We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hostel but slightly ruined by loud in house bar”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Generator Hostel Copenhagen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 March 2012

Really well laid out, basic twin room with good functional bathroom, and a good location. So exactly what you want from a private room in a city hostel. Unfortunately our room was above the inhouse bar, which played really loud music until about 2am. I understand they are trying to maximise revenue, but there was hardly anyone in the bar let alone on the dance floor, and ultimately a hostel has to be about sleeping first and other things second.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TRex12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMGENCPH, General Manager at Generator Hostel Copenhagen, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2012

Dear Guest - thank you for your review. Please be aware that you are always welcome to ask for a change of room. As far as possible we will always try to accomondate our guests if the selected room is insufficient.
Once again, thank you for the reveiw.
Lars Grambo - General manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,623)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,580 - 1,586 of 2,623 reviews

Reviewed 19 March 2012

The best thing about this hostel is definitely the location . It's very close from 2 metro stations : Kongens Nytrov and Norreport, which are both less than 10 min walk away. The M2 line also go to the airport in just 20 min ! It's cheapest than taking the train .

The hostel is also on the corner of the main street to go out in Copenhagen : Gothergade. I appreciated not to have a long journey back to bed after a day walking around the city and a night out drinking and dancing !

It's also a walkable distance from the Queen Caslte , the opera house , the city hall and all the main attractions. I barely took the metro.

the hostel itself is very new. Colorful decoration . I did not be disturbed by any noise, nice and quiet, I had good sleeps .
There is a massive communal room where they serve breakfast (55 KR)or snack during the day. There is a bar where the drinks are very cheap !! (happy hours from 1 to3 pm and 9 to 10pm !!)

The staff is very friendly and helpful.
The only inconvenience was the lift which was always in service ! my dorm was on the 5th floor ... I did not enjoy climbing up and down the stairs (especially with the suitcase).

Basically; If you go to Copenhagen on a budge, that is definitely the place to be !!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank karendurst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMGENCPH, General Manager at Generator Hostel Copenhagen, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2012

Dear Contributor - thank you for this friendly review of our hostel. I am sorry to read about your unexpected fitness excercise because of the lift. We do have 3 lifts all together, each of them with a temper, so from time to time they do not act that friendly.
Once again, thank you for this nice review.
Lars Grambo - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2012

The hostel located not too far from the metro station and the shopping street in copenhagen.. The room is nice and clean also every bunk bed they have electricity plug and lamp.. big storage box in the room although you need to have a padlock.. if you stay in second floor most probably you will have free wi fi in the room.. overall it is a pleasant stay there..

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HendryD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2012

The hostel was clean and conveniently located within walking distance of the main Copenhagen attractions.

I got a good deal on the price thanks to their opening offer.

The communal spaces had a good range of quiet spaces and livelier areas.

However, I booked a 4 bed female only dorm and was put in an eight bed mixed dorm (with 7 guys). I'd like to think this was down to teething errors, but would be reluctant to stay there again if I was travelling alone.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LauraSnook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 February 2012

The people behind generators know what is up. Rooms are clean, readily available and reasonably cheap. Staff were friendly and the facilities are great. Recommend for sure.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brows_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 February 2012

I really cannot fault the hostel; our room was very clean and warm with good facilities. Everything is really up together, it doesn't look worn. The social spaces are brilliant, you could happily spend a day here if Copenhagen was too cold to go out.

Only thing: I was a bit disappointed at it's lack of vibe! It doesn't have a boho feel a lot of hostels have; there's no kitchen, no book exchange and I barely spoke to the staff there. It is more of a hotel than a hostel which is fine, I just prefer the hostel experience.

The bar is great because it's cheap! Plus, there's a happy hour and it's nice to have something easy to finish or start the night with.

The location of the hostel is perfect.


Nearly everything closes on a Sunday in Copenhagen. A lot of Museums and shops we wanted to go to were closed which is fine, but as Londoners we presumed they would still be open. It's good to take note!

Smokers: There is a bar called Caracucha at the end of the street where you can smoke inside. Friendly and fun, I highly recommend!!

Room Tip: Some other people have said it but don't stay on the fourth floor, as we had a room with a brig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KatePhilippa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2012

I stayed in a four-person private with three of my friends here and thought it was great. Very clean, very friendly staff and in a great location in Copenhagen. They sponsor the New Europe Free Walking tours and actually will pick you up from the hostel so you don't have to find the meeting point yourself. No hidden fees or anything like that which was excellent. Also had a decently fun bar where you could meet other people staying. You could hear a bit of the music playing downstairs (we were on the fourth floor) but not the point that it disrupted sleep and we weren't disturbed by any other noises. All in all a great value.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Copenhagen hotels
Indre By (Inner City)
Wakeup Copenhagen, Borgergade
Wakeup Copenhagen, Borgergade
#38 of 118 in Copenhagen
2,655 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Wakeup Copenhagen Carsten Niebuhrs Gade
Indre By (Inner City)
71 Nyhavn Hotel
71 Nyhavn Hotel
#4 of 118 in Copenhagen
318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Indre By (Inner City)
Copenhagen Admiral Hotel
Copenhagen Admiral Hotel
#26 of 118 in Copenhagen
4,079 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Ibsens Hotel
Ibsens Hotel
#17 of 118 in Copenhagen
1,078 reviews
Frederiksberg
Avenue Hotel Copenhagen
Avenue Hotel Copenhagen
#1 of 6 in Frederiksberg
1,113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Generator Hostel Copenhagen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Generator Hostel Copenhagen

Address: Adelgade 5-7, Copenhagen 1304, Denmark
Region: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Indre By (Inner City)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 41 Speciality Lodging in Copenhagen
Price Range: £19 - £225 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Generator Hostel Copenhagen 2*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You’ll find Generator Copenhagen just off Kongens Nytorv, the largest square in the city. Centrally located and an ideal location for anyone wanting to be a hop, skip and a jump from everything that is a must see in this great city. The best way to see and do it all is by foot, and when you need to rest your tired feet Generator is the perfect place of refuge, with great beds for sleepy heads, a bar and lounge that serves the best drinks and entertainment for miles around, and of course you’ll be enjoying Copenhagen life in the most stylish and authentic surroundings. Choose from a great selection of rooms, from Dorms, to Private en-suites Twins, Double & Quads with innovative mod cons like individual power points and your own LED light for late night reading. Fast and free Wi-Fi is all yours too. To get the most out of your stay visit the travel shop and our city experts will help you devise an itinerary that will take you to all the hidden treasures this dynamic city has to offer. This really is a city worth discovering. We’ll see you there soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotelopia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Generator Hostel Copenhagen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Generator Hostel Copenhagen Hotel Copenhagen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing