We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“excellent” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Danmark

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Danmark
Ranked #81 of 114 Hotels in Copenhagen
dronfield
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed here Saturday to Tuesday, there were 4 of us, the staff were friendly and helpful, looking queries up on the internet for us regarding sight seeing with no hassle at all. The breakfast was excellent great choice and freshness. Although the carpet on the stairs are tired, the rooms were spotless if a little tired and basic, but they did the job and it was only our base we weren't there to sit all day in the room! Would definitely recommend to anyone visiting.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Jennifer B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pardis K, Gæsteansvarlig at Hotel Danmark, responded to this review, 30 March 2014
Dear Jennifer B,

thank you very much for your review and I am so pleased to see that you enjoyed our Little cosy hotel.

We are actually in the process of changing the carpets in the hallways. But we want it to look perfect so it might take a little while to find the right carpets :)

Instead of sending you 10 min away to the tourist information we want to assist you as much as we can within the hotel. This makes it less complicated to be a tourist and not knowing much about a new city :)

I hope to see you soon again.

Kind regards
Pardis K
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

570 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    49
    186
    188
    78
    69
See reviews for
88
247
38
82
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014

Excellent hotel in nice part of Copenhagen a mere 10 minutes walk to central train station, very close to Tivoli Gardens and very easy access to shopping district.
Superb breakfasts (so much choice) excellent coffee, all staff were super friendly and very helpful- as I always need advice with directions.
Room was clean, plenty of clean towels, basic but just what I needed. Only one lift to all floors but most days took stairs (room on 4th floor- since was 4 days away and no gym classes!!) Check out 11am but of you want to stay later, till 3pm you can pay for later check out. Check in times 2pm which was not great as go there about 11am, but they kept my case whilst I went for a wander and a bite to eat. My room was at back of hotel- super quiet at night

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JoannaKing69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pardis K, Gæsteansvarlig at Hotel Danmark, responded to this review, 30 March 2014
Dear JoannaKing69,

thank you very much for your review and for staying with us.
I am glad that you enjoyed your time with us.

We try our best to offer our guests a homey feeling and I hope you could feel this too,
Check in starts at 2PM as all guests can check out untill 11AM.

Depending on availability, we do offer earlier check in, free of charge of course.
But you can always use our luggage service free of charge, 24 hours a day as a guest in the hotel.

Hope to see you soon again.

Kind regards

Pardis K
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ardrossan
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2014

Booked this hotel last minute and got a good deal for 3 nights.Hotel was only 10 minutes from central station in the better part of copenhagen,other side rather seedy and grim.Lift[1 off] was small as was breakfast area but as it was not busy was not a problem at this time of year.Asked for room facing street upper floor, thats what we got 6th floor, great view over copenhagen.Room decor and furniture a bit tired and could may do with more attention to cleanliness but as we were out all day it was some where to get your head down.Staff where very good friendly and helpful,breakfast was great, coffee to go at front door was a nice touch. If you plan a trip to copenhagen[very expensive] this hotel is in a great location with most of the sights within walking distance.

Room Tip: We picked a street facing room great views,city hall clock chimes every quarter but room on 6th floo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank martinggracey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pardis K, Gæsteansvarlig at Hotel Danmark, responded to this review, 30 March 2014
Dear Martinggracey,

thank you for your review and for staying with us.

I am happy that you enjoyed our breakfast and free coffee to go untill 11 AM.

Did you try our Free Wine Hour from 17:00-18:00 in our cosy bar?

We all hope to see you soon again.

Kind Regards

Pardis K
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014

The hotel is a 10 minute walk away from the Central station. Conveniently located in Central Copenhagen with easy access to shopping districts and all tourist sights.

The room itself is basic which can do with a bit of a 'touch up' but overall, clean and cosy. The bathroom was clean.
There is only one lift to all floors and this is the old style lift with a double door entrance so be prepared to wait for that lift...
Check in times are later than most too i.e. after 2pm.

If you are a light sleeper, request for a room at the back of the hotel. The front of the hotel backs onto a main street and two doors down is a night club (noisy clubbers).

Room Tip: The front of the hotel backs onto a main street which can get noisy. Request for a room round the ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank icequeenling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pardis K, Gæsteansvarlig at Hotel Danmark, responded to this review, 30 March 2014
Dear icequeenling,

thank you for your review and for staying with us.

Hotel Danmark is in the middle of the City of Copenhagen and therefore the streets around us is vibrant and busy. But we also offer rooms at the back site depending on availability.

I hope you enjoyed being so close to all shops, sights and townhall. This is great value as you save so much time and money on traffic and transportation.

I hope to see you soon again at Hotel Danmark.

Kind regards

Pardis K
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dhaka City, Bangladesh
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2014

I stayed in Hotel Danmark during my recent (and first ever) trip to Denmark and it's been a very pleasant experience for me. This centrally located hotel with cozy lounge/breakfast hall has a great team of friendly staff. Sipping coffee one can enjoy the great view of the city.

Rooms are rustic in design and arrangement but clean and adequately heated.

I strongly recommend it for anyone who does not want to spend a fortune on hotels yet particular with few essential parameters.

Room Tip: Just write/talk to the General Manager.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YAMEEN F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pardis K, Gæsteansvarlig at Hotel Danmark, responded to this review, 1 March 2014
Dear jh6056,

Thank you for your review and thank you for staying with us.
We do appreciate your nice comments about our hotel.

I am happy to see you enjoyed your stay, and we do our best to make every trip pleasurable.

Do contact me on paka@brochner-hotels.dk if you choose to stay with us another time, and I will do my best to accomodate you with a suitable room for you.

Have a wonderful day.

Kind regards
Pardis K
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2014

This hotel is awful!! We thought we would risk it for a cheap city break but the hotel is dirty and the staff are rude! Don't be fooled by the photos on the website - the lobby area has been refurbished but the rooms are dirty! We had to complain and move rooms as we had a room that was the size of a rubbish hutch!! The beds are stained, the carpet was grubby and the bathrooms are falling apart! The hotel staff are rude and tried to charge us for and "upgrade" the minute we arrived. The location is good but the hotel is not worth staying in!!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Philly123456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pardis K, Gæsteansvarlig at Hotel Danmark, responded to this review, 1 March 2014
Dear Philly123456,

I am very sorry for the bad experience you had in our hotel.
We usually do not have issues with dirty rooms, but you are right.
Our carpets on the hallway are a bit stained from the materials used by housekeeping.
These are being changed within a couple of months, so we are aware of the issue.

Our receptionist just wanted to service you with in upgrade, but this is only in case that guests think their rooms are too small. It is optional and we do not force this upon anyone. And as you thought your room was too small, this might have been a good choice for you.

I am sorry you did not like our small cosy hotel.
Maybe you find something more suitable for you on your next trip to Copenhagen.

Have a wonderful day.

Kind Regards
Pardis K
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Copenhagen hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
UK
Level Contributor
486 reviews
109 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 290 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2014

I booked originally a budget double on hotels.com with a discount code, upon checking in, I was offered a room upgrade and compared the significant improvement in the bathroom and views of the city. Breakfast was really very good, but the rooms were a little old and worn. You can hear sounds through he wall, but overall a pleasant and quiet stay. Our room had an extremely bad looking carpet flooring. Staff was extremely pleasant and the hotel has a very central location and Good prices for the city.

Room Tip: Top floors to command the best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jh6056
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pardis K, Gæsteansvarlig at Hotel Danmark, responded to this review, 30 March 2014
Dear jh6056,

Thank you for your review and for staying with us.

Everyday we are doing our best to improve the hotel and our level of service.

Even though some areas of the hotel look a Little old fashioned, we also feel that this adds a lot of charm and cosiness to the hotel atmosphere. I hope that you could feel this aswell.

Hope to see you soon again.

Kind regards
Pardis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Copenhagen hotels
Indre By (Inner City)
First Hotel Twentyseven
First Hotel Twentyseven
#50 of 114 in Copenhagen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,980 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Scandic Palace Hotel
Scandic Palace Hotel
#19 of 114 in Copenhagen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,931 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
First Hotel Kong Frederik
First Hotel Kong Frederik
#63 of 114 in Copenhagen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 836 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Indre By (Inner City)
The Square Copenhagen
The Square Copenhagen
#33 of 114 in Copenhagen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,281 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Hotel Alexandra
Hotel Alexandra
#8 of 114 in Copenhagen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,218 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Copenhagen Plaza Hotel
Copenhagen Plaza Hotel
#47 of 114 in Copenhagen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,027 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Danmark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Danmark

Property: Hotel Danmark
Address: Vester Voldgade 89, Copenhagen 1552, Denmark
Region: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Indre By (Inner City)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#34 Luxury Hotel in Copenhagen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Danmark 4*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
OPENING APRIL 2017 - HOTEL DANMARK A NEW LUXURY BOUTIQUE HOTEL IN COPENHAGEN In the middle of central Copenhagen, Hotel Danmark will reopen in april 2017 as a completely new reimagined upscale luxury boutique hotel. The new Hotel Danmark will offer 88 exclusive rooms, rooftop terrace with city view and bar, urban vineyard garden, conference facilities and a conceptual excelling restaurant. The boutique hotel chain, Brøchner Hotels, will take this existing hotel building and reinvent it into an upscale luxury hotel. The former hotel closed down in October 2016 and is currently being rebuildt into the new luxury boutique hotel. Placed in the old museum quarter between the City Hall Square and The National Museum, Hotel Danmark offers a prime location only 127 steps to Tivoli Gardens and right next to the main shopping street Strøget. The design of the new Hotel Danmark will reinterpret classical elements in new innovative ways. Extravagant features reimagine the lobby into a vibrant area with an urban vineyard garden inside the hotel and spacious social areas and chambers. The rooftop terrace will be a sky-high urban spot for the guests with the best city view and a vibrant bar. The interior offers unique design elements in terms of clothing surfaces where the walls resemble soft velvet and ceramic tiles are creatively integrated into the building. FACTS: • 4+ star boutique hotel • 88 deluxe rooms • Luxury suites • In-house a la carte restaurant • 1 bar • Rooftop terrace • Conference facilities for up to 20 pers. • Vineyard garden • Daily complimentary Wine Hour • Complimentary high speed Wifi ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotel.de, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Ebookers and HRS so you can book your Hotel Danmark reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Danmark Hotel Copenhagen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing