We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ibsens Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Kong Arthur(Copenhagen)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Jorgensen(Copenhagen)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
Hotel Windsor(Copenhagen)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Skt. Petri(Copenhagen)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel SP34(Copenhagen)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,248)
Filter reviews
1,248 results
Traveller rating
405
541
201
67
34
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
405
541
201
67
34
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnorreport stationcozy hourfood marketmedium roomextra large roomla roccafood halltorvehallerne marketfree glass of winewet roomsister hotelstreet noisecozy hoteltop floormueslilounge areathe room was nice
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
844 - 849 of 1,248 reviews
Reviewed 5 February 2014

Great hotel with fab location in Cph. Close to Torvehallerne, the lakes and, well everything else in Cph.
Wheelchair access. Ask to see a room if you're in a wheelchair because they are all different and some with better access than others.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GlobetrotnWheelchair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014

I stayed at the Ibsens for 4 nights in January 2014. The hotel is very clean, the rooms are nicely decorated and cozy. The guys at the front desk were very helpful and nice and the hotel has a nice cool atmosphere. The luggage room is free of charge, unlike other hotels.
The location is great, 5 minutes from the Norreport station, and is surrounded by cafes, restaurants and a food market.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank LorenaFortuna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2014

Had a pretty good price for this hotel and we were pleasently surprised! It was a fun hotel with great location.
Our room was on the top floor and it was very cool wooden beams on the roof. Size of the room was good as also was the size of the bathroom.

Funky hotel for people who like to stay in hotels which are not the so very normal and shiny boring types for guests with suits and high standards.

Good breakfast also. It was pricey, but definitely something different with different freshly made sandwiches, croissants and yoghurts.

Norreport metro station is within a short walking distance and also the amazing Torvehallerne, which just might be the most awesome food market of the Northern Europe!
Note that you can take the metro from the airport directly to Norreport station and walk to the hotel!

Oh, and the bed!! Super excellent!!
One of the best hotel beds ever. Soft and cozy on top but still firm enough overall.
Wonder what brand it was, I want one to home also...!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PyynikinParoni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelCopenhagen, Gæsteansvarlig at Ibsens Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2014

Hi Pyynikin

We are so glad that you appreciated our hotel. It seems like you just fitted right in. Yes, we also think that our beds are good. We picked them very carefully. Obviously the bed is important for a good sleep. Search for Jensen senge.

All the best
Ibsens Hotel /Marie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2014

This just wasn't the experience that we had hoped for. We had ordered an extra large room, but it really wasn't, and certainly nothing like the one shown on the website. The bathrooms are really basic, no toiletries and loo not properly cleaned (and anyone who knows me will know my hygiene standards aren't exactly gold standard!). Worst of all there was an interconnecting door in our room, so we had the uncertain pleasure of listening to another couple's amorous encounter.

The receptionist was off-hand with us on our arrival, but we liked the downstairs area - especially the turntable and vinyl, belting out old Pink Floyd. Location is brilliant, close to the Israel Platz food halls where you could spend your whole stay.

Room Tip: Ask to look at three rooms first, then pick the least bad.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Nicholas R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelCopenhagen, Guest Relations Manager at Ibsens Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2014

Dear Nicholas

First of all, we are sorry that you expectations wasn't met. Especially that your good nights sleep was disturbed by your neighbour. However, we seldom hear from our guests that sounds travel at our hotel. We are so sorry that your neighbour was so noisy, and of course this has affected your comfort.

The toilets are cleaned everyday, but we have at some rooms had problems with the toilets looking dirty even if they are not. We have organised a thorough special cleaning in order to counter this.

PS: Nevertheless, we are glad you liked lobby area

Best regards
Ibsens Hotel /Marie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2014

Ibsens is a clean, cozy hotel conveniently located just a few blocks from a major train/metro station and an easy walk from the main shopping/entertainment center. I would definitely stay here again. My daughter studied abroad in Copenhagen this fall and my trip was at the end of her stay, so we had lots of luggage! I arrived at 8am assuming that I would need to check my luggage and return at 3 for the room. To my pleasant surprise, they had a room ready! I think that this was helped by my mention of the situation in the 'comments' section of the room reservation. I also requested a large quiet room (based on prior reviews). Being able to check in early allowed me to return at noon for a short nap to help with jet lag. After 3 nights, we left to visit friends and returned for one more night before flying home. The hotel allowed us to store extra luggage while gone, so we didn't have to lug it all on the train. The second time we checked in (at 3:30 pm), the room was not ready, but the hotel was able to find us a courtyard room on a lower floor. The room was smaller than the first one, but still quiet, so everything worked out. Note - Americans may not be used to the European design of the bathroom - the shower floor is the bathroom floor, you just pull the curtain around you. This works fine, but remember that anything left on the floor is likely to get wet!
Note: We did not eat breakfast at the hotel - which is nice, but more food than we needed and quite expensive. Instead, we walked 1.5 blocks to the glass market (torvhallen) and bought food and beverage from the indoor stalls. Quite wonderful!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Elizabeth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews