We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location, clean, comfortable and quiet hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Hotel City
Ranked #18 of 116 Hotels in Copenhagen
Certificate of Excellence
Dunstable, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
210 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Good location, clean, comfortable and quiet hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2012

I booked this hotel on the internet and had no regrets. The hotel is very close to many major attractions but being in a side street is not disturbed by passing traffic. I chose to upgrade to a superior room and although the shower area is small and the shower not very powerful, the room was clean and comfortable. We even had tea making facilities. There was no ice vending machine but ice was available from the Bar. There is no air conditioning which might be a problem on a hot day but there was a fan in the wardrobe. We were there when it was quite chilly and found the hotel to be pleasantly warm.
Breakfast was good with a good selection of cold items and scrambled eggs and streaky bacon was available. The Danist Pastries were deliciously light.
All Reception staff were polite but we found some to be more helpful than others.

Room Tip: The 5th floor is quiet .
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Pengor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,125 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    321
    554
    204
    34
    12
See reviews for
143
543
98
158
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Gatos
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2012

To my surprise I thought I'd written a review months ago, because this is one of our favorite Hotels. I don't want to put anyone to sleep I'd like to say simple, a true bargain, Danish modern, clean, perfect location, cherry on top the breakfast included is the best, thanks to the dear creative lady in charge, who I forgot her name I'm embarrassed to say. We have stayed twice, four + nights and return this October for five! No mini bar but ice is available. Staff excellent, why ask for advice when staff is busy checking people in & out I think is rude. No safe but a small returnable deposit for a safe box we appreciate. One displeasure its a green hotel though the housekeepers don't comply. I have a sign I hang outside our door & tell the first desk," No service please". Every day there's a large bag filled with towels +. I store them & leave them untouched when we check out.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Susan2dboots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vientiane, Laos
Level Contributor
90 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2012

The hotel is very well located next to beautiful Nyhavn, harbor, opera, Stroeget, shopping and theater on a quiet street with no traffic.There are lots of good restaurants nearby (we'll rate a few shortly). Check-in was a done in seconds (we'd booked through Internet) and although we arrived 10 AM (check-in is at 2 PM) we got a room. Rooms are big for European standard and well equipped (we only missed the fridge). The breakfast has what you expect and the dinning area is spacious and pleasant. The reception staff are ready to help you with any request, they even chilled our Champagne and provided glasses.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Stefan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2012

This hotel is In a great location for walking around Copenhagen - just 5 minutes walk from the walking street Stroget and right around the corner from Nyhaven. It's on a side street in a quiet part of town but still centrally located. The rooms are typical small European sized but the design and friendly staff more than makes up for it. The hotel features Leather Swan chairs and Bestlights, even in the rooms. There are black and white photos of jazz legends in the rooms and around the hotel. The lobby has great modern design including lots of classic Danish design furnishings and a striking blue waterfall and pool. A small cozy bar is off the lobby where they have a small selection of prepared foods if you arrive late and need something to eat. Breakfast is included and it is typical Scandinavian- cheeses, meats, bread, pastry, cereal, eggs and bacon.
One downside of this is hotel is that it is not air conditioned so the rooms can be warm in the summer. The windows open and they do provide fans but becuase the rooms are so small, it can still be warm.

Room Tip: Copenhagen is a party town so it can be loud as people are out and about at night, even on this quit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 27Countries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2012

Hptel is very well located - close to Nyhavn and fairly close to the metro as well. Free wifii and breakfast were great too. But front staff is very unfriendly - information provided is very minimal and somehwat unhelpful. One time the front staff lady simply said i cannot take care of you at this t,e - come later !!! Considering that i was there only for 2 days - this was not possible. Clearly front staff training is nonexistent for customer care. But pverall stay was ok - found most of the information i needed online - so just did not deal with the staff more than i needed to. Overall an average stay !!!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank savvy016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2012

What a friendly, warm comfortable hotel! The staff spoke excellent English, as do most people in Copenhagen, and were efficient, well-informed and helpful.
Our room was clean and well appointed. It was not large, but it was not cramped either. The en-suite shower room was fully tiled with a good shower, plenty of towels and good quality toiletries.
The bed was comfortable, with good pillows and a quilt each. We did not need the throw, as the room was warm enough. Free wi-fi was provided and much appreciated.
Breakfast was a buffet of hot and cold items - too much to sample on one morning. Lovely cheese, cold meats, crispy bacon and scrambled eggs; there were also boiled eggs and a wide range of bread rolls. Thermos pots of coffee and hot water were provided, as well as fruit juices, fresh fruit salad and cereals. My only disappointment was that I had to brew my tea in the cup, as the hotel did not provide teapots for tea drinkers.
The hotel has an interesting jazz theme of black and white photos in the bedroom and public areas. This includes an interesting video looped on the TV during breakfast.
The location is very central, close to Nyhavn, Kongens Nytorv and transport links to other parts of the city. I would stay here again, with pleasure.

Room Tip: The rooms facing the street can be noisy, for anyone who is not used to city living!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank frandango
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torrance, California
Level Contributor
66 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2012

We were in room 513, which is on the top floor facing the inner courtyard, furthest away from the elevator. (They met all requests that I made when making the reservation). The room was extremely quiet, and you could not hear anyone else in adjoining rooms. The bed was a queen, and very soft (though if your partner moves, you'll feel the movement). This turned out to be probably the quietest and softest bed we've experienced when traveling across Europe. The breakfast buffet was excellent.

It is an 8 minute walk from the Kongens Nytov metro, and about 10 minutes to Nyhavn and 10 minutes to the Stroget shopping area - a perfect location.

My only complaint about this room would be that the free wi-fi was practically out of range, so we couldn't get a good signal - but they have 2 PCs in the lobby & dining area that makes up for it.

Room Tip: room 513 is extremely quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank orbops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Copenhagen hotels
Inner Vesterbro
Absalon Hotel
Absalon Hotel
#5 of 116 in Copenhagen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,711 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
71 Nyhavn Hotel
71 Nyhavn Hotel
#2 of 116 in Copenhagen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Scandic Palace Hotel
Scandic Palace Hotel
#19 of 116 in Copenhagen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,961 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Indre By (Inner City)
Copenhagen Admiral Hotel
Copenhagen Admiral Hotel
#22 of 116 in Copenhagen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,755 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Andersen Boutique Hotel
Andersen Boutique Hotel
#6 of 116 in Copenhagen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Hotel City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Hotel City

Property: BEST WESTERN Hotel City
Address: Peder Skrams Gade 24, Copenhagen 1054, Denmark
Region: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Indre By (Inner City)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Copenhagen
#16 Romantic Hotel in Copenhagen
#21 Business Hotel in Copenhagen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Hotel City 3*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BEST WESTERN Hotel City is a Danish design hotel in the center of Copenhagen. Located in a quiet street behind the Royal Theatre and Nyhavn, close to shopping, restaurants, museums and The Opera House.All rooms are furnished with Danish design like Arne Jakobsen and GUBI, large black/white jazz portraits, Samsung flatscreen TV and free WIFI all over the hotel.Easy access from the airport by Metro to Kongens Nytorv ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN Hotel City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Hotel Copenhagen
Best Western Copenhagen
Copenhagen Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing