We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Should be better than it is...”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Hotel
Ranked #80 of 116 Hotels in Copenhagen
Malmo, Sweden
Level Contributor
88 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Should be better than it is...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2013

In Sweden (Stockholm), Grand Hotel country's best hotel.
That is not the case in Copenhagen ...
I got the impression that Grand once was the city's best hotel but it must have been a century ago, and the hotel has become much poorer as the years passed by.
When you see the pompous pictures on the website so you can see the Grand Hotel Copenhagen could be so very much better than what it is today ...

Location: Perfectly okay, near the Central Station (unfortunately there is no Metro Station where yet)
Tivoli, Strøget, Town Hall Square (Radhuspladsen), but also close to the more shabby quarters at street Istedgade and Straw Square (Halmtorvet). These streets can be avoided if you stay at the Grand Hotel.
Is also within a short walk to other neighborhoods such as Christianshavn or Norrebro..

Wi-Fi: Works in public areas of the hotel. At the hotel I had no contact with either my iPad or Samsung Galaxy smartphone.
(According to the website it will be Wi-Fi function in all rooms)

Standard: We got a room with single beds that did not look like the pictures on the hotel's website, where the room as was elongated and extremely tight bathroom, It was so tight in there that I think an overweight person would actually have trouble going to the bathroom.
View from the room was towards the back yard and not much use.
The room was quite due this is a central part of the city of Copenhagen.
I can not say if the hotel-staff was serviceminded or not, we only had to do with them when we check in to the hotel.

The breakfast was not prepaid and Copenhagen is an expensive city, which is also reflected in the price of the breakfast.

Either way, the Grand is often (but not always) an affordable hotel, some euros more per night when compared to the hotels down on Istedgade and Grand Hotel hold a much better standard.
Travel with children or simply want to avoid the little more shabby quarters in Copenhagen and find a good price on this hotel - I recomend it.

Room Tip: If Wi-Fi is important, ask for a room where there are guaranteed to work
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BillyRudeBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Egefjord, General Manager at Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 16 April 2013
Dear swedish traveller
I agree, Grand Copenhagen is not like Grand Stockholm. It is a younger brother at a fair price as you say. I hope other readers of your review read it all the way through because you have many valid comments about the area and price. My only wish was that you might had contacted the reception if you wanted another type of room with another view.
All the best,
Jep Friis Egefjord, GM, Grand Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

904 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    73
    263
    329
    173
    66
See reviews for
107
342
51
204
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
413 reviews
125 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 242 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2013

This is a very traditional hotel from the architecture to the hotel staff, it is like it was when it first opened. Love the tiny rooms with views of the street where you can stand and see Copenhagen in motion. The interior decoration is classic of the kind you might see in Paris. The staff is very professional and efficient. These guys here more so than at other hotels. It seems they might have done a proper apprenticeship. I would come back to this place. Also the price was ok. Around 130 euros. The bed was a bit soft though but I think this might often be the case in Denmark.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Evoqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Egefjord, General Manager at Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 16 April 2013
Dear Traveller
Thank you for a fantastic review. I will make sure the staff reads your friendly comments. They have been with the hotel for 10-15-20 years and see the hotel as their second home. A good starting point for making guests feel at home.
Safe travel,
Jep Friis Egefjord, GM, Grand Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brunei Darussalam
Level Contributor
28 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2013

I stayed at the Grand Hotel for two nights in March while in Copenhagen on business. The hotel is very conveniently located right next to the railway station and the centre of the city along with its attractions, restaurants and nighlife. The days of being "Grand" are in the past though, the hotel could use a bit of a facelift. That being said the price was quite reasonable for central Copehangen so the value is OK overall. The room was small (single standard room) and a bit stuffy and the room temperatue control was tricky business on cold winter nights. I did not try the breakfast or dinner offerings at the restaurant Frascati so cannot comment on those. Service at the front desk was friendly, courteous and quick.

Overall not my first choice for central Copenhagen accommodation but will do in a pinch.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank haerski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Egefjord, General Manager at Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 16 April 2013
Dear Traveller
Thank you for an honest review and statement of Value for Money which is very important for us when you come to stay in Central Copenhagen. Hope you will try our breakfast next time. Hope you will visit us again - stay in touch for good deals and Value for Money.
Jep Friis Egefjord, GM, Grand Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2013

This hotel is very outdated. The shower head fell off nearly hit my head. Bath the room and bath room are small. Two beds put together as a single bed. Only one good thing is the location. Hotel staff are friendly. In North America standard, it is a one to two star hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SunnyToronto_Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Egefjord, General Manager at Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 20 March 2013
Dear Canadian traveller
After giving credit for friendly staff and perfect location I think it is very harsh to only give rating 1. Of course I understand that the shower head should have been properly fixed after cleaning and I apologize, but the rating should also be compared to price and overall feeling of the hotel. I would like to prove that we are better than rating 1.
All the best,
Jep Friis Egefjord, GM, Grand Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Copenhagen hotels

Level Contributor
79 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2013

The Grand is centrally located just a few minutes away from the central station. It's old fashioned and the rooms are worn and interior outdated. The rooms are clean and the staff is helpfull and service minded. The USP is the location.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CathrineTOslo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Egefjord, General Manager at Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 20 March 2013
Dear Guest
Friendly staff and perfect location. Thank you. We will keep the charming looks but naturally continue to replace outdated furniture. I hope you agree that you received value for money.
br
Jep Friis Egefjord, GM, Grand Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellingborough, UK
Level Contributor
33 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2013

This hotel is in a great location on Vesterbrogade, close to Central station and a stone throw away from Tivoli. This makes it attractive but unfortunately for me its the worse hotel in the ARP Hansen chain. I prefer The Square, The Imperial, 71 Nyhavn, Tivoli and even Copenhagen Island Hotel.
The reason is the rooms. They are too small, have old furniture, small bathrooms and showers and the general decor of the rooms could do with changing.
They are clean and the beds are comfortable it is just the limitation of such an old building.
The positive side for me is that breakfast is included (and a nice breakfast it is).
They have great friendly staff.
The restaurant Frascati is my favorite Italian in Copenhagen and I enjoy eating dinner here. (In fact I would say its one of the best restaurants in the ARP Hansen hotels).
Internet is painfully slow and intermittent (that needs improving) and there is no mini-bar (not that i use them).
So Average Hotel, Great Restaurant, Good Breakfast, Great Location, Tired Rooms.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pcater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Egefjord, General Manager at Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 20 March 2013
Dear UK-traveller
I rellay like your summary in the end. I hope you would also agree that the price is good. And it's very nice to hear you are such a loyal guest with in the Arp-Hansen Hotel Group. I hope you have signed up for our Loyalty Programme so you recieve free nights.
Welcome back to Copenhagen,
Jep Friis Egefjord, GM, Grand Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2013

This was once a very beautiful and luxurious hotel, but is now very dated, and needs some serious investment.
The bathroom was a wet room, but the shower curtain gave little room in which to shower.
The windowsill was rotten and in danger of coming away from the wall. The window frame was also rotten.
The hotel is close to the central station, and hence quite noisy during the night.
The breakfast was good, with plenty of choice to suit all tastes.
The room was quite small.
The restaurant was excellent, with a quality of Italian food rarely found outside Italy.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Egefjord, General Manager at Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 20 March 2013
Dear Chris
Grand Hotel is indeed one of the old charming hotels in Copenhagen. But it seems that you did not recieve a very good room. Our hotel has many different rooms suiting every need of a modern traveller. I would have wished you had told the front desk so we could have found another room.
Safe travel,
Jep Friis Egefjord, GM, Grand Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Copenhagen hotels
Inner Vesterbro
Hotel Astoria
Hotel Astoria
#75 of 116 in Copenhagen
3.0 of 5 bubbles 589 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Copenhagen Plaza Hotel
Copenhagen Plaza Hotel
#47 of 116 in Copenhagen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,044 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Copenhagen Star Hotel
Copenhagen Star Hotel
#67 of 116 in Copenhagen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 959 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner Vesterbro
Scandic Webers
Scandic Webers
#56 of 116 in Copenhagen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 832 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
BEST WESTERN Hotel Hebron
BEST WESTERN Hotel Hebron
#17 of 116 in Copenhagen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 976 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Absalon Hotel
Absalon Hotel
#5 of 116 in Copenhagen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,707 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel

Property: Grand Hotel
Address: Vesterbrogade 9, Copenhagen 1620, Denmark
Region: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Inner Vesterbro , Vesterbro - Kongens Enghave
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #80 of 116 Hotels in Copenhagen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 161
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TravelUp, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Priceline, Southall Travel, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Copenhagen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing