We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Copenhagen Admiral Hotel(Copenhagen)
US$211
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$169
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 38% below average rates

The price you found is 38% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$274/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$313
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$276
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Tivoli Hotel(Copenhagen)
US$195
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$168
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$191/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Copenhagen Island Hotel(Copenhagen)
US$186
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$172
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$201/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hotel Kong Arthur(Copenhagen)
US$345
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$263
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$171
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$196/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Ibsens Hotel(Copenhagen)
US$218
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$173
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$282
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$171
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Savings alert! 20% below average rates

The price you found is 20% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$214/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Generator Copenhagen(Copenhagen)(Great Value!)
US$139
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$133
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$206
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$182
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,305)
Filter reviews
1,305 results
Traveller rating
370
636
238
41
20
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
370
636
238
41
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsquiet streetgreat locationclose to nyhavnsuperior roomkongens nytorvmetro stationwithin walking distanceminute walkfree wificentral locationexcellent breakfastnyhavn areadanish designair conditioningsmall bathroomthree nightscold meats
Filter
Updating list...
517 - 522 of 1,305 reviews
Reviewed 14 October 2013

location is just where you should be, everything is around in walking distance, walking distance to metro station, shopping centers and the longest shopping street in Europe, my only advise if your size is X+ then make sure to pick the right room, the one I stayed in was so small to the level that I couldn't move on bed.
yet very nice hotel

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Thair_1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHBruun, General Manager at Best Western Plus Hotel City Copenhagen, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2013

Dear Thair_1970,
Thank you for taking your time leaving a reply.

I am happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and found the location great.

We offer standard and superior categories and the rooms does vary in size because of the outline of the100 year old building we are located in.

We hope to see you back again someday.

Kindest regards,
CHBruun

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2013 via mobile

My husband & I spent 4 great days/nights at this hotel. It is a small hotel with character located on a leafy little street next to the canal and not far from Nyhavn. It is an easy walk to the Stroget, shopping street, and to Castle Island, the Governnent Center. They have nice bikes for rent if you'd like to travel by bike, and after 3 days of walking, a bike was a fun way to tour. Our room was small but met all our needs, comfy beds & pillows, nice lobby & breakfast area & helpful staff. We enjoyed our stay & felt lucky to spend 4 days here.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pam A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHBruun, General Manager at Best Western Plus Hotel City Copenhagen, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2013

Dear Pam A,
Thank you for taking your time leaving this positive feedback - it is much appreciated.
I am happy to hear you enjoyed your stay, found the hotel great and the location useful.

Biking is indeed a great way to explore the city and makes it easy to get around.

You are welcome back anytime.

Kindest regards,
CHBruun

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights. Copenhagen is a very expensive icy for hotels so this was a good price considering. Breakfast is included & is a nice spread. Typical Scandinavian breakfast with cereals, cold meats, bread rolls, pastries & plenty of coffee. There were some hot selections as well. The rooms were very spacious & quite comfortable. The bathroom was a little on the small size but acceptable. The rooms don't have aircon but not many seem to in Copenhagen. Staff were all quite friendly & helpful. The hotel itself is in a great area near Nyhavn. It is a 5 minute walk from the metro station & only a 15 minute ride from the airport. It's very accessible to all the tourist locations. If you want a nice Danish restaurant try Puk. Huge servings & well priced for Copenhagen. You don't really need a starter unless you want to share one.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank bj105094
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHBruun, Manager at Best Western Plus Hotel City Copenhagen, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2013

Dear bj105094

Thank you for your kind words and positive feedback.
It is much appreciated.

I hope to see you back again someday.

Kindest regards,
CHBruun

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

This is a straightforward 3* hotel, with ordinary, but clean rooms, small bathroom, and absolutely miniscule shower. Anywhere else it would be a GBP100 per room place, but I suppose that for expensive Copenhagen it was reasonably priced. We had found that the hotel website said there were no vacancies, when an agency had full-price rooms. This was a bit disappointing.

Staff are all friendly and welcoming. That's a real asset.

Walls are thin, so you will hear if a neighbour is talking on the phone or rises early. Free wi-fi works very well.

Breakfast is very wide-ranging, and there's plenty to suit everyone.

The central railway station is a 40-minute walk, but the Metro is only 5. So from the airport take the Metro. One day, sometime never, the nearby cross-harbour bridge will be finished, but don't hold out too many hopes. Then it will be a 5-minute walk/cycle to the new Opera House across the water.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BobandGina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHBruun, Manager at Best Western Plus Hotel City Copenhagen, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2013

Dear BobandGina,
Thank you for taking your time to leave a response.

You feedback is much appreciated and I am happy to hear you enjoyed your stay.

Kindest regards,
CHBruun

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

I booked into the Hotel City on return from a cruise, and knowing the prices in Copenhagen, I was surprised to get a room in a chain hotel for about $100 in mid-summer. Of course, the Hotel City is not a typical Best Western. It's in an old building on a small street near Nyhaven, a small harbour that is one of the nicest parts of downtown Copenhagen. Because of its location, the hotel itself is tight for space. My single room was a narrow little chamber, almost like a cruise ship cabin, with everything tailored to fit the space available. The bathroom was also measured to the inch, as others have noted here. But the room was comfortable, and everything worked, although the shower drain did clog up while I was there. And the hotel has little bits of Scandinavian design here and there, like the modern-looking metal elevator doors. I appreciated the free WiFi, and the breakfast buffet was incredible -- it had just about everything you could think of. The staff was generally friendly and helpful. But the best thing about the hotel is its location. With its quaint, colourful buildings, Nyhaven is a great place to sit in the evening and have a beer, or to dine in one of the outdoor patios. And it's within easy walking distance of the Stroget pedestrian mall, the Amalienborg Palace and most of the sights of downtown Copenhagen. Overall, I'd recommend the Hotel City -- except to really BIG people.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TOTrekker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHBruun, Manager at Best Western Plus Hotel City Copenhagen, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2013

Dear TOTrekker,
Thank you for your feedback regarding our hotel and the location.
I am happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and found the location quite good.
Nyhavn and its atmosphere is indeed a nice area.

I hope to see you back again someday.

Kindest regards,
CHBruun

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews