We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Those who think it needs an update have missed the essence of the design!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Radisson Blu Royal Hotel Copenhagen

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel Copenhagen
Ranked #34 of 114 Hotels in Copenhagen
Green Cove Springs, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
57 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Those who think it needs an update have missed the essence of the design!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed here, prior to our Baltic cruise and loved the historic Danish design, great service and central location. Very convenient base camp for exploring Copenhagen. We had a club room with great views. I agree with the rest of the reviewers that breakfast on the 20 th floor was a real treat. We would return!

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Denise B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boline2014, Public Relations Manager at Radisson Blu Royal Hotel Copenhagen, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Dear Denise,
Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to write about your experience with us prior to your cruise. It's a pleasure to read your feedback - we are very happy to read that you enjoyed your stay at this historic Design Hotel :-)
We look forward to welcome you again :-)
Kind regards,
Boline,
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Copenhagen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,253 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    659
    924
    449
    142
    79
See reviews for
340
863
175
575
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (438)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Elgin, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014

We stayed here at the end of a two week trip, preceded by a ten day cruise on Crystal. It was a great way to wind down and wrap up a great vacation. The location is superb ... right across from Tivoli. Service was excellent, as were the accomodations. If we return to Copenhagen, we will stay here.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Radisson Blu Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Donald K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boline2014, Public Relations Manager at Radisson Blu Royal Hotel Copenhagen, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Dear Donald,
Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to write about your experience with us at the end of your cruise and holiday. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you again :-)
Kind regards,
Boline,
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Copenhagen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
81 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014

For anyone who is interested in architecture and design, this hotel should be on the list to stay or at least to visit. Designed by Arne Jacobsen, the famed Danish architect in 1950s, the building was anything but controversial at the time. He also designed the furnishing for the hotel, among which, the egg and swan chairs became international icons.
The hotel is well situated, close to the train station, Tivoli and city hall. As a compact city, everything is within walking or biking distance. We stayed in a corner room on floor six with a great view of the city. Surprisingly spacious room and a huge bathroom. The retro vintage decor was simply delicious for us as if we were living in a 50s movie. There is an original Arne Jacobsen suite on our floor that we did get a chance to peek in, and that was quite amazing.
Besides the design pedigree, the hotel was well run and very comfortable. The front desk was very efficient for check in and out and luggage storage etc.
The only reason it didn't receive a five star from us was that the top floor restaurant denied our entry to have a drink one eve and to view the city above. It only sits dinning guests according to them, which we thought was a bit nutty. Well maybe that's their policy, but it was a little surprising.

Room Tip: if you are a design enthusiastic, the Arne Jacobsen suite is open for booking. We didn't know th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FlyingSocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boline2014, Public Relations Manager at Radisson Blu Royal Hotel Copenhagen, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Dear FlyingSocks,
Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to rate us. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay, our staff service and the experience at our Historical Arne Jacobsen Design Hotel :-) We are sorry that your expectations were not met regarding the drink in Alberto K. This is a well visited gourmet restaurant with not many seats available therefore it's only possible for dining guests. We do hope to welcome you again soon and maybe you can try our fantastic dinner in Alberto K :-)
Kind Regards
Boline,
Radisson Blu Royal Copenhagen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014

We just spent 5 days and 4 nights at this wonderful hotel! We are on a pre-cruise to the Baltic Sea and wanted to spend sometime getting to see Copenhagen. I must say this is the best location to see the whole area. Walking a few blocks you can take a train to any city the station is so close.
Our room was fantastic, clean, bright on the 19th floor not facing Tivoli park but we got to see beautiful sunsets every night.
The hotel staff was great and I enjoyed the Danish decor clean and minimal but sufficient. Great bed and love the heated bathroom floor. We spent everyday walking the city which is what we prefer to do but there are all forms of transportation right out the door. We did the free walking tours which were both great to get to know the city.
Bottled water is quite expensive you can pay between 10 krona to 45 krona for 24 oz. ($2.00 to $20.00) but down the street is a market Rama 1000 you can get 2 liters for 4.5 krona which I'd about $1.00! ( just be sure it is mineral water not carbonated or Brus as they say here) unless that is what you want.
We had rain and sunshine but it was a great trip no matter what the weather would stay here again if we ever get the chance!

Room Tip: If possible get a top floor enjoy the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzanne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boline2014, Public Relations Manager at Radisson Blu Royal Hotel Copenhagen, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Dear Suzanne,
Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to rate us after your 4 night stay with us.
We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay, our staff service and the city of Copenhagen:-)
We do hope that we get the chance to welcome you again soon.
Kind Regards
Boline,
Radisson Blu Royal Copenhagen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
india
Level Contributor
112 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

We chose this hotel primarily because we needed a place with Airconditioning.

Trip advisor should add a rating between average and very good, as this fit somewhere in between. was justabove average in my view.

I booked ia family room on booking.com for 400 odd dollars a night and was one of the few hotels whose response time was very slow, and also in some ways inaccurate.

We had requested for a corner room if possible on a higher floor, and after a second attempt at getting a response , were informed that their family rooms are from the 4th to 6th floors.
However on check in we were given a room on the 3rd floor, so clearly inaccurate info feedback.
We arrived at 11am, but the room was apparently not ready so went out, and came back by 2.30pm. So early check in is luck I guess.

The room (305) to be fair was decent sized with a double bed, a desk in between a double extra bed on the other side, so was very comfortable. However if you need a king instead of two singles joined, be sure to specify and chase up on it.
There were two bathrooms, one with tub, and one with a small cubicle, and we for bathing only used the larger one with the tub. But having 2 loos definitely helped a lot with 2 kids.
The airconditioning worked fine which was a boon.
The only thing was that the room like the hotel does look a bit tired and dated and would be fabulous if given a good facelift!
Although the room overlooked the central station and the track, as well as tivoli on the side but too low to look inside, it was surprisingly NOT noisy at all, and we were in the rooms at all different times through the various days. I mean very mild rumblings of the train rather far apart, but not disturbing at all, and we are quite finicky about this point. Was lovely seeing the Tivoli fireworks on the weekend, as they were spectacular!

Location is the main thing the hotel has going for it!!! 2 min walk from central station, Tivoli gardens, and 6-8 mins to the beginning of Stroget (long) main shopping street.

On check in were told breakfast would be on the 20th floor, but the next day were informed that had been said by mistake and was in the lobby. In the US, could have held them to it, here clearly not.
Breakfast was decent, usual bread selections, cheese selections, meat selections, sausages, cerals, mushrooms, scrambled & boiled eggs and some fruit.
Waffles to order were great! Service could have been better.

Wifi is free and not bad. there is no pool and didnt use gym.

All in all a good stay, as fab location, extremely central. No plushness or luxury, but we are in scandinavia, and with a bit of refurbishment to the hotel, and slightly better service, would rate it very very good.

Room Tip: Family rooms are good size for sure, dont feel cramped even with 2 kids.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lm1900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boline2014, Manager at Radisson Blu Royal Hotel Copenhagen, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Dear LM1900.

We apologize for the disappointing service you received from our staff. We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience. Our team works hard to make sure our guests are comfortable and receive our best service. We apologize that our staff were not more informative in regards to your wishes. Your reservation was made through Booking.com and the comments made in reservation are first seen upon arrival. All our Family rooms are situated on the lower floors. We regret to let you know that we run full house almost everyday during high peak summer period and early check in, and choice of room is subject to availability, depending on the booking situation from previous night. Your comments are valued and we will address this issue with our staff.

We hope to get a new chance to exceed you expectations.
Kind regards,
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Copenhagen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

We stayed only one night following a cruise of the Baltic Sea and we wished we'd stayed longer because this hotel is truly special. The views from our room on the tenth floor were spectacular and were even better from the restaurant on the twentieth floor. The hotel is in the heart of Copenhagen, overlooking the Tivoli Gardens, which made it easy to get our bearings for such a short stay. We'll definitely be back.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Radisson Blu Hotels

Helpful?
Thank margaret_needles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boline2014, Public Relations Manager at Radisson Blu Royal Hotel Copenhagen, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Dear margaret_needles,
Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to rate us. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay, view and location during your one night stay with us :-)
We are looking forward to welcome you again!
Kind Regards
Boline,
Radisson Blu Royal Copenhagen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
74 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

We recently spent 4 nights at this Hotel in Copenhagen, Radisson Blu's Flagship hotel. It is showing its age. Still has a great location. Our room was nice, on a high floor with a fabulous view Tivoli and the City. The bed was comfortable and the AC kept the room nice and cool. Breakfast upstairs at the club room was good and handled well by the staff even when crowded.
The room, however, was showing its age with shoddy drapery and furniture. The place badly needs a refurbishing.
Main problem was food. It got very hot in Copenhagen and most restaurants did not have AC and where there was outdoor seating there also was heavy smoking, which we cannot stand. The top restaurant at the Radisson only serves 5 course meals. When we ate downstairs, (1) the AC was not working well in the lobby/restaurant area so it was hot and (2) the food was just awful. On our last night in Copenhagen we wound up taking a cab to the Marriott hotel for an nice mean in a well air conditioned dining room By the way, the Marriott is beautiful and modern, but its location is not nearly as great as the Radisson being a long walk from Tivoli or the nice areas of the city. If Radisson would update just the rooms, upgrade the restaurant and add good AC to the lobby/restaurant area this would once again become the premier hotel destination in Copenhagen.

Room Tip: Get a high floor with club access
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ijloewy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boline2014, Manager at Radisson Blu Royal Hotel Copenhagen, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Dear Ijloewy.
Thank you for reaching out and writing your review. We are sorry you were not satisfied with the restaurant and the interior of your room. Your comments are valued and will be used to consider improvements in the future. However, we are glad to read that you were satisfied with our staff and the location.

We hope to welcome you to our hotel again.

Kind regards,
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Copenhagen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Copenhagen hotels
Inner Vesterbro
Copenhagen Marriott Hotel
Copenhagen Marriott Hotel
#9 of 114 in Copenhagen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,146 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Scandic Palace Hotel
Scandic Palace Hotel
#19 of 114 in Copenhagen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,930 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Nimb Hotel
Nimb Hotel
#11 of 114 in Copenhagen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner Vesterbro
Absalon Hotel
Absalon Hotel
#4 of 114 in Copenhagen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,654 reviews
Amager
Radisson Blu Scandinavia Hotel, Copenhagen
Indre By (Inner City)
Hotel Alexandra
Hotel Alexandra
#8 of 114 in Copenhagen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Royal Hotel Copenhagen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Royal Hotel Copenhagen

Property: Radisson Blu Royal Hotel Copenhagen
Address: Hammerichsgade 1, Copenhagen 1611, Denmark
Phone Number:
Region: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Indre By (Inner City)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Copenhagen
#18 Luxury Hotel in Copenhagen
#20 Romantic Hotel in Copenhagen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Radisson Blu Royal Hotel Copenhagen 5*
Number of rooms: 260
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stunning architectural hotel welcomes Copenhagen guests to Denmark Expertly designed and perfectly situated, the Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Copenhagen is the premier accommodation choice near Tivoli Gardens in Denmark's capital city. Designed by Danish architect Arne Jacobsen, the hotel is a beacon of style with its spiral staircase and reflective facade. Choose from 260 rooms and suites with amenities including Free high-speed, wireless Internet. Hotel guests enjoy on-site features such as award-winning restaurants, an exceptional fitness centre and flexible conference facilities. • Unique design elements including the famous "Swan" and "Egg" chairs • The city's central train station, Tivoli Gardens and popular shopping street Stroget within walking distance of this Copenhagen hotel's location • A total of 260 striking guest rooms and suites offering bathrobes and 24-hour room service • Drinks, coffees and meals in a relaxed setting at restaurant Cafe Royal and the Royal Bar • Personal trainers, dry and steam saunas and massage services available at the 2,000-square-metre fitness centre • Meeting facilities with the option of auditoriums seating 300 and smaller rooms for intimate gatherings ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Rezidor, Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Radisson Blu Royal Hotel Copenhagen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Copenhagen Hotel Copenhagen
Radisson Copenhagen
Radisson Sas Royal Copenhagen
Radisson Sas Copenhagen
Copenhagen Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing