We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Decent” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Scandic Front

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Scandic Front
Ranked #44 of 114 Hotels in Copenhagen
Williamsburg, VA
Level Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Decent”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

I stayed at this hotel for 3 nights while on a business/pleasure trip. The room was European Boutique in size and offerings. It seemed to need some renovation/replacement of the carpets in the guest rooms and public spaces. The staff was adequate. It was extremely noisy. The trash trucks came about 5:30am each morning and then it seemed that went on for at least an hour. Then there is construction outside, equally noisy and starts early. Location is good for easy access to everything and within walking distance to all restaurants, shopping and attractions. If you're an early riser and looking for a economic home base for your accommodations, this will be a suitable hotel for you.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SavvyHotelChic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linehs, Reservation Manager at Scandic Front, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback. We are delighted that you like the location and we do agree, the area is fantastic. You are absolutely right that some of the rooms need refurbishment, which will take place shortly. The construction work, which is publised on our website, is unfortunately out of our hands, but we are thrilled that we will have the best, recreative area in Copenhagen when it's finished.
Welcome back.
Best regards
The management team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

813 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    153
    305
    202
    107
    46
See reviews for
159
285
27
219
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

I can't really fault this hotel - the room was very big, comfortable and clean. A nice view up towards the palace and even a bit of the harbour as well (although that will disappear once the carpark/fake beach are built).

The breakfast was excellent, pastries, bacon and pancakes. Excellent stuff.

In a good location, a short walk from Nyhavn and City Centre or the trendier restaurants past the palace.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KendoSteel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linehs, Reservation Manager at Scandic Front, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Thanks for your very positive comments, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Hopefully we'll have the pleasure in welcoming you back in the future

best regards
The management team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

The ONLY thing this hotel has going is its location. It is in disrepair, there are marks on every wall, plaster is falling down in the bathroom and lighting is practically non-existent. Our rooms were not ready by check-in time and we had to wait almost an hour. The second day we returned to the hotel at 3:30 p.m. and the housekeeper was still cleaning our room. There is no porter to help with bags and the tiny elevators hold no more than 2 people with luggage. It was not a pleasant experience.

Room Tip: If somebody puts a gun to your head and says you must stay here or die, try to stay on the top floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lynn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linehs, Reservation Manager at Scandic Front, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Dear reader
This must be the worsr review ever and of course we are sad that the guests had such a bad experience with us. It's important to point out though, that this review doesn't describe the general condition of the hotel. We do agree that some of rooms need an update, but this will be done shortly.
Hopefully nobody would prefer to die rather than stay with us and hopefully a lot of guests still dare to take the chance.

Best regards
Tha management team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Copenhagen hotels

st. john's
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

Good location (near Nyhaven, Shopping, Waterfront, etc.) but needs renovations. Breakfast was amazing - lot's of variety. Free Internet but not without issues. Staff are friendly and speaks good English. Ensure your room door is closed well - we got robbed 6:30am. No Joke.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SShine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linehs, Reservation Manager at Scandic Front, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
First of all we are very sad that you got robbed - it has seriously never happened before, but as far as we know it was taken care of during your stay.
We are delighted that you liked the location, the breakfast and our staff, however we do agree that some of our rooms need refurbishment, which will be done shortly.

Best regards
The management team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

Been in this hotel for 3 times now courtesy my work at Maersk headquarters. Very well located. Near to Nyhavn, Kongs Nytorv, Palace and Esplanaden. It's right next to waterfront. Very courteous and amiable staff. Would always love to come back here :-)

Room Tip: The Higher the Better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Abhinav5926
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linehs, Reservation Manager at Scandic Front, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Fantastic that you like the staff - we couldn't agree more, they are doing great.
We are delighted that you are taking your time to provide feedback and are looking forward to welcoming you in the future.

Best regards
The management team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

Nice hotel near the embassies and the palace. If you are not a heavy sleeper, you may want to reconsider, as the street noise is very audible in the rooms (I was on the 3rd floor). The breakfast was fantastic.

Room Tip: Avoid street-facing rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlene M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linehs, Reservation Manager at Scandic Front, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Thanks for your comments, they are highly appreciated. We are delighted that you liked the location an the breakfast, but of course it's critical that you didn't sleep well. Staying in the middle of a capitol might not be a quiet experience, however we will take this point further.

Best regards
The management team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

At the moment, June 2014, the outside of the hotel is a major building site, as it was a year ago, while a new Metro station is installed, but the location at the top of Nyhavn and right by the stunning new Skuespilhuset (Royal Danish Playhouse) makes the hotel otherwise a pretty perfect base.

If you take a king room on the top floor you wont be disappointed with a balcony, a split-level room with the bed and bathroom on a mezzanine above a nicely furnished lounge.

Danish Velorbis Dutch-style bikes for hire were a nice touch (don't rent a car - use a bike).

Helpful staff, good restaurant (but you'll want to go out to dinner) and an excellent buffet breakfast.

Pointless discussing price. Yes, Scandinavia is pricey because taxes are high because the people value world-class public services and an attitude to society that serves the many and not the few and are prepared to pay for it through taxation. A better way to live.

We'll be back. Next month, actually.

Room Tip: Take a King room on the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank youfearchange
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linehs, Reservation Manager at Scandic Front, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Thank you so much for your positive feedback, it's highly appreciated. We couldn't agree more - the location is amazing, but we are looking forward to having the best, recreative area in town, when the construction work ends.

We are looking foreward to welcoming you back at Scandic Front

Best regards
The management team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Copenhagen hotels
Indre By (Inner City)
71 Nyhavn Hotel
71 Nyhavn Hotel
#5 of 114 in Copenhagen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Hotel Skt. Annae
Hotel Skt. Annae
#45 of 114 in Copenhagen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,320 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Copenhagen Strand
Copenhagen Strand
#32 of 114 in Copenhagen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Indre By (Inner City)
Phoenix Copenhagen
Phoenix Copenhagen
#42 of 114 in Copenhagen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,156 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Copenhagen Admiral Hotel
Copenhagen Admiral Hotel
#23 of 114 in Copenhagen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,701 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
BEST WESTERN Hotel City
BEST WESTERN Hotel City
#18 of 114 in Copenhagen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Front? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Front

Property: Scandic Front
Address: Skt. Annae Plads 21, Copenhagen 1250, Denmark
Region: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Indre By (Inner City)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Luxury Hotel in Copenhagen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Scandic Front 4*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Scandic Front hotel is set opposite Copenhagen's contemporary Opera House and has a Danish design, mixing luxury with comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, TravelUp and Agoda so you can book your Scandic Front reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scandic Front Copenhagen
Scandic Front Hotel Copenhagen
Front Hotel Copenhagen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing