We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Average hotel”
Review of Phoenix Copenhagen

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Phoenix Copenhagen
Ranked #42 of 116 Hotels in Copenhagen
High Wycombe
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Average hotel”
Reviewed 11 March 2014

The location of this hotel is fairly central to everything in Copenhagen, 10 minutes walk from the Metro station, this makes it an easy travel from the airport. Breakfast buffet is good if you can get it for just £4 on expedia, it is not worth the £15 the hotel will charge for direct booking.,

Hotel lobby and recepetion are quite nice and so are the rooms, but they are quite small although the bathroom is big enough. We were first given a room that had a large room beam sticking out of the wall, this made the room very small, but we did get moved after complaining.

apart from breakfast we didn't eat in the hotel, the restaurant wasn't very inviting, very plain and very few guest whilst we were there.

We did have a major issue witth a large group of teenagers shouting and singing at 3 am, we had to call reception, we were very suprised that reception allowed the group to come into the hotel clearly very drunk and noisy and they must have heard the noise from anywhere in the hotel, but did nothing to stop them until we and others complained.

we booked a double room, but got two singles pushed together, we were told there were no double beds even though this was confirmed on our booking,

In summary there are bettetr hotels in this price range and unless offered a really good deal you should look at alternatives.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank liverpooleric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JulieHeinen, General Manager at Phoenix Copenhagen, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Dear traveller,

We thank you for your review of Phoenix Copenhagen. We are sorry to hear that you had a mixed experience staying at Phoenix Copenhagen. We are glad to hear that our service minded staff moved you into a room you liked better and our staff reacted on complains from noisy guests when notified. It is correct that it is always less expensive to book a room including breakfast instead of buying breakfast during stay for DKK 170,- p.p. per day. Double rooms are either with 2 single beds or 1 king. When you add preferred bed type on your bookings this is always on a request base that we will do our utmost to accommodate. Your first room given had 1 king bed and we are sorry if we did not have another king bedded room available. Even though you think better hotels are available in Copenhagen, we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you at Phoenix Copenhagen on another visit in the future.

Kind regards
PHOENIX COPENHAGEN
Julie Heinen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,186 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    244
    494
    290
    98
    60
See reviews for
130
411
67
357
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014

This hotel is in a great location for all the sights of Copenhagen.We had a superior double room with the romance package (sparkling wine and chocolate strawberries on arrival) with breakfast included. The hotel has lovely facilities and the staff are attentive and friendly. The room itself was a good size with modern facilities but some of the fixtures were looking dated (albeit of a very high standard when first put in - so you don't really mind). The breakfast was a buffet with a good selection of food from pasties, fresh fruit, yogurt and cereals to hot food such as scrambled eggs, sausages and bacon. Overall we had a great stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paul v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JulieHeinen, General Manager at Phoenix Copenhagen, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Dear traveller,

We are pleased to hear that you had a great romantic stay at Phoenix Copenhagen earlier this month. We proud to hear that you had a perfect stay including sparkling wine and strawberries on your room, liked our big breakfast buffet and found of down town location ideal for your visit. Furthermore we are glad to hear that you experienced our staff friendly and service minded. Overall this is how a stay should be at Phoenix Copenhagen.

We hope to have the privilege to welcome you at Phoenix Copenhagen in the future for another fantastic stay.

Kind regards
PHOENIX COPENHAGEN
Julie Heinen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014

We stayed at this |Hotel for a long weekend - great location only 10 mins walk from City Centre and even closer to many of the City highlights. Staff extremely friendly and helpful. Breakfast was excellent. Ideal for a City break.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 3310 - at the front of the hotel but no real trouble with any noise from the stree...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stuart A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JulieHeinen, General Manager at Phoenix Copenhagen, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Dear traveller,

Thank you for your 5 star review of Phoenix Copenhagen. We are proud to hear that you found Phoenix Copenhagen ideal for your city break in Copenhagen. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back at Phoenix Copenhagen in the nearest future.

Kind regards
PHOENIX COPENHAGEN
Julie Heinen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014

The Phoenix is a well appointed four star hotel in the centre of Copenhagen. Large rooms, very helpful staff, good breakfast and a bar and restaurant on site if needed. It is located on Bredgade halfway between the picturesque Ny Haven and the Amalienborg Palace, and only a short walk from Kongens Nytorv metro station which is a 14 minutes ride from the airport. Also handy for the pedestrian shopping streets
Visitors to the city should be prepared for costs to be significantly higher than those found in Germany, France, Spain etc but it probably isn't too much of an issue for a short city break

Room Tip: Rooms at the back provide a very quiet environment. Rooms facing Bredgade might be a little noisy du...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ian h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JulieHeinen, General Manager at Phoenix Copenhagen, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Dear traveller,

Thank you for your feedback from your visit at Phoenix Copenhagen this month. We are proud to hear that you found Phoenix Copenhagen ideal for your Copenhagen visit and had a nice visit including a large room, helpful staff and good breakfast.

We are looking forward to welcome you back again at Phoenix Copenhagen on your next Copenhagen visit.

Kind regards
PHOENIX COPENHAGEN
Julie Heinen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aalborg, Denmark
Level Contributor
212 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2014

The hotel is as central as you could wish for - the Royal Palace is right opposite the hotel and the pedestrian streets and shopping district close by. Also the Nyhavn area is within 5 minutes walk.
On the downside is the hotel rooms interiors. I got a single room on the 3rd floor (room 3323), and this was - shall we say - small..... The electrical sockets were limited and some of the ones that were there, were half pulled out of the wall.
The shower had a vent opening that was halfway out of the wall, and the warm water in the shower took over 10 minutes to get as the hotel have chosen to put in one of these EXTREMELY annoying shower heads with a so-called water saving devices (limiting water flow so a shower takes for ages as you can not get wet)
Do not get a room rate without breakfast as the hotel thinks it is reasonable to charge DKK 179,00 (EUR 25,00) for this as an extra charge. The breakfast is nice with a good breadselection, but nothing special. In addition, f.ex. the bacon was burnt beyond recognition, almost cremated. Impossible to eat.
I would not really recommend the Phoenix Copenhagen as I think there are other and better alternatives around, also centrally located.

Room Tip: Single rooms on the 3rd floor extremely small. Parking is made in the street around the corner of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael Friis J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JulieHeinen, General Manager at Phoenix Copenhagen, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Dear Traveller,

Thank you for taking you time to write a review of your stay this month. We are glad to hear that you liked our down town location but we are sorry to hear that your stay was not perfect. All rooms at Phoenix Copenhagen have a minimum of 2 electrical outlets per room. We are sorry if this was not enough outlets for you needs. We are sorry to hear that you had issues with the shower in the bathroom. We have notified our maintenance staff to make sure this will be in order for other guests in the future. Our large breakfast buffet for the price of Dkk 170,- has a big selection of bread, fruits, scramble eggs, sausages and much more. It's true that it's less expensive to reserve the room including breakfast instead of reserving a room without breakfast and then buying the breakfast buffet during the stay. We are sorry to hear that you didn't like the bacon from the breakfast buffet. We have forwarded your experience at breakfast to our head chef. We hope you will reconsider staying elsewhere in the future so you can visit Phoenix Copenhagen and experience Phoenix Copenhagen as it should be.
Kind regards
PHOENIX COPENHAGEN
Julie Heinen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alresford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2014

I stayed here for 1 night on business. Location is good for walking out to local restaurants. Staff are very friendly. Having visited Denmark many, many times, and having paid unbelievable prices across the country for hotel rooms and bar prices, I was expecting the worse for central Copenhagen. However, the rates were very reasonable and the bar prices good.
My room was a single and very small, but it was comfortable if a little dated.
Would stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JulieHeinen, General Manager at Phoenix Copenhagen, responded to this review, 8 March 2014
Dear traveller,

Thank you taking your time to write a review of your business stay at Phoenix Copenhagen last month. We are proud to hear that you were positively surprised with Phoenix Copenhagen, your room rate and prices in our Brasserie. We are glad to hear that you like to stay at Phoenix Copenhagen again and we hope to welcome you back in the nearest future.

Kind regards
PHOENIX COPENHAGEN
Julie Heinen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
48 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2014

i spent one night at this wonderfull hotel and it was really fun for me.The hotel is right in middle of the city and so close to the harbor. the staff is really helpfull and smiley faces around. They also giving you some important information about the city which is really needed. hope to see them again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 664can_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JulieHeinen, General Manager at Phoenix Copenhagen, responded to this review, 8 March 2014
Dear traveller,

Thank you for your review regarding your business stay at Phoenix Copenhagen last month. It's great to hear that your found our staff helpful and they were able to help you with information about Copenhagen. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again at Phoenix Copenhagen in the nearest future.

Kind regards
PHOENIX COPENHAGEN
Julie Heinen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Copenhagen hotels
Indre By (Inner City)
71 Nyhavn Hotel
71 Nyhavn Hotel
#2 of 116 in Copenhagen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Scandic Front
Scandic Front
#37 of 116 in Copenhagen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 866 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Hotel Skt. Annae
Hotel Skt. Annae
#49 of 116 in Copenhagen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Indre By (Inner City)
Copenhagen Strand
Copenhagen Strand
#31 of 116 in Copenhagen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,381 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Copenhagen Admiral Hotel
Copenhagen Admiral Hotel
#22 of 116 in Copenhagen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,803 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Hotel Christian IV
Hotel Christian IV
#25 of 116 in Copenhagen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phoenix Copenhagen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phoenix Copenhagen

Property: Phoenix Copenhagen
Address: Bredgade 37, Copenhagen 1260, Denmark
Region: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Indre By (Inner City)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#23 Luxury Hotel in Copenhagen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Phoenix Copenhagen 4*
Number of rooms: 213
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gracious 5-story hotel housed in exquisite 17th-century building, near Amalienborg Palace & Royal Theatre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Priceline, TravelUp, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Phoenix Copenhagen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phoenix Copenhagen Hotel Copenhagen
Phoenix Hotel Copenhagen
Copenhagen Phoenix Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing