We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”
Review of Phoenix Copenhagen

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Phoenix Copenhagen
Ranked #33 of 118 Hotels in Copenhagen
Reviewed 13 March 2014

This hotel is in a good central location, but it is disappointing for. Four str hotel. Rooms and very small and not well furnished. On a positive note, the breakfast buffet is excellent.

Hotel is tired and service is generally poor. Restaurant did not open during our stay and Brasserie was empty.

This hotel is popular with young people and on the Saturday night, there was a large group of very drunk people shouting in the corridor and hotel staff made no attempt to control the situation.

Room Tip: Pay for an upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HazlemereBucks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JulieHeinen, General Manager at Phoenix Copenhagen, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2014

Dear traveller,

Thank you for taking your time to write a review of your experience at Phoenix Copenhagen this month. We are glad to hear you liked the delicious breakfast buffet. We are sorry to hear that you did not like the size of the room and the amenities. Phoenix Copenhagen has rooms available in different room categories and sizes. We are sorry if found you room too small. The reason for Restaurant Von Plessen was empty during the evenings of your visit is that the restaurant is only open for breakfast in the mornings and private group dinners (when pre-booked). We are sorry that you experienced noisy neighbours. We are certain that if staff were informed this would have been taken care of. If you like to elaborate on your review, please feel free to write to us on phoenixcopenhagen@arp-hansen.dk
Kind regards
PHOENIX COPENHAGEN
Julie Heinen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,338)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

513 - 519 of 1,338 reviews

Reviewed 13 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel for 4 days. The location is fantastic, very close to everything. Staff pleasant n willing to help. The room sucks. Small with a bad smell. The floor was uneven, there is no sound, you hear everything. The cold bath because there is no heating n towels smelled bad. Throw them on the floor to change them but take n put them in their place. The taps tragic not closed to anything and got lukewarm water should be quite educational. Breakfast is fantastic! Definitely not my way again!

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Katerina A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JulieHeinen, General Manager at Phoenix Copenhagen, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2014

Dear Traveller,

Thank you for taking the time to express your views regarding your recent stay at Phoenix Copenhagen. We are sorry to hear that we did not fur fill your expectations. We are glad to hear that you liked our down town location, our service minded staff and our breakfast buffet. We are surprised to hear that you stayed with us for 4 nights being unsatisfied ending up leaving unhappy. Our service minded staff could have helped with maintance issues or moving you into another room. Despite your obvious dissatisfaction with your stay with us, we hope that your enjoyed your time in down town Copenhagen

Kind regards
PHOENIX COPENHAGEN
Julie Heinen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2014

It was probably a nice hotel 40 years ago ; now the glory has faded considerable. Electricity wiring on the wall instead of in the wall, bathroom rather old fashioned, windows do not close tight giving street noise in your room.

Breakfast is OK.

In my opinion not the right value for money. I would rather rate this hotel 3 stars (the hotel rating in Copenhagen is rather disputable).

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Koen67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JulieHeinen, General Manager at Phoenix Copenhagen, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2014

Dear traveller,

Thank you for taking the time to highlight your views of your business visit at Phoenix Copenhagen this month. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed our breakfast buffet and we are sorry to hear that you didn't like your room facilities.

We hope to have the possibility to welcome you at Phoenix Copenhagen in the future.

Kind regards
PHOENIX COPENHAGEN
Julie Heinen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014

The location of this hotel is fairly central to everything in Copenhagen, 10 minutes walk from the Metro station, this makes it an easy travel from the airport. Breakfast buffet is good if you can get it for just £4 on expedia, it is not worth the £15 the hotel will charge for direct booking.,

Hotel lobby and recepetion are quite nice and so are the rooms, but they are quite small although the bathroom is big enough. We were first given a room that had a large room beam sticking out of the wall, this made the room very small, but we did get moved after complaining.

apart from breakfast we didn't eat in the hotel, the restaurant wasn't very inviting, very plain and very few guest whilst we were there.

We did have a major issue witth a large group of teenagers shouting and singing at 3 am, we had to call reception, we were very suprised that reception allowed the group to come into the hotel clearly very drunk and noisy and they must have heard the noise from anywhere in the hotel, but did nothing to stop them until we and others complained.

we booked a double room, but got two singles pushed together, we were told there were no double beds even though this was confirmed on our booking,

In summary there are bettetr hotels in this price range and unless offered a really good deal you should look at alternatives.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank liverpooleric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JulieHeinen, General Manager at Phoenix Copenhagen, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2014

Dear traveller,

We thank you for your review of Phoenix Copenhagen. We are sorry to hear that you had a mixed experience staying at Phoenix Copenhagen. We are glad to hear that our service minded staff moved you into a room you liked better and our staff reacted on complains from noisy guests when notified. It is correct that it is always less expensive to book a room including breakfast instead of buying breakfast during stay for DKK 170,- p.p. per day. Double rooms are either with 2 single beds or 1 king. When you add preferred bed type on your bookings this is always on a request base that we will do our utmost to accommodate. Your first room given had 1 king bed and we are sorry if we did not have another king bedded room available. Even though you think better hotels are available in Copenhagen, we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you at Phoenix Copenhagen on another visit in the future.

Kind regards
PHOENIX COPENHAGEN
Julie Heinen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014

This hotel is in a great location for all the sights of Copenhagen.We had a superior double room with the romance package (sparkling wine and chocolate strawberries on arrival) with breakfast included. The hotel has lovely facilities and the staff are attentive and friendly. The room itself was a good size with modern facilities but some of the fixtures were looking dated (albeit of a very high standard when first put in - so you don't really mind). The breakfast was a buffet with a good selection of food from pasties, fresh fruit, yogurt and cereals to hot food such as scrambled eggs, sausages and bacon. Overall we had a great stay.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank paul v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JulieHeinen, General Manager at Phoenix Copenhagen, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2014

Dear traveller,

We are pleased to hear that you had a great romantic stay at Phoenix Copenhagen earlier this month. We proud to hear that you had a perfect stay including sparkling wine and strawberries on your room, liked our big breakfast buffet and found of down town location ideal for your visit. Furthermore we are glad to hear that you experienced our staff friendly and service minded. Overall this is how a stay should be at Phoenix Copenhagen.

We hope to have the privilege to welcome you at Phoenix Copenhagen in the future for another fantastic stay.

Kind regards
PHOENIX COPENHAGEN
Julie Heinen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014

We stayed at this |Hotel for a long weekend - great location only 10 mins walk from City Centre and even closer to many of the City highlights. Staff extremely friendly and helpful. Breakfast was excellent. Ideal for a City break.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 3310 - at the front of the hotel but no real trouble with any noise from the stree...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stuart A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JulieHeinen, General Manager at Phoenix Copenhagen, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2014

Dear traveller,

Thank you for your 5 star review of Phoenix Copenhagen. We are proud to hear that you found Phoenix Copenhagen ideal for your city break in Copenhagen. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back at Phoenix Copenhagen in the nearest future.

Kind regards
PHOENIX COPENHAGEN
Julie Heinen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014

The Phoenix is a well appointed four star hotel in the centre of Copenhagen. Large rooms, very helpful staff, good breakfast and a bar and restaurant on site if needed. It is located on Bredgade halfway between the picturesque Ny Haven and the Amalienborg Palace, and only a short walk from Kongens Nytorv metro station which is a 14 minutes ride from the airport. Also handy for the pedestrian shopping streets
Visitors to the city should be prepared for costs to be significantly higher than those found in Germany, France, Spain etc but it probably isn't too much of an issue for a short city break

Room Tip: Rooms at the back provide a very quiet environment. Rooms facing Bredgade might be a little noisy du...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ian h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JulieHeinen, General Manager at Phoenix Copenhagen, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2014

Dear traveller,

Thank you for your feedback from your visit at Phoenix Copenhagen this month. We are proud to hear that you found Phoenix Copenhagen ideal for your Copenhagen visit and had a nice visit including a large room, helpful staff and good breakfast.

We are looking forward to welcome you back again at Phoenix Copenhagen on your next Copenhagen visit.

Kind regards
PHOENIX COPENHAGEN
Julie Heinen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Copenhagen hotels
Indre By (Inner City)
Copenhagen Strand
Copenhagen Strand
#26 of 118 in Copenhagen
1,523 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Copenhagen Admiral Hotel
Copenhagen Admiral Hotel
#24 of 118 in Copenhagen
4,308 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Skt. Petri
Skt. Petri
#7 of 118 in Copenhagen
445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Indre By (Inner City)
Babette Guldsmeden - Guldsmeden Hotels
Inner Vesterbro
First Hotel Mayfair
First Hotel Mayfair
#29 of 118 in Copenhagen
1,192 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Hotel SKT. Annae
Hotel SKT. Annae
#47 of 118 in Copenhagen
1,182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phoenix Copenhagen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phoenix Copenhagen

Address: Bredgade 37, Copenhagen 1260, Denmark
Region: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Indre By (Inner City)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#21 Luxury Hotel in Copenhagen
Price Range: £115 - £284 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Phoenix Copenhagen 4*
Number of rooms: 213
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gracious 5-story hotel housed in exquisite 17th-century building, near Amalienborg Palace & Royal Theatre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Phoenix Copenhagen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phoenix Copenhagen Hotel Copenhagen
Phoenix Hotel Copenhagen
Copenhagen Phoenix Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing