We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Inexpensive, convenient, spartan”
Review of Hotel Astoria

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Astoria
Ranked #79 of 116 Hotels in Copenhagen
Peterborough, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Inexpensive, convenient, spartan”
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Pro:
1) Staff are unfailingly friendly and helpful.
2) Minutes from downtown.
3) Seconds from the train station.
4) Very cheap.
5) The hotel dates from the mid 1930s and was designed to look like a locomotive. Stairwells, hallways and the curved revolving door are swank. Public areas are well kept up.
6) Free glass of wine at 5pm is a welcome refreshment after a day of walking about.

So-so:
1) While the hotel guests were quiet, the neighborhood is noisy, amplified by the fact that we visited during the Distortion music festival (June 4-8). It did not bother us, but if you are looking for a quiet, out-of-the-way place, best keep looking.
2) Breakfast could be improved, especially as the Radisson Blu is about a couple minute's walk way, and they have a much better offering for just a bit more.
3) To lock the door to your room you have to use your key. This is also the case when you are in your room - you lock it with your key from the inside, and leave the key in the door. Otherwise the door is unlocked - the opposite from what one usually expects. Just get in the habit of checking the door, and it is alright.

Con: A spartan room is acceptable, especially at the low price, but mildew on the ceiling and stained carpets are not. I don't mean that the cleaning staff are at fault; it is a matter of putting in new carpets and painting the place. This would go a long way to improving the Astoria experience, and it would not cost much.

Room Tip: Ask for a suite; it is one room, but spacious.A suite may not cost much more than one of the smaller...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steven R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nadia W, Receptionist at Hotel Astoria, responded to this review, 21 June 2014
Dear CPRail,

Thank you for the review at staying with us.

I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay.
Our breakfast is organic in 92% and high quality of products requires higher price. We want to keep Astoria's design and all doors to the rooms are kept from 30ies. However, we are going to renew the hotel to improve the interior and make our rooms cozy and more comfortable.

I hope you will choose Hotel Astoria again in the future.

Best wishes,

Nadia Wilk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

611 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    60
    167
    185
    106
    93
See reviews for
81
231
71
123
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Voorburg, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

The single room in this hotel was the smallest and most depressing I ever had. It felt like I stayed for three nights in an L shaped cupboard. Too small for human habitation, better suited to be a broom cupboard.
Very bare and unpleasant. Most people complained about the pillows, lumpy thing things that seemed to be very old.
The only nice things about this hotel were the very nice staff at reception and the possibility to rent a bike.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elleke d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nadia W, Receptionist at Hotel Astoria, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Dear elleke d,

Thank you for your review.

I am sorry the you had an unpleasant stay with us.
Our single rooms have space enough for one person. However, we do have bigger rooms in five different categories. We are going to renew the hotel soon and we do have plans to replace the old pillows with a new-ones so I hope you will visit us again and get a better experience than this time.

Best wishes

Nadia Wilk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Copenhagen hotels

Paisley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

The hotel is next to central station so excellent for transportation and getting to see sights easily.you walk out of train station and on doorstep of hotel. When arrived a light broken in room but fixed next day before even brought it up with hotel staff. the broken toilet seat remained for entire visit though. No real security or check on who is coming and going. Our room got broken into and had joy of waking up and disturbing them stealing wallet! Staff really helpful, pity no working cctv!! With its location next to station a prime target.

Helpful?
2 Thank amobbz
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Nadia W, Receptionist at Hotel Astoria, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Dear amobbz

Thank you for your review and staying with us.

We are aware of the issues Hotel Astoria has and we are on it. During summer this year, are we going to renew the hotel. Better selection of tv channels will be available soon.

I hope you will visit us again in the future.

Best wishes,

Nadia Wilk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
117 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

I see a lot of people feel the place needs some TLC. While the lift was certainly an experience (very small, you can fit maybe 2 people in), I found both the room and bathroom very clean and reasonably spacious.

I went for two days on business and it was ideally located for reaching the office as well as meandering around in the evening. It's a short walk from the famed Tivoli Gardens and there are plenty of restaurants, shops, and bars nearby. Breakfast was included and was very nice so can't complain there!

I think it's perfect for stop-overs for business and a great location for being in the centre of the action.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank theculinaryexplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nadia W, Receptionist at Hotel Astoria, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Dear theculinaryexplorer,

Thank you for staying with us and for the review.

I am glad that you enjoyed your stay. We are going to renew the hotel after summer time so I hope you will visit us again to experience the changes.

Best wishes,

Nadia Wilk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
49 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2014

This hotel is in a prime location being just steps from Copenhagen Central station. The rooms were clean but super basic. It is also, because of the location, not terribly cheap. The rooms are run down, dark and noisy from the street. Hopefully now that they're under new ownership as of a few months ago it will undergo some much need renovations.

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Suitcaseismycloset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nadia W, Receptionist at Hotel Astoria, responded to this review, 18 May 2014
Dear Suitcaseismycloset,

Thank you for staing with us and for the review.

We are aware of the condition oh Hotel Astoria and we are on it. I hope you will visit us again to experience the changes.

Best wishes

Nadia Wilk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Friendly staff!!! Good looking staff :) :) :)
Location is the best!!!*** :) :) Right outside of the Central Station. Across the street is the Tourist information and the major stop for most buses and Hop On-Hop Off tours. Everything in walkable distance. Tivoli Gardens is 2 mins away.
Rooms are nice and cozy. Does not have safe/lockers in the room though. They hold the luggage for you as the check out time is 11 am.
Breakfast looks good. Complimentary Coffee in the morning from 6 am to 11 am with one fruit typically. That's all we need really while on the go.
Recommend it to others, surely. Maybe a little old hotel but ok for the price and the location.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sankuji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nadia W, Receptionist at Hotel Astoria, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Dear Sankuji,

Thank you for staying with us and for the review.

I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay so much. I hope to meet you again in the future.

Best wishes,

Nadia Wilk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014

Convenient it is -next to the station. Reception is nice and the staff great. That's where it stops. and that's a real shame!!!A late 1930's building with real character. Revolving door And lovely old fashioned lifts. Could be an art decor hotel.... However management does not seem to reinvest.
No water pressure. Room shabby. TV not working. Scuffed walls. Mould in the shower room ventilation system. Stained carpets in corridor and room. Old fashioned key ( can be easily copied) means nothing is really safe. No telephone system. This is what I would expect from a backpackers hotel. Not what is expected at this (business) price. Bed excellent but why dbl bed with single duvets??? (Eurovision 2014??!!). exterior looks more like a power station and not like a hotel - others (locally)look clean.ql. Management should be grateful for staff but actually spend some money. This could be a money spinner.
Would I stay again? After breakfast charged at (extra)155 DKR absolutely NO.

Room Tip: DK is expensive but not a reason to take the @@@@@ ?.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steven W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nadia W, Receptionist at Hotel Astoria, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Dear Steven W.,

Thank you for staying with us and for the review.

Brøchner Hotels took over the Astoria just for 4 months ago and we are aware of the issues. We are on it and I can guarantee better quality of stay as soon as possible.
Our breakfast buffet is in 91% organic and we have same concept in all 3 of our hotels. The breakfast includes a rich selection of meats, cheeses, friuts, juices, pastres and breads and we are not able to offer breakfast free of charge.

I hope you will visit us again in the future

Best wishes,

Nadia Wilk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Copenhagen hotels
Inner Vesterbro
Grand Hotel
Grand Hotel
#84 of 116 in Copenhagen
933 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Copenhagen Plaza Hotel
Copenhagen Plaza Hotel
#44 of 116 in Copenhagen
1,081 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Copenhagen Star Hotel
Copenhagen Star Hotel
#73 of 116 in Copenhagen
992 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner Vesterbro
Saga Hotel
Saga Hotel
#72 of 116 in Copenhagen
484 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Copenhagen Mercur Hotel
Copenhagen Mercur Hotel
#55 of 116 in Copenhagen
913 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Hotel Ansgar
Hotel Ansgar
#50 of 116 in Copenhagen
762 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Astoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Astoria

Property: Hotel Astoria
Address: Banegaardspladsen 4, Copenhagen 1570, Denmark (Formerly Astoria Hotel - Copenhagen)
Region: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Inner Vesterbro , Vesterbro - Kongens Enghave
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #79 of 116 Hotels in Copenhagen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Astoria 3*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Astoria is located as a large train in extension to Copenhagen's Central Station. It is positioned very central in a living area with a short distance to the metropolitan areas in the Meetpacker Destrict and Copenhagen Center. There are approximately 100 meters to Tivoli and the City Hall Square is right around the corner. The airport is only a 12 minutes ride away. The hotel is a 3-star hotel built in 1934 in the functionalist style typical for the architectural era and is therefore popular among people interested in architecture. We have kept many of the original parts inside the hotel. FACTS: 93 rooms Organic Breakfast Lobby bar Wine Hour between 5 and 6 PM Free High-Speed WiFi Business facilities Bike rentals A unique location by the Central Station ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Astoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Astoria Hotel Copenhagen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing