We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN Hotel City

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
BEST WESTERN Hotel City
Ranked #18 of 114 Hotels in Copenhagen
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2011

Ideally located downtown Copenhagen. Walking distance to pedestrian mall. Close to restaurants and shopping. Minutes from subway. FABULOUS Continental breakfast.Worth the
extra for room and breakffast Adequate size room. Clean and well maintained.
Highly recommend this hotel without any reservations.

Room Tip: Choose an outside room with window openings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VikingCruiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,113 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    318
    547
    202
    34
    12
See reviews for
140
540
96
156
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Buffalo
Level Contributor
81 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2011

I see many reviews about the rooms being small - and they are on the small side - but as Americans traveling in Europe we've grown to expect smaller rooms - so we really weren't surprised or disappointed. We were travelling in winter with XC skis and so had a lot of luggage and had no issues storing it in the room.
This hotel is fine - the room was fine (yes, somehwhat small but clean and comfortable), the location is good, and we thought the breakfast (included with the room) was really very good. Not only the food and the selection but the lobby area was lovely.
We had also read reviews about street noise but we were there in the winter so windows were closed and we had no difficulty at all with noise.
Views - well, this hotel was in the midst of a city block and so surrounded with buildings so not much of a view from the hotel window - but no complaint there. We got out and enjoyed the city.
As is true all over Scandanavia, staff spoke better English than I did it seemed and were reasonably friendly but not overly helpful - I'd call them "politely helpful" - more likley to direct you to brochures than to actually roll up their sleeves and assist. But again I am not complaining, we were quite able to figure out the city on our own and everyone we ran into was friendly and willing to help (and all spoke English).. It's cold in the winter so if visiting then we recommend the bus tour, and if I can find the name of the one we took, I'll write a review onTripAdvisor. (it was quite good)..

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank J W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto,Ontario
Level Contributor
137 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2011

We booked this with airmiles - 77000 for three night s so what can you expect - Not a loft room with two single beds... however we paid +$120 extra for the three nights and were given a large room on the inside court... no view but no noise either and it was quite large as well.. we were pleased with the location as we could easily walk to nynhavn and the streets are safe...... so I would definitley recommend...

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Colmarink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coimbra, Portugal
Level Contributor
218 reviews
176 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 600 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2011

Great location,close to everything and only few steps away from the underground with direct line to the airport.Spacious triple room , clean and quiet but very hot. Our room was on the top floor and didn `t have air conditioning so it was very hot all the time!We needed to open the windows so we can sleep at night.
Free Wi-fi.The reception area, lobby and breakfast room serve what they propose but that `s all.
Booked directly with the hotel and the staff were fast and efficient to make the reservation.Expensive ,as usual in hotels in the Nordic countries!
Hotel with a very little charm or any other special feature but with a great location to explore Copenhagen.

Room Tip: avoid the rooms on the top floor...they are very hot!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank margarida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
118 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2011

When checking-in, I was informed my single, standard room had been upgraded to something "somewhat bigger". It was thus a surprise to discover a room still heavily on the smallish side (about 11-12 sq. m. for the room itself, plus 1.5 sq. m. for the bathroom). Other small complaint: the glazing on the window is a bit thin, though the traffic on the one-way street is not so bad.

However, the big plus of this hotel is its location, about 3 min. walk from Nyhavn. Service is nice, breakfast is decent and there are bikes to rent (great way to discover the city). So probably not the best place to spend long evenings when it's raining, but just fine if you are mainly looking for a place to sleep, within 15 min walking distance of all Copenhagen places of interest

Room Tip: Avoid the entry-rate rooms, quite small
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thomas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2011

The location of this hotel is great. It is just a 5 minute walk to Nyhavn and the Metro is close too. I stayed in a single room and this room is SMALL - like a ship's cabin. But, all I was doing was really sleeping there and for that it was quite comfortable. There is free wi-fi which is great (actually you can find free wi-fi in almost any part of Copenhagen), and if you have breakfast included it's quite extensive with lots of options (seating though can be difficult during the rush). The staff is accommodating and always available which is nice. The room smelled a bit musty but not too bad. The bathroom is small - especially the shower, but for one traveler as I said it's pretty comfortable. You can get here from the airport via metro or taxi - it's just the difference between 6 dollars and 50. I did see some of the double rooms though and they looked standard sized and ok for 2 people. I would recommend this hotel in Copenhagen. And lastly, I expected a lot of street noise and was pleasantly surprised it was minimal.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sunnylagirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2011

Great location, very central and better than I expected for a three star Hotel. We hired bikes for 2 days (not from the hotel but from a bike shop nearby, which saves a little money over the two days) Excellent choice for the breakfast buffet, friendly and helpful staff (all that we meet) We had a corner room on the fist floor looking out to the street and it was a very good size. The only slightly negative thing I would mention is that in the reception area (where you can also eat your breakfast) is a fountain that doesn't work and it looks a bit weird sitting there doing nothing?
Would certainely recommend hotel to others.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kiwisofhigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Copenhagen hotels
Inner Vesterbro
Absalon Hotel
Absalon Hotel
#4 of 114 in Copenhagen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,654 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Copenhagen Admiral Hotel
Copenhagen Admiral Hotel
#23 of 114 in Copenhagen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,699 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Scandic Palace Hotel
Scandic Palace Hotel
#19 of 114 in Copenhagen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,930 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner Vesterbro
BEST WESTERN Hotel Hebron
BEST WESTERN Hotel Hebron
#17 of 114 in Copenhagen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 946 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
71 Nyhavn Hotel
71 Nyhavn Hotel
#7 of 114 in Copenhagen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Hotel Kong Arthur
Hotel Kong Arthur
#14 of 114 in Copenhagen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Hotel City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Hotel City

Property: BEST WESTERN Hotel City
Address: Peder Skrams Gade 24, Copenhagen 1054, Denmark
Region: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Indre By (Inner City)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Copenhagen
#16 Romantic Hotel in Copenhagen
#21 Business Hotel in Copenhagen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Hotel City 3*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BEST WESTERN Hotel City is a Danish design hotel in the center of Copenhagen. Located in a quiet street behind the Royal Theatre and Nyhavn, close to shopping, restaurants, museums and The Opera House.All rooms are furnished with Danish design like Arne Jakobsen and GUBI, large black/white jazz portraits, Samsung flatscreen TV and free WIFI all over the hotel.Easy access from the airport by Metro to Kongens Nytorv ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your BEST WESTERN Hotel City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Hotel Copenhagen
Best Western Copenhagen
Copenhagen Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing