunch meat, 10 different freshly baked breads, various baked sweets, bagels, croissants, jams, jellies, Nutella, nuts, seeds, yogurt, cereals and of course juices, tea and coffee. It was a great way to fuel up for long walks in a fabulous city. Check-in (our room was ready when we arrived at 9:00 a.m.), housekeeping, wait staff and concierge were all wonderful. All made us feel welcome and took great care of us. The hotel is showing some age but it is quite clean and the amenities are up to date – the free Wi-Fi was refreshingly fast. I would certainly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Radisson Blu Hotels
1  Thank PJ P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boline2014, Manager at Radisson Blu Royal Hotel Copenhagen, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Dear PJPeek.
Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to write about your experience. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay, and that you recommend our hotel :)

We look forward to welcoming you for your next stay.

Kind regards,
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Copenhagen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

The location is second to none and the corner suites are to die for. But the service in the main lobby - apart from the extremely helpful doormen - could do with an upgrade. Check-in takes a little longer than needed and sometimes there is nobody there to answer your questions, but all in all a great experience.

Room Tip: ask for a corner junior suite on the high floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Allandubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boline2014, Manager at Radisson Blu Royal Hotel Copenhagen, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Dear Allandubai.
Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to rate our property. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and that you were satisfied with the service provided by our doorman and apologize for the disappointing service you received from other staff members. Your comments are valued and will be used to consider improvements in the future.

We look forward to welcoming you for your next stay.

Kind regards,
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Copenhagen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

We enjoyed our stay at the "Blu" as the locals call it. The location is good - about 2 blocks from the main train station, a couple blocks from City Hall Plaza, 1 block to Tivoli and Irma grocery story. The noise factor was minimal, even overlooking the train tracks on the far side of the hotel. The decor is modern, and the rooms a bit on the small side for the money, but we found the staff to be very helpful. This was particularly so, when we needed assistance with an international phone call due to a credit card situation. They even let us use their phone when we had difficult. We enjoyed our stay here.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TrnrMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boline2014, Manager at Radisson Blu Royal Hotel Copenhagen, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Dear TrnrMom.
Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to write about your experience.
We apologize that your expectations were not fully met during your stay. We are however delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and that you were satisfied with the service provided by our staff - Our team works hard to make sure our guests are comfortable and receive our best service :)

We hope to welcome you to our hotel again.

Kind regards,
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Copenhagen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

When coming to this hotel I was not interested in old European grandeur, but an efficient and having a sense of Danish style. This hotel and its rooms fit the bill. I was impressed with the fitness center!! The rooms were really clean, comfortable and well...Danish. The staff was helpful and informative, and the location was fantastic. If you want a bit of Denmark to take back home - the thoughts and feeling of this hotel will do that. I hope to return............

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WorldTraveler55711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boline2014, Manager at Radisson Blu Royal Hotel Copenhagen, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Dear Traveler.
Thank you for taking the time to rate our property. We are delighted to see that you enjoyed your stay.

We look forward to welcoming you to our hotel again!

Kind regards,
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Copenhagen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

I chose this hotel because I knew that its location is second to none. This hotel is basically located on top of the tracks of the central train station, across the street from the Tivoli park and 4 minutes from the pedestrian street Stroget.
The hotel in itself is a bit tired. The rooms are designed impeccably, but not very warm. Rooms are well maintained, but it is clear that bathrooms and windows need updating. My room was facing to the back of the hotel, so it was actually very quiet, but somehow it failed to give me a nice and warm feeling.
I had breakfast at the hotel and the service was not good. While waiters were doing their best at being nice, they were actually not attentive to my requests and numerous requests were just forgotten.
I parked my rental in the hotel's parking facility which was quite convenient, although the 45 dollars per day is a bit stiff.
I am unlikely to make this my chosen hotel when I come back to Copenhagen next time and will just try something else.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boline2014, Manager at Radisson Blu Royal Hotel Copenhagen, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Dear Dan,
We apologize that your expectations were not met during your stay and for the disappointing service you received from our staff. Our team works hard to make sure our guests are comfortable and receive our best service. We apologize that our staff were not more attentive to your wishes. We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience. Your comments are valued and will be used to consider improvements in the future.

We hope for another opportunity to exceed your expectations.

Kind regards,
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Copenhagen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Copenhagen hotels
Inner Vesterbro
Copenhagen Marriott Hotel
Copenhagen Marriott Hotel
#12 of 118 in Copenhagen
1,485 reviews
Amager
Radisson Blu Scandinavia Hotel, Copenhagen
Indre By (Inner City)
Scandic Palace Hotel
Scandic Palace Hotel
#22 of 118 in Copenhagen
2,236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Indre By (Inner City)
Skt. Petri
Skt. Petri
#9 of 118 in Copenhagen
265 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Nimb Hotel
Nimb Hotel
#2 of 118 in Copenhagen
430 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
The Square Copenhagen
The Square Copenhagen
#34 of 118 in Copenhagen
2,527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Royal Hotel Copenhagen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Royal Hotel Copenhagen

Address: Hammerichsgade 1, Copenhagen 1611, Denmark
Phone Number:
Region: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Indre By (Inner City)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Copenhagen
#20 Romantic Hotel in Copenhagen
#22 Luxury Hotel in Copenhagen
Price Range: £172 - £309 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Radisson Blu Royal Hotel Copenhagen 5*
Number of rooms: 260
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stunning architectural hotel welcomes Copenhagen guests to Denmark Expertly designed and perfectly situated, the Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Copenhagen is the premier accommodation choice near Tivoli Gardens in Denmark's capital city. Designed by Danish architect Arne Jacobsen, the hotel is a beacon of style with its spiral staircase and reflective facade. Choose from 260 rooms and suites with amenities including Free high-speed, wireless Internet. Hotel guests enjoy on-site features as restaurant, exceptional fitness centre and flexible conference facilities. • Unique design elements including the famous "Swan" and "Egg" chairs • The city's central train station, Tivoli Gardens and popular shopping street Stroget within walking distance of this Copenhagen hotel's location • A total of 260 striking guest rooms and suites offering bathrobes and 24-hour room service • Personal trainers, dry and steam saunas and massage services available at the 2,000-square-metre fitness centre • Meeting facilities with the option of auditoriums seating 300 and smaller rooms for intimate gatherings The Radisson Blu Royal Hotel are currently upgrading facilities at the hotel with the least inconvenience for our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Radisson Blu Royal Hotel Copenhagen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Copenhagen Hotel Copenhagen
Radisson Copenhagen
Radisson Sas Royal Copenhagen
Radisson Sas Copenhagen
Copenhagen Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing