We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very attentive staff. Great service!”
Review of Ibsens Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ibsens Hotel
Ranked #19 of 116 Hotels in Copenhagen
Certificate of Excellence
Bergen, Norway
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Very attentive staff. Great service!”
Reviewed 29 April 2014

We stayed for three nights at Ibsens Hotel. The hotel has some small issues that might be a bit annoying (no aircondition, noise from the street, no fridge, small bathrooms) - but, the athmosphere and the friendly staff make you forget this. No matter what time a day (or night) - or what we asked for, they were just super friendly and helpful.

The rooms are small, but clean. Beds are good. The furniture is not worn and the selection of art and decor works really well. Will visit again!

Takk for oss :)

Room Tip: There will be noise from the street. Choose a room that faces the backyard if that's a problem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Superkajsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stine J, Guest Relations Manager at Ibsens Hotel, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Dear guest, Norwegian friends!

Thank you for your review. I am very happy you had a good stay and that we will have the pleasure of seeing you back at Ibsens Hotel!

Nope, no air con and no fridge. There are two reason to this: 1) We are a 3-star hotel. Fridge is a 4 star requirement, air con a 5 star, and 2) we will rather conserve electricity as part of our climate friendly policy. However, I am very happy you survived anyway :-)

Please let us know if you have any special requests for your next visit.

See you soon (hopefully!),
Stine Jørgensen / Ibsens Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

986 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    277
    453
    176
    54
    26
See reviews for
158
448
43
161
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Terrible noise coming from the kitchen door's restaurant constantly open and close, ridiculous small shower and old bathroom , towels dirty . Noise from the ventilator of the restaurant . Good position and polite people but these are the only positive things . Never back here

Room Tip: Not room on the interior side and never on the top of the restaurant
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matteo D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stine J, Guest Relations Manager at Ibsens Hotel, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for your review. I am sorry to learn you had a bad experience at Ibsens Hotel. We have 118 rooms in total in many different sizes, located on five floors. Next time, if you need a more quiet room, please ask for one on one of the top floors. Also, perhaps you should try a different room category - for instance our junior suites with bathrooms with tub.

We will do our utmost to give you the perfect stay, so please let us know directly if there is anything we can do for you.

Best regards,
Stine Jørgensen / Ibsens Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 April 2014 via mobile

This hotel calls themselves a design hotel. In fact, it's an old and dated hotel. Adding some Hay furniture to a room and painting the old wall paper doesn't tranform it into a design hotel. Tv-/writing table was dirty.
But even more disappointing was the fact that they didn't manage our request for a quiet room in a good way. Or does quiet mean facing a busy Street with a noisy pub until far after midnight, room connected with a door to another room, etc?
The only thing they could offer us (but that's what all the arriving guests was offered) was an (extra cost) upgrade to their neighbourhood hotel. But that's not what I define as service and doing the upmost to make yournguests feel comfortable. That's upsell!

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Ni S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stine J, Guest Relations Manager at Ibsens Hotel, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for your review. In relation to the term "design hotel", it seems you might have had some different expectations about Ibsens Hotel. We are not a design hotel (I think the term demands specific standards); we are hoteliers who love art. This is why we asked the local, neighboring artists to help us decorate the hotel when we renovated it in 2011.

We are a Copenhagen hotel, a mirror of the residential Nansensgade area if you like - because we love our neighborhood; a little vent in the center of Copenhagen. However, when being in the city center, noise is difficult to avoid. We always do what we can to meet our guests' requests.

When contacting us directly in advance with your requests, you can always be sure that we have received your requests and will do our absolute best to meet them, However, if booking via a third party agent, we cannot guarantee that your request is communicated to us. Unfortunately! This is a shame for us too.

However, I hope you will take your time to read some of the good stories about Ibsens Hotel and our many art pieces. Those a good stories - informal ones not trying to live up to predefined design standards. That's how we like it.

Kind regards,
Stine Jørgensen / Ibsens Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014

We really enjoyed our stay at Ibsens - the rooms weren't the biggest or the most luxurious, but the hotel had a good feel and lots of nice touches. It also felt very in keeping with the city of Copenhagen, which I really liked (as opposed to staying a generic chain hotel which could be anywhere). The staff were all really helpful and polite, and bar area was a great place to relax - there are also two restaurants which are directly accesible from the hotel. The location was good, very near Norreport station (which was easy to get to from the airport) and a short walk to all of central Copenhagen.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank tcz_8127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stine J, Guest Relations Manager at Ibsens Hotel, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for your review and kind words! I am very happy you enjoyed your stay at our little urban, Copenhagen hotel in the residential Nansensgade area :-) No, the rooms are not big; they are typical Copenhagen hotel rooms decorated in a minimalistic, Scandinavian style. Nothing luxurious about that, it's not meant to be - and I am very happy you liked it!

I look forward to welcoming you back to Ibsens Hotel :-)

Kind regards,
Stine Jørgensen / ibsens Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 April 2014

The purpose of our stay in Copenhagen was to spend quality time with our sons, both residents of Copenhagen. From the minute we arrived at the hotel we felt welcome and were overwhelmed by the friendliness of the staff. The hotel provided us with the requirements we had: comfortable surroundings and good beds,a really good breakfast and a central base for our time there.

Room Tip: As the hotel has a lift, we were satisfied with our room on the third floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Sandra W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stine J, Guest Relations Manager at Ibsens Hotel, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for your review and kind words! I am very happy Ibsens Hotel was just what you needed to frame your family visit :-) We look forward to welcoming you back home, next time you are in Copenhagen :-)

Kind regards,
Stine Jørgensen / Ibsens Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 23 April 2014

We enjoyed our 3 day stay in the hotel. The medium room with the office area and wet room was attractive and clean. Our room looked over the courtyard as I had asked for a quiet room after reading some reviews. There was some noise from the outside extractor fans which could have been more of an issue in the warmer months. Excellent location, near the metro station and lakes. Thought the room was very good value in an expensive city but the breakfasts although tasty, a bit overpriced (the alternatives nearby in the food market are worth looking at !). 'Cozy hour' with a complimentary glass of wine in the very stylish lounge area was welcome! We would not hesitate to go back but next time I would request a firm mattress - I'm sure they would be accommodating to this! Beautiful, welcoming city which I believe by Scandi standards is not too expensive - there are certainly places you can eat for good value.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank happynotundercanvas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stine J, Guest Relations Manager at Ibsens Hotel, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Dear guset,

Thank you for your review! I am very happy you had a good stay at Ibsens Hotel :-)

Just a small info: All of our beds are Jensen beds in medium hardness, so if you found your bed too soft, unfortunately there is not much we can do about it :-( We can always handle extra pillows, blankets etc., but this probably will not help you much. I do hope to see you back at Ibsens Hotel, though :-)

Best,
Stine Jørgensen / Ibsens Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 23 April 2014

A very nice hotel nearby the metro and only 20 minutes from the airport. they also have bikes to rent what is very good to explore Copenhagen.
The breakfast was good, a lot of healty food but was not included.
Agood Italian restaurand is nextdoor for a pizza and more.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Keetje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Copenhagen hotels
Indre By (Inner City)
Hotel Kong Arthur
Hotel Kong Arthur
#15 of 116 in Copenhagen
1,711 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Absalon Hotel
Absalon Hotel
#6 of 116 in Copenhagen
1,867 reviews
Frederiksberg
Avenue Hotel Copenhagen
Avenue Hotel Copenhagen
#1 of 6 in Frederiksberg
1,086 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Indre By (Inner City)
Hotel Alexandra
Hotel Alexandra
#10 of 116 in Copenhagen
1,277 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
71 Nyhavn Hotel
71 Nyhavn Hotel
#3 of 116 in Copenhagen
228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibsens Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibsens Hotel

Property: Ibsens Hotel
Address: Vendersgade 23, Copenhagen 1363, Denmark
Region: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Indre By (Inner City)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Copenhagen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibsens Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ibsens Hotel is an oasis in the heart of the city. It overlooks the Nansensgade area, bustling with café life and small shops. Just a 5-minute walk away, you will find the city lakes in the one direction and Nørreport train and metro station in the other.The lobby area offers a café, a library room and a cozy livingroom area with a fireplace. The minute you step inside, you will sense the Nansensgade atmosphere: ”Mingle” tables, magazine holders, an old record player and beautiful textiles adorning the lobby. All design pieces are made by neighbouring artists. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Ibsens Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibsens Hotel Copenhagen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing