We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, quite cool with lovely staff”
Review of Ibsens Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ibsens Hotel
Ranked #20 of 118 Hotels in Copenhagen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 September 2014

We stayed here for three nights in August 2014 and found it lovely. The design and style is excellent, with a really nice lobby area around the corner from reception. I had mentioned when booking that it was a special occasion and we were very happy with the room, which was like a mini-suite with a little separate study/dressing room. The room was small but very nicely done. Bike rental was easy to organise, with well-maintained, quality bikes.

The hotel is a really short walk from a metro stop, and you pass an excellent food market on the way, well worth stopping in for a coffee and cake, or maybe breakfast if you haven't included it in your booking.

I would definitely recommend Ibsens to any friends or family.

Room Tip: Overlooking the courtyard is probably quieter than a street-facing room.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank paultheotherbiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,053)
There are newer reviews for Ibsens Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

619 - 625 of 1,054 reviews

Reviewed 29 August 2014

this is a budget hotel (they call it minimalist),our room on the top floor had no window coverings,so wide awake at 5am ,the furniture at best was dodgy and cheap,we stayed at the Kong Arthur hotel next door previously for 4 nights which is about $20 .. more ,for this small amount extra you get ,a bath with a good size bathroom ,tea and coffee facitities Ironing board, big room ,furniture !,mini bar, in room safe,secure place to store your luggage,glasses made from glass, not plastic wine glasses,soap,shampoo and conditioner, a room fan ,it is close to the station ,but reminded me of my travels in the 70,s as a backpacker,spend the extra money and stay at the Kong Arthur which is Ibsens next door sister hotel .Time for the owners to spend some money I think!

Room Tip: As I only stayed in the loft, half of the room was taken up by the pitch of the ceiling ,it was hot...
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank richie402
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2014

Ibsen's is very stylish, living up to its claim to be a 'boutique' hotel. The staff are professional and attentive without being overly so and I was really impressed by their response to some everyday requests, none of which were a problem to them. The room was plain (minimalist) and the bed was extremely comfortable. The location was ideal for a brisk walk into the city-centre and there are lots and lots of restaurants nearby (including the award-winning Höst). The only downside was that the street was quite noisy throughout the night and, in a street-side room, this wasn't ideal for a full night's sleep. But overall I'd highly recommend Ibsen's Hotel. Tak!

Room Tip: If noise would be a problem at night, avoid rooms over the street.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Simon E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2014 via mobile

Considering the high hotel prices in Copenhagen, Ibsens is good value for money.

The location is excellent, the nearest station is 5min walk to nørreport. Lots of nice restaurants within walking distance.

The room was tiny in 6th floor with no air conditioning. The room was then extremely stuffy. I can't imagine what the hotel is like in the winter when you can't keep the windows open! The bathroom was tiny and the whole floor gets wet when you take a shower. Also, plastic cups even though the hotel claims to be green..

The breakfast was a basic Scandinavian buffet but the quality was above average. The staff was friendly.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
Thank Johanna A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Friendly, helpful staff made for a great start to our stay here, somewhat making up for the fact that my husband's suitcase didn't make it onto the plane with us - they kindly called to check the latest with the airport and kept the bag safely in reception when it arrived the next day...although a call to let us know when it came would have been good, too!
Ibsen's is a short walk from the Metro, so easy to get to and equally easy to explore from. Our top floor room was funky and practical, if a little noisy from the nightlife down below (we had hoped for a courtyard room). In unusually hot weather, we kind of wished we'd gone for somewhere with aircon, but consoled ourselves with the knowledge we were doing our bit for the environment.
We didn't have breakfast or eat in the restaurant, but looked a pretty good option if we hadn't been meeting friends.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alexandra H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stine J, Guest Relations Manager at Ibsens Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for your review! I am very happy you had a good stay at Ibsens Hotel :-) Next time, please let us know in advance if you have special preferences in regards to your room. Then we will always do our best to meet them :-) Unfortunately, when booking via online travel agencies, not all requests are mediated to us, so a good piece of advice is always to contact us directly. Also,if we have rooms in the same category available, it is always possible to change rooms, so please let us know after check-in if you are not satisfied with for instance the view, and we will give you a new room.

I hope to see you back at Ibsens Hotel!

Kind regards,
Stine Jørgensen / Ibsens Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2014

Perfect location, walking distance from the train coming from the airport. City center A short walk to the Botanic gardens. Lots of restaurants in the area to choose from.
Rooms - very nice; The breakfast was great! The staff at the desk both in the evening and the next morning were so friendly and helpful. If you are a light sleeper, ask for a courtyard room. However, the street was quiet at night.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Phyllis25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stine J, Guest Relations Manager at Ibsens Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you so much for your review! It is such a pleasure to all of us to have given you a great experience in Copenhagen :-)

Yes, the metro station Nørreport is only a 5 minute walk away, and it only takes 15 minutes with the metro to and from the airport (and only costs DKK 36). Nice and easy :-) Also, the Hop on Hop off busses depart nearby, so if you are not up for the walk around town, you can always take the tourist lines. Please do not hesitate to ask, if you would like a local point of view to the city, as almost all of us are Copenhagen residents.

I hope to see you back at Ibsens!

Kind regards,
Stine Jørgensen / Ibsens Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2014 via mobile

I'll get to the point! This hotel is close to public transport, restaurants and shopping.
The room was comfortable with large TV for World Cup. Friendly attractive staff. Unfortunately we kept drinking all of their Carlsberg!
Will return

Stayed: June 2014
1  Thank carlitoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stine J, Guest Relations Manager at Ibsens Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Dear guest,

I'll get to the point too: Thank you! And cheers :-)
See you soon :-)

Stine Jørgensen / Ibsens Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Copenhagen hotels
Indre By (Inner City)
Hotel Kong Arthur
Hotel Kong Arthur
#13 of 118 in Copenhagen
1,836 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Hotel Alexandra
Hotel Alexandra
#10 of 118 in Copenhagen
1,310 reviews
Frederiksberg
Avenue Hotel Copenhagen
Avenue Hotel Copenhagen
#1 of 6 in Frederiksberg
1,108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Indre By (Inner City)
Copenhagen Admiral Hotel
Copenhagen Admiral Hotel
#25 of 118 in Copenhagen
4,040 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
71 Nyhavn Hotel
71 Nyhavn Hotel
#3 of 118 in Copenhagen
289 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Absalon Hotel
Absalon Hotel
#6 of 118 in Copenhagen
1,982 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibsens Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibsens Hotel

Address: Vendersgade 23, Copenhagen 1363, Denmark
Region: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Indre By (Inner City)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Copenhagen
Price Range: £95 - £261 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibsens Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ibsens Hotel is an oasis in the heart of the city. It overlooks the Nansensgade area, bustling with café life and small shops. Just a 5-minute walk away, you will find the city lakes in the one direction and Nørreport train and metro station in the other.The lobby area offers a café, a library room and a cozy livingroom area with a fireplace. The minute you step inside, you will sense the Nansensgade atmosphere: ”Mingle” tables, magazine holders, an old record player and beautiful textiles adorning the lobby. All design pieces are made by neighbouring artists. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Ibsens Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibsens Hotel Copenhagen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing