We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Location”
Review of Hotel Opera

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Opera
Ranked #67 of 116 Hotels in Copenhagen
Ocean Grove, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Awesome Location”
Reviewed 4 July 2013

The Hotel Opera is in an awesome location and Copenhagen is a very easy city to get around from here. The rooms are small (as a lot of European rooms) with old style furniture and the floor leans to one direction, this aside the bed was comfortable and the room was clean. It was very quite at night I only heard people moving around once and there was no street noise from my room 319. I had an enjoyable stay in Copenhagen. I booked this hotel as a secret hotel on a site and it was 40% off I don't think it is worth its advertised price.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lily_2486
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rie_Booking, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Opera, responded to this review, 2 August 2013
Thank you for your response! We hope to welcome you back at Hotel Opera in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

538 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    67
    229
    175
    44
    23
See reviews for
64
210
41
118
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Klippan, Skåne Län, Sweden
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 July 2013

The hotel is perfectly located close to the Metro and city centre with walking distance to everything. If you want to walk to the central station you have a 2 km walk, but if you use the metro you have a 2 minute walk instead. The standard rooms are small but cosy, a small warning for old people is in place since both room I have used had a very low hanging toilet.

The breakfast is ok, but misses bacon and scramled eggs, there is though fresh fruit and everything else. A bonus is that there is a good free wifi in the whole internet and the service in the reception is first class.

The madrasses in the king size bed (140cm) is not perfect for 2 persons since they are very soft, and sometimes feels like a waterbed :)

A warning for the parking, since you have to park on the street and it costs 15-30DKK per hour it can be rather expensive.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rie_Booking, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Opera, responded to this review, 5 July 2013
Thank you for your review! We will look into the issues stated in the review. We hope to welcome you back in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2013

A very central location and yet very quiet. The staff were very helpful and friendly from start to finish and spoke excellent English. This is an old style hotel but full of charm. A key opens the door, there is a piano in the lounge and coffee and tea is on tap late morning and mid afternoon as well as ice water. Around the corner is NyHavn, The walking street, Magasin, The Kings square and the Metro, Hvids Hvinstue, The Canal rides, Horse and carriages, and miles and miles of restaurants. The room was clean with loads of fresh towels and bedding. No shortage of hot water either. Our room was care worn but cosy with a TV, telephone, shampoo's and body lotion. There is a computer in reception. Drinks are served in the comfortable reception area until late. we would give five stars to the helpful staff and the brilliant location. when in copenhagen we would book this hotel again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grahamal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rie_Booking, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Opera, responded to this review, 5 July 2013
Thank you very much for you review! We are happy you enjoyed your stay! We hope to welcome you back in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2013

Stayed two nights in a single room and had upgraded the room as suggested by several reviewers. The room was on level 5 under the roof. The roof line made access to a window awkward but not impossible. Two more windows were readily accessible in another part of the room. Access to the room is with the lift to level 4 then stairs to level 5. If stairs are a problem, mention it when making your reservation.
Positive:
- very convenient location in quiet area,
- comfortable beds,
- adequately sized and functional bathroom,
- good breakfast buffet and service,
- windows and fresh air,
- reliable and fast wi-fi.
Not so positive (opportunities!):
- strong musty smell in stairs between levels 4 and 5,
- no tea/coffee making facility (why couldn't guests make their own with the machine in Reception area?).

Room Tip: If stairs are a problem, avoid rooms on level 5. The lift stops at level 4, then there is a corridor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lausanne-Geles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rie_Booking, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Opera, responded to this review, 25 June 2013
Thank you for your review! we will look into the matters stated in your review. We hope to welcome you back at Hotel Opera in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2013

The room was incredibly small, so that a grown man would have trouble moving around in the room. Furthermore, the closet was broken and its door didn't close properly, which made it difficult to enter the 1m^2-sized bathroom that was located just behind. The bathroom was lacking any hygiene standards, it was dirty and there was neither a window, nor ventillation to it. The out-dated interior reminded me very much of the communist style of the 50s.
When I dared complain about those circumstances, I wasn't offered any assistance by the staff and changing the room was impossible. I WOULD ADVISE ANYBODY TO STAY FAR AWAY FROM THIS HOTEL BECAUSE IT'S DEFINITELY NO VALUE FOR YOUR MONEY!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hani F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rie_Booking, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Opera, responded to this review, 25 June 2013
Thank you very much for your review!
We are sorry to read about you experience and we will look in to the matters stated in your review at once! We apologize for any inconvenience this must have had for you! We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Copenhagen hotels

SoCal
Level Contributor
55 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2013

We spent four nights here after a cruise and loved it. Every member of the staff was helpful, professional and friendly. The hotel really offered a sense of history from back in the days when classy hotels didn't have to offer rooms the size of a palace. Quiet elegance in a small package.

Location: on a quiet street behind the Opera house, no traffic. Conveniently located within an easy walk to the Metro, Nyhaven, and even Christianborg Palace, Rosenborg Palace, and the beautiful botanical gardens.

The hotel is clean and beautiful, the rooms cozy and bright, and the breakfast delicious. It clearly enjoys an excellent reputation - on our last night (Friday) it was completely full!
Loved it.

Room Tip: The rooms are "cozy" - if you travel with a LOT of luggage you might mention this to the s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BGrossSoCal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rie_Booking, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Opera, responded to this review, 18 June 2013
Thank you for your review! We are happy that you stated our best sides, location and price! :-)

We hope to welcome you back at Hotel Opera in the Future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 May 2013

We stayed here for two nights prior to a cruise. The location is just 5 min from the metro. The staff were very friendly and accommodating. The included breakfast was worth the price. The room was a bit small but certainly ample for two with lots of luggage. We would stay here again and would recommend to others. In an expensive city, this was good value.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank drsped92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rie_Booking, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Opera, responded to this review, 18 June 2013
Thank you for your review! We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us! We hope to welcome you back at Hotel Opera in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Copenhagen hotels
Indre By (Inner City)
Copenhagen Strand
Copenhagen Strand
#31 of 116 in Copenhagen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,381 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Hotel Maritime
Hotel Maritime
#65 of 116 in Copenhagen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 527 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Best Western Plus Hotel City Copenhagen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Indre By (Inner City)
71 Nyhavn Hotel
71 Nyhavn Hotel
#2 of 116 in Copenhagen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Scandic Front
Scandic Front
#36 of 116 in Copenhagen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 866 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Hotel Skt. Annae
Hotel Skt. Annae
#49 of 116 in Copenhagen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Opera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Opera

Property: Hotel Opera
Address: Tordenskjoldsgade 15, Copenhagen 1055, Denmark
Region: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Indre By (Inner City)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #67 of 116 Hotels in Copenhagen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Opera 3*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Opera - A charming English inspired hotel. Among the linden trees on a peaceful side street to Kongens Nytorv lies the 3 star Hotel Opera whose neighbors include the Royal Theatre and the vibrant Nyhavn. Hotel Opera is just a 2-minute walk from buses, the metro and all the shopping possibilities on the pedestrian street, Strøget. The hotel's 91 stylish rooms are individually and classically decorated. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Opera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Opera Hotel Copenhagen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing