We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location Location Location!”
Review of Phoenix Copenhagen

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Phoenix Copenhagen
Ranked #38 of 117 Hotels in Copenhagen
Atlanta, GA
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Location Location Location!”
Reviewed 24 July 2014 via mobile

Centrally located for a lot of stuff that you would want to see in 'inner city' Copenhagen. We got an extra bed for the kid, by European standards room held up fine. It was unusually warm the week we were there so not having an A/C or a fan got bothersome at times. Place had complementary wifi and I have no complaints with the service provided!


Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sailut-Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JulieHeinen, General Manager at Phoenix Copenhagen, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Dear traveller,

Thank you for your feedback after family stay at Phoenix Copenhagen earlier this month. We are glad that you liked our location, our complementary wifi and received excellent service from our staff during visit. We hope to have you staying with us at Phoenix Copenhagen on your next visit to Copenhagen.

Kind regards
PHOENIX COPENHAGEN
Julie Heinen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,243 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    264
    518
    299
    101
    61
See reviews for
139
430
70
368
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
St Helier, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Great location, handy for all central visits to the city, nice breakfast, comfy rooms. Close to Nyhaven and all it's hustle and bustle, a great choice if you are having a long weekend in DK, don't forget to visit the carlseberg factory :)

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnaDavies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JulieHeinen, General Manager at Phoenix Copenhagen, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Dear traveller,

Thank you for your feedback after end stay at Phoenix Copenhagen. We are glad that you liked your stay and recommend us to others.

We can see from this review that your stay was last year so we hope your next visit at Phoenix Copenhagen will be soon.

Kind regards
PHOENIX COPENHAGEN
Julie Heinen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
taos, nm
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

We recently stayed at the Phoenix and were impressed by the helpfulness of the staff at reception and particularly a bus boy (man actually)/attendant at the breakfast buffet. Shortly after checking out i realized i had left a poster bought at the David Museum (an outstanding museum by the way) in our room at the Phoenix. I emailed and at first was told that nothing had been found by housekeeping. A day or two later another email arrived to say that the poster had been found and if I would email them credit card information for postage the Phoenix would send the item. I did ~ the poster arrived but alas it was the wrong poster! It had been in a tube and since the Phoenix did not know which I had bought they sent this one obviously left by another guest. I emailed again to see if someone else had received my poster by mistake. Nope. The Phoenix ~ specifically Robert Bindslev ~ then refunded my postage with apologies (surely not their fault). For us staying in a hotel like the Phoenix receiving service like this trumps staying in an more modern impersonal hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rjdr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JulieHeinen, General Manager at Phoenix Copenhagen, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Dear traveller,

Thank you for your 5-star review of Phoenix Copenahgen. We are glad that Robert and our other staff made your stay unforgettable. We are sorry to hear that you lost a poster bought at the David Museum but we were able to assist you with this matter (even if you didn't recieve missing poster).

We appreciate your positive comments of your experience at Phoenix Copenhagen and hope to have you as a guest in the nearest future.

Kind regards
PHOENIX COPENHAGEN
Julie Heinen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

My wife and I started in Copenhagen on a two week vacation and chose the Phoenix for a three day stay. The hotel is older, but in a charming, positive way as the decor and furniture is something out of an older living room. The rooms aren't huge, but offer enough room for two large suitcases. The beds were also fine and the room was clean however the shower may be difficult to use if you have mobility issues. Breakfast was also very good and provided the ability to really fill up for the day. Our only real gripe was that our air conditioning didn't work and we were visiting during a hot streak (over 80 degrees F), which is pretty unusual for Copenhagen. As a result, sleeping was very unpleasant and even though the temperature dropped to 60 degrees outside at night, our room remained at 80 degrees. Other than that, the staff is friendly and the hotel is nice and in a great location. I would likely return, providing I was guaranteed a room with adequate air conditioning. Copenhagen doesn't seem to be a city known for its hotels, but I would still say that the Phoenix is a good place to stay in Copenhagen.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaveA10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JulieHeinen, General Manager at Phoenix Copenhagen, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Dear traveller,

Thank you for review of Phoenix Copenhagen this month. We are glad to hear that everything during visit was nice except the air-conditioning. As you mentioned the historic hot streak in Copenhagen has been almost un human. Copenhagen is close to the ocean which makes it mostly windy all the time. We are sorry that this was not the case during your visit and the air-conditioning was not working properly. We hope to have you staying with us in the future and hopefully the temperature will not be too hot.

Kind regards
PHOENIX COPENHAGEN
Julie Heinen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsingborg, Sweden
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Had a one night stop at Phoenix Copenhagen hotel.
We stayed in an Executive Room facing the backyard, the room and bathroom was spacious. Nice soft beds and very good sleeping quality.
The location is one of the best in Copenhagen, at least summertime, minutes away from Nyhavn and a 5 minutes’ walk away from Ströget, it is also close to a lot of nice restaurants
All employees we came in contact was very friendly and helpful and I can definitely recommend this hotel

Room Tip: I can recommend the executive rooms facing the backyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MagLin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JulieHeinen, General Manager at Phoenix Copenhagen, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Dear Traveller,

Thank you for a 5-svar rating after end stay this month. We are glad to hear that you had a good sleep in your Double Executive room located to our inner court yard. Furthermore we appreciate your positive comments on our excellent staff and the down town location of Phoenix Copenhagen.

We are looking forward to your next visit at Phoenix Copenhagen.

Kind regards
PHOENIX COPENHAGEN
Julie Heinen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

I had low expectations about the hotel after reading reviews that it was shabby. Well, those looking for complete luxury should go to D'Angletere -- recently renovated and probably above any other hotel in the city, but then the price would be different. Phoenix is very conveniently located close to the main shopping street, near many restaurants, and the main attractions. If you turn left, within half a kilometer is the main square where the guards change and one of the biggest churches, and another kilometer or so a nice park close to the mermaid. If you go right from the hotel, there is the Nytorv with all the attractions.

Phoenix is traditionally-designed, no frills 4-star hotel, dated grandeur style (non-Ikea) interior. My room (for two adults and a kid), was on second floor, was of reasonable size and quality. Beds were a little too soft for my liking. The mini-bar was not cooling very well, but nothing critical. Bathroom was functioning, cold and hot water was running fine. Perfectly capable of having a shower in the mornings. Wifi was free and fuctioning well. I watched the world soccer cup on the LG flat-screen TV -- was ok, but the list of TV channels was not extensive.

Breakfast was also no-frills but had all the usual things -- orange juice (not freshly squeezed), 2-3 other juices, 2-3 choices of cheese, 2-3 choices of ham and sausages, eggs, tea, coffee, fruit salad, good choice of bread and pastries (again not as sophisticatd as in Anletere, no champagne at breakfast).

People compain it has no air-conditioning. I am not sure you need one in Copenhagen. This is not Dubai.

Overall, if you are not looking for 5-star experience, fancy spa or gym facilities and want a reasonable place to spend a couple of nights in Copenhagen for a non-exhorbitant price, I would think this is a good choice of a hotel in central Copenhagen.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MaxV_96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JulieHeinen, General Manager at Phoenix Copenhagen, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Dear traveller,

Thank you for your feedback after family stay this month. We are glad to hear that you found Phoenix Copenhagen suitable for your stay in Copenhagen and we hope to have you as a guest again in the nearest future.

Kind regards
PHOENIX COPENHAGEN
Julie Heinen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

The location of the hotel is of course very good; you're just a minute walk from Nyhavn and Kongens Nytorv. I like the old building with its slightly crooked stairways and chandeliers. Feels warm and inviting! Did not have any breakfast/other meals, so cannot comment on the food. The staff is very welcoming and helpful, I found them to be very attentive.
I have stayed here once before, and then I had a room on the fourth floor. There it was only one, tiny window, so was delighted to see that our room this time, 1105, had a big one, that opened all the way! Tall ceiling, which I love. Cosy room!
So this was my second time here; it's very fitting for a weekend, but I'm not sure I'd stay here if I were to stay for, say, a week. But I do like it!

Room Tip: Stayed in 1105 - Nice because the window opens to the terrace/courtyard in the middle, so it's v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarieHellsaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JulieHeinen, General Manager at Phoenix Copenhagen, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Dear traveller,

Thank you for your review of stay at Phoenix Copenhagen. We are proud to experience that this is your second stay with us and we are glad that you like the interior style, our great staff and room given. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again at Phoenix Copenhagen for your third visit in the nearest future.

Kind regards
PHOENIX COPENHAGEN
Julie Heinen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Copenhagen hotels
Indre By (Inner City)
Scandic Front
Scandic Front
#36 of 117 in Copenhagen
950 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
71 Nyhavn Hotel
71 Nyhavn Hotel
#3 of 117 in Copenhagen
257 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Copenhagen Strand
Copenhagen Strand
#27 of 117 in Copenhagen
1,439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Indre By (Inner City)
Best Western Plus Hotel City Copenhagen
Indre By (Inner City)
Copenhagen Admiral Hotel
Copenhagen Admiral Hotel
#24 of 117 in Copenhagen
3,990 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Skt. Petri
Skt. Petri
#19 of 117 in Copenhagen
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phoenix Copenhagen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phoenix Copenhagen

Property: Phoenix Copenhagen
Address: Bredgade 37, Copenhagen 1260, Denmark
Region: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Indre By (Inner City)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#22 Luxury Hotel in Copenhagen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Phoenix Copenhagen 4*
Number of rooms: 213
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gracious 5-story hotel housed in exquisite 17th-century building, near Amalienborg Palace & Royal Theatre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Phoenix Copenhagen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phoenix Copenhagen Hotel Copenhagen
Phoenix Hotel Copenhagen
Copenhagen Phoenix Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing