We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant overnight stay”
Review of Hotel Christian IV

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Christian IV
Ranked #25 of 117 Hotels in Copenhagen
Dorset
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Pleasant overnight stay”
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Have recently returned from a one night stay at the Hotel Christian IV after disembarking from a cruise.
Had no problems in "dropping" off our luggage around 9 a.m. which was stored for us whilst we went out exploring Copenhagen.
As stated in previous reviews, the hotel is in an ideal position, making it easy to walk to various sightseeing areas.
Our room was on the 4th floor facing the street, which was no problem and very quiet in the evening. It was a very good size and clean.
The breakfast was very good, with the usual cold cuts, cheese, yogurts, cereal, bread, pastries, Teas, Coffee, juice etc. There was a continuous supply of complimentary Tea and Coffee with Danish pastries and biscuits throughout the day which we found to be extremely useful after touring. Another additional perk, which some "higher Starred" hotels charge for was the free Wifi, available throughout the hotel.
The staff are extremely friendly and knowledgeable about Copenhagen - recommending various restaurants, cafés to us which we found were very good.
Check out is at 11 a.m. and even tho we were only leaving for the airport by 4, there was no problem yet again to store our luggage whilst we went out yet again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dorsethill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristianIV, Direktør at Hotel Christian IV, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Dear Dorsethill,
It was great to have you as our guest at Hotel Christian IV. I am glad to read that you enjoyed the breakfast and the subsequent complimentary coffee & tea buffet, that we have found is popular with guests.
Our receptionists carry much valuable information about the city. How clever of you to ask for good advice about restaurants and cafes worth visiting – they are definitely the right people to ask.
If your travels bring you back to Copenhagen. We would be delighted to have you as our guest again.

All the best,
Kasper Jorgensen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

577 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    136
    292
    111
    33
    5
See reviews for
112
271
29
80
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014

Recently stayed 2 nights at this hotel. While in terms of decor it is not the most modern, this is compensated by the very friendly staff. It is not too big, giving it it a homely atmosphere. We had a room facing the back which was comfortable and quiet. Nice touch are the complementary bottles of water. The Christian IV is within walking distance if the city centre and shopping area, and very close the Rosenborg Palace, which is well worth a visit!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HonestReview_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristianIV, Direktør at Hotel Christian IV, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Dear HonestReview_9,
Thank you very much for staying with us and thank you for sharing your experience at Hotel Christian IV. We try to create a home-away-from-home atmosphere, and I am pleased to read that you felt it while here. Our décor is for the most part classical. However, we attempt to offer all the facilities the modern traveler expects. Copenhagen is a city ideal for walking and it sounds like you were able to find some of the great spots by foot – awesome!
We hope to be able to welcome you back soon again.
Sincerely,
Kasper Jorgensen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marietta, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014

A friend and I stayed one night before our cruise. Really nice little hotel with a very friendly and helpful staff. The breakfast was very good, saved time, we didn't have to go out looking for a breakfast spot. Within walking distance of Rosenborg Castle. Highly recommend.

Room Tip: We were on the 4th floor, no street noise at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mytravels70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristianIV, Direktør at Hotel Christian IV, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
Dear Mytravels70,

First of all thank for staying with us. I also want to thank you for taking your time to share your your experience at Hotel Christian IV.
We love the summertime when the cruise ships start floating in to Copenhagen. It brings a lot of life at the hotel. The lobby and reception area is swarming with life and great stories.
We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us prior to your cruise. We hope you have a fantastic experience at sea.
Sincerely,
Kasper Jorgensen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2014

We stayed their one night and outside of elevator being too small and a little remote location (from metro), we liked it. Comfy bed, very good breakfast and nice staff. I don't if we will come back, just because it's not very central and overall impression was very positive.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lana094
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bluesloe
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014

Can't say fairer than that for the price. Comfy beds and very soft pillows. I've been in better showers but that's a small gripe compared to the overall experience. The breakfast was excellent and drinks plus biscuits/pastries were on constant tap in the dining area. No issues with noise.
The staff were uniformly friendly and actively sought out ways to help improve our stay. It's a few minutes from the underground over a good number of cobbles so if I were going again I'd take a (relatively cheap) taxi from the airport which is about a twenty minute drive and provides a view of The Bridge.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bluesloe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristianIV, Direktør at Hotel Christian IV, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Dear bluesloe,
Thank you very much for sharing your experience at Hotel Christian IV. I am very pleased to hear that you found our hotel good value for money. We strive to deliver a product that is within reach for most people while in (expensive) Copenhagen. We are always happy to read positive comments on our breakfast and our extra amenities. It brings much pleasure to hear that our staff actively sought out ways to help you.
We hope to see you at Hotel Christian IV soon again.
Sincerely,
Kasper Linnet Jorgensen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
99 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Very well sited hotel in a quiet area of Copenhagen, very close to all tourist and city amenities. Very friendly and professional staff. Breakfast was plentiful with cereal, yogurt, ham cheese, bread, Danish pastries. More variety than a normal continental breakfast, coffee and pastries are also available all day until late afternoon. Park just at the end of the road and if like us you have wall to wall sunshine the Danish take every opportunity to be outside. The nyvern canal is a must to visit with its vibrant atmosphere and numerous restaurants. Take a canal boat trip and you will get a different perspective of Copenhagen. We had a Copenhagen card which we just broke even with, however it was very convenient and allowed us free entry to a high number of transport and tourist sites, museums etc.

The only thing to bear in mind is that the cost of living is very high an evening meal for two was £100 to £150, with limited drink.

Room Tip: Our room was at the back, however road is quiet so would not be an issue to be at the front
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Slimjim05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristianIV, Direktør at Hotel Christian IV, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Dear Slimjim05,
Thank your for your honest review of Hotels Christian IV and Copenhagen in general. I am pleased to read your positive remarks about our hotel. It joys me especially to read that we were able to meet all your needs during your stay. Your description of the area surrounding the hotel is spot on. I agree that the Copenhagen Card is convenient way to see most of what Copenhagen has to offer. Stay tuned for our guide to Copenhagen – it will posted on our website soon. It will offer advice on some of the spots that may not been known by all tourists, but which have gained popularity with the local population. You may even have visited some of these places while you were here.
Once again thank you for sharing your experience with the Tripadvisor community.
Sincerely,
Kasper Linnet Jorgensen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zumaia, Spain
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014

For a short stay in a simple hotel, this place has all you need and is clean, friendly, comfy and with a great breakfast. I found it a bit expensive, but then again I am not used to the prices in Denmark, which I think are anything but low.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ambulanzen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristianIV, Direktør at Hotel Christian IV, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Dear ambulanzen
Thank you for sharing your experience in Copenhagen. We are happy to hear that you consider Hotel Christian IV a nice hotel with a very good breakfast. This is the essence of what we strive to be. The general price level in Denmark unfortunately is a bit higher than most other places in the world. This makes it expensive for tourists that enjoy a lower price level in their home countries. We hope, however, that your experiences in Copenhagen were worth the money. Maybe you were able to find many of the free and inexpensive attractions that Copenhagen also has to offer.
Sincerely,
Kasper Linnet Jørgensen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Copenhagen hotels
Indre By (Inner City)
Best Western Plus Hotel City Copenhagen
Indre By (Inner City)
Ibsens Hotel
Ibsens Hotel
#19 of 117 in Copenhagen
1,014 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Copenhagen Strand
Copenhagen Strand
#27 of 117 in Copenhagen
1,438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Indre By (Inner City)
Scandic Palace Hotel
Scandic Palace Hotel
#21 of 117 in Copenhagen
2,155 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Scandic Front
Scandic Front
#36 of 117 in Copenhagen
950 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Savoy Hotel
Savoy Hotel
#23 of 117 in Copenhagen
914 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Christian IV? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Christian IV

Property: Hotel Christian IV
Address: Dronningens Tvaergade 45, Copenhagen 1302, Denmark
Phone Number:
Region: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Indre By (Inner City)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Best Value Hotel in Copenhagen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Christian IV 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cozy hotel in the heart of Copenhagen. If location and a quiet nights sleep is important to you, you have found the right place. Hotel Christian IV is in close proximity to most all major cultural sights in Copenhagen. Only a 5 min walk from "Nyhavn's" many restaurants and "Stroeget's" great shopping. The cultural sights "Rosenborg Castle" and "Amalienborg Castle" is less than 10 min away on foot.The hotel is quietly located few steps away from the lush green park - "the Kings Garden." The hotel has 42 well equipped rooms with modern Scandinavian decor. Enjoy Free Wifi, Free Coffee, tea and biscuits throughout the day and personal service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, LateRooms, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Christian IV reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Christian Iv Hotel
Christian Iv Copenhagen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing