We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect location for weekend stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Hotel
Ranked #80 of 116 Hotels in Copenhagen
Kuopio, Finland
Level Contributor
58 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Perfect location for weekend stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2012 via mobile

Nice, cosy Hotel for short holiday. Perfect location right next to Tivoli and railway station. We loved this!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MikaSutinen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

904 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    73
    263
    329
    173
    66
See reviews for
107
342
51
204
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
137 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2012 via mobile

Noisy, no fridge or coffee facilities, no air conditioning so you could shut the windows and not be deafened by the disco or bins being moved. Front desk staff unwilling to assist with luggage, very tiny rooms. So not clear how anyone thinks this can be classed as a four star hotel. All you can say is clean and near town centre, but not worth the money.

Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Drford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Copenhagen hotels

Charleston, SC
Level Contributor
42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2012 via mobile

Great location, friendly staff and clean hotel. Rooms are small, but you should not spend too much time in the room with all that Copenhagen has to offer.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tonyC34WeHo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Egefjord, Manager at Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 15 October 2012
Dear Guest
Thank you for staying at Grand Hotel.
Safe travel,
Grand Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
veghel
Level Contributor
70 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2012

Hotel, is close to the center, Breakfast and restaurant is good, but most restaurants in copenhagen are ok. Hotelroom , it seems to have 4 stars, I guess i guess that is one to much, rooms are very noisy , wireless internet is good, reception is good, bathroom very basis.

Room Tip: ask for a room at the end of the hall, so at least it is more quiet and you dont hear the other gues...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JanVeghel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
285 reviews
191 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 241 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2012

I have never stayed in a hotel has no air conditioning. I wish someone here mentioned this I would not stay at this hotel! hotel is really close to central station and Tivoli, but took me a while to find it! I only stayed for one night during transit in Copenhagen. Hotel is a historical building. It shows the age particular the lobby. Staff was professional but not that friendly. Room is tiny! I arrived in a very warm day, staff gave me the top floor as i requested. It was really hot. I have to open my window all the time. But you can see inside of other rooms through your window. It is very close from room to room anyway. Wifi is free and it is very fast! There are heaps of restaurants and cafes around. There is also a discount supermarket nearby. I don't think i want to stay here again at least not in summer.

Room Tip: lower floor in summer!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank melbcollege
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Egefjord, General Manager at Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 29 May 2012
Dear Traveller
Thank you for giving a review with both pro's and con's. Correct, like a lot of Danish Hotels we don't offer Air Conditioning or the lighter version Air Cooling - only fans. We don't have a lot of hot days in Copenhagen and savour the ones that come everyyear. But the staff will do everything they can to find the best shaded and vented rooms whenever the city heats up.
Best regards,
Jep Friis Egefjord, GM, Grand Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connecticut
Level Contributor
127 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2012 via mobile

My wife and I came to Copenhagen for a 1 night stay over prior to a Baltic cruise. We do quite a bit of travel and stay at many hotels. Prior to our arrival, our travel agent let them know we were on vacation for our anniversary. When we arrived, we arrived earlier than our 3 pm check in time due to our flight getting in around 8am. The front desk staff notified us that our room wasn't ready but since we were celebrating our anniversary, they would upgrade us to a larger room that was available immediately! Not only was it great to be afforded the upgraded but it allowed us to explore the city earlier with no luggage. The staff speaks English and is very helpful. Later in the day while we were resting from the overnight travel, room service arrived with a complementary bottle of champagne! If this isn't going the extra mile, I don't know what is. The hotel accommodations are very spacious for europe and the hotel is located only a few blocks from the copenhagen central station for the metro meaning that you can take a 10 minute metro ride from the airport and be at your hotel for approximately $7 (35DKK) per person. On top of all of that, the hotel has free WiFi which is tremendously helpful when traveling as an American who doesn't want to pay for data a smartphone. Very happy with our stay!

Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank ctboarder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Egefjord, General Manager at Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 23 May 2012
Dear Frequent Traveller
I will let the review speak for itself and just congratulate you on your anniversary. May you enjoy many more.
Thank you for staying at Grand Hotel Copenhagen,
Jep Friis Egefjord, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Copenhagen hotels
Inner Vesterbro
Hotel Astoria
Hotel Astoria
#75 of 116 in Copenhagen
3.0 of 5 bubbles 589 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Copenhagen Plaza Hotel
Copenhagen Plaza Hotel
#47 of 116 in Copenhagen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,044 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Copenhagen Star Hotel
Copenhagen Star Hotel
#67 of 116 in Copenhagen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 959 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner Vesterbro
Scandic Webers
Scandic Webers
#56 of 116 in Copenhagen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 832 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
BEST WESTERN Hotel Hebron
BEST WESTERN Hotel Hebron
#17 of 116 in Copenhagen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 976 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Absalon Hotel
Absalon Hotel
#5 of 116 in Copenhagen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,708 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel

Property: Grand Hotel
Address: Vesterbrogade 9, Copenhagen 1620, Denmark
Region: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Inner Vesterbro , Vesterbro - Kongens Enghave
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #80 of 116 Hotels in Copenhagen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 161
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Agoda, TravelUp, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Southall Travel, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Copenhagen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing