We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, wonderful staff!”
Review of Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Hotel
Ranked #87 of 118 Hotels in Copenhagen
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Spent three nights at Grand Hotel last week. The rooms are small and it is an older hotel but is still very decent. Wonderful location from train, not even two blocks away. We did not have a price that included breakfast unfortunately but found affordable food at area cafes, and the train station.
Staff at desk were very helpful - we had an unfortunate event with taxi taking us to airport. Hotel staff told us what the rate should be and driver ended up telling it was more than 100 krona more. We let the hotel know that via email when we returned home and they looked into it, got back to us and credited us some money via the taxi company. Turns out the driver took us on a "detour". I was very impressed with their response to this - wasn't a lot of money but we were just annoyed with the taxi driver's attitude as well as the fees. He will no longer be used by that hotel. If you want to stay close to Tivoli, train station and shopping, I would recommend the Grand Hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bab234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (991)
There are newer reviews for Grand Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

342 - 348 of 991 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2014

Booked this hotel because of its impressive outer view on the booking website and price (lower than many others in Copenhagen). The hotel is indeed impressive as a monument over old times (built in the late 1800s) and charming like that. That does come at a price, however, and my room had the smallest combined toilet and shower ever seen, the windows were old and not that much isolating from street noise, there was no AC in the room etc. Excellent location, however, and the breakfast was delicious (if nothing special). All in all, good value in a pricey city for those who prefer old and "personal" rooms with a feeling over modern and pristine functionality.

Room Tip: Ask for a room not towards the streets, they are busy well into the night and from early in the morn...
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BjornEHelsinki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

This hotel has a lot going for it in that it has a great location right by Tivoli and the Train Station. The staff were very helpful and pleasant, and the restaurant was good and plentiful. We loved the buffet breakfast with the full pots of hot coffee for the table. I booked this hotel blindly through Hotwire as a 3 star city center hotel. It was a great value but I would not rate this 3 star, even though I rate it as "average" for Tripadvisor, because of the quality of the rooms. The size of our room was fine, but it was decorated in old goodwill or college style and had no air conditioning. We opened the windows to the interior courtyard due to the good weather and found there is a bar with live music and loud people playing till 2 am. Also, at 5 am they apparently emptied the dumpsters so we did not get a good nights sleep. Our friends had a room facing the street and they too complained of having to choose between a hot room or a noisy room. Our bed was comfortable, but the pillows were broken down and the duvet was too heavy so it was all or nothing for covers. My husband and I both struggled with the shower temp being very unpredictable and hard to adjust. An added inconvenience was the long labyrinth we had to walk to get to our room. All things considered I would not book this hotel again and cannot recommend it.

Room Tip: Ask for one with air conditioning? And maybe close to the reception area so you don't have to w...
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank goldgirlmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2014

spent a night in the Grand Hotel Copenhagen and found it to be less than grand. Rooms were tiny and smelt of smoke and not many rooms had any decent views. Location was ok - walking distance to Tivoli and a nice stroll away from the canals. The elevators were a bit dodgy and only fit 3 people (without bags) - so you can wait at times for your turn. Breakfast was great, as was the Italian restaurant down stairs. Wifi connection was decent, but the TV channels cut out every now and then. The hotel does have a long history, but they need to update certain areas of the hotel.

Room Tip: smell it first - terrible smoke smell
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shakaka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014

I made a last minute booking for six nights at the Grand Hotel. I chose it partly on price but mainly because there were very few places with rooms left; consequently, I was a little apprehensive about it before we arrived. As it turned out, it couldn't have been better. The central location is hard to beat, our room (a small double) was comfortable and clean, the staff were friendly, there's free wifi and the very nice breakfast buffet set us up well for the day. I'd recommend it highly and would certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ruth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

A lovely old hotel in the centre of Copenhagen. While it didn't quite live up to it's billing, it wasn't disappointing. The room wasn't as 'spacious' as we were led to believe! If the bathroom door can't fully open because the not quite double bed is in the way that is not a big room. The bathroom itself was also compact. There was no way that we could both be in the bathroom together. The toiletries were nice though. The towels were a bit small, but that is a common failing of hotels.
The room was clean but not particularly well appointed. The lighting was a bit dim and it wasn't easy to find the switches. Luckily for us, it didn't matter much as the room never got very dark. Having said all that; and looking back it seems a bit negative, I would recommend this hotel for a short stay. The staff were friendly and helpful. The breakfast was good but you should make sure that it is included. The location is brilliant. Right next to the main train station and the wonderful attraction of the Tivoli Gardens.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DMPridham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

One could not ask for a better location. one block from central station and Tivoli. A short walk to the main shopping areas and the Amielienborg Palaces. May be warm in the summer since it is not airconditioned.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Steve32480
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Copenhagen hotels
Inner Vesterbro
Hotel Astoria
Hotel Astoria
#88 of 118 in Copenhagen
638 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Copenhagen Plaza Hotel
Copenhagen Plaza Hotel
#44 of 118 in Copenhagen
1,152 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Copenhagen Star Hotel
Copenhagen Star Hotel
#68 of 118 in Copenhagen
1,034 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner Vesterbro
Scandic Webers
Scandic Webers
#70 of 118 in Copenhagen
971 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Hotel Ansgar
Hotel Ansgar
#50 of 118 in Copenhagen
785 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Copenhagen Mercur Hotel
Copenhagen Mercur Hotel
#57 of 118 in Copenhagen
945 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel

Address: Vesterbrogade 9, Copenhagen 1620, Denmark
Region: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Inner Vesterbro , Vesterbro - Kongens Enghave
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #87 of 118 Hotels in Copenhagen
Price Range: £98 - £224 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 161
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Copenhagen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing