We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sharpen up”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Plus Hotel City Copenhagen
Ranked #20 of 118 Hotels in Copenhagen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 October 2013

This hotel is in a good location near to the picturesque and interesting Nyhaven area of Copenhagen. However, despite the warm and friendly welcome by the reception staff, our first impressions were poor, primarily because the lift had an old carpet and needed cleaning and brightening up. The corridor carpets were also old and stained, as were the bedroom carpets. The poster size black and white pictures of 1950s and 60s US jazz musicians throughout the hotel did not enhance its atmosphere, but instead gave it a rather sleazy feel. Refurbishment, with a more relevant and brighter theme could transform this potentially very good hotel. The breakfast was ordinary and overrated in previous reviews with a hostel like breakfast room. The staff were friendly and helpful and deserve a better hotel.In summary, this hotel, although small and compact has potential, but the décor needs a rethink and investment. Finally, although the location is good, the down side is that it has a very vibrant night life. So for those (like us) unfortunate enough to have a room overlooking the street , there is a high risk of a disturbed night from revellers in nearby bars.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mazandrew433
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHBruun, Direktør at Best Western Plus Hotel City Copenhagen, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2013

Dear Mazandrew433,

Thank you very much for your kind feedback, which is extremely important in order for us to improve our product. I sincerely apologize for your experience.

At first I thought, you must have rated the wrong hotel, but it is of course always up to an individual experience and liking. Our decor, style and theme we do not plan to change, as 99% of our guests love it.

We are very happy of our location, which is central in the best quarter of Copenhagen, with the best sites of the city just outside of our doorstep. The Best Western Hotel City is situated in a more or less quiet one-way street, but during the summer time the popular and newly renovated harbour front is frequently visited.

Our breakfast has always been highly rated, as you might find from other reviews, and it is complimentary.

For your information, in September we painted all public areas and corridors, carpet cleaned all our corridors and changed the carpet in our 2 lifts and front entrance. This we do at least every 6 months or according to need, and we constantly upkeep our bedrooms.

I trust that our product and your stay was succesful after all, and I sincerely hope that we are able to welcome you back to Best Westren Hotel City.

Kindest regards

CHBruun
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,211)
There are newer reviews for Best Western Plus Hotel City Copenhagen
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

461 - 467 of 1,211 reviews

Reviewed 16 October 2013

I use to go to Hotel d'Angleterre but I checked their rates 2 rooms for 3 days...9000 Euros ..so I chose Hotel City total for 2 rooms for 3 nights 1800 Euros !!!!!, I requested a very quiet room and it was perfect, no noise at all, I took a superior room , comfortable bed although I don't like the 2 singles instead of a king.....but it is Denmark. small shower room but ok. excellent free WiFi.
No safe in the room but you can get a safe on the reception floor, interesting Danish design furniture. Friendly reception. had one breakfast, it was fine.
I love the fish tank in the toilet near reception.. very fun touch !!!!
I would gladly go back

Room Tip: Request a quiet room of the street
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lahulpe80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHBruun, General Manager at Best Western Plus Hotel City Copenhagen, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2013

Dear Iahulpe,
Thank you for your positive feedback about our hotel and your stay.

The beds in our superior double rooms are either twin beds together or one double bed(Queen/King) so next time you stay at our hotel you can try to request a double bed and we will do our best to allocate a room with the preferred choice of bed. It depends on availability and requests.

I am happy to hear you liked our feature with the fish tank.

We hope to see you back again someday.

Kindest regards,
CHBruun

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

location is just where you should be, everything is around in walking distance, walking distance to metro station, shopping centers and the longest shopping street in Europe, my only advise if your size is X+ then make sure to pick the right room, the one I stayed in was so small to the level that I couldn't move on bed.
yet very nice hotel

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Thair_1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHBruun, General Manager at Best Western Plus Hotel City Copenhagen, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2013

Dear Thair_1970,
Thank you for taking your time leaving a reply.

I am happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and found the location great.

We offer standard and superior categories and the rooms does vary in size because of the outline of the100 year old building we are located in.

We hope to see you back again someday.

Kindest regards,
CHBruun

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2013 via mobile

My husband & I spent 4 great days/nights at this hotel. It is a small hotel with character located on a leafy little street next to the canal and not far from Nyhavn. It is an easy walk to the Stroget, shopping street, and to Castle Island, the Governnent Center. They have nice bikes for rent if you'd like to travel by bike, and after 3 days of walking, a bike was a fun way to tour. Our room was small but met all our needs, comfy beds & pillows, nice lobby & breakfast area & helpful staff. We enjoyed our stay & felt lucky to spend 4 days here.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pam A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHBruun, General Manager at Best Western Plus Hotel City Copenhagen, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2013

Dear Pam A,
Thank you for taking your time leaving this positive feedback - it is much appreciated.
I am happy to hear you enjoyed your stay, found the hotel great and the location useful.

Biking is indeed a great way to explore the city and makes it easy to get around.

You are welcome back anytime.

Kindest regards,
CHBruun

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights. Copenhagen is a very expensive icy for hotels so this was a good price considering. Breakfast is included & is a nice spread. Typical Scandinavian breakfast with cereals, cold meats, bread rolls, pastries & plenty of coffee. There were some hot selections as well. The rooms were very spacious & quite comfortable. The bathroom was a little on the small size but acceptable. The rooms don't have aircon but not many seem to in Copenhagen. Staff were all quite friendly & helpful. The hotel itself is in a great area near Nyhavn. It is a 5 minute walk from the metro station & only a 15 minute ride from the airport. It's very accessible to all the tourist locations. If you want a nice Danish restaurant try Puk. Huge servings & well priced for Copenhagen. You don't really need a starter unless you want to share one.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank bj105094
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHBruun, Manager at Best Western Plus Hotel City Copenhagen, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2013

Dear bj105094

Thank you for your kind words and positive feedback.
It is much appreciated.

I hope to see you back again someday.

Kindest regards,
CHBruun

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

This is a straightforward 3* hotel, with ordinary, but clean rooms, small bathroom, and absolutely miniscule shower. Anywhere else it would be a GBP100 per room place, but I suppose that for expensive Copenhagen it was reasonably priced. We had found that the hotel website said there were no vacancies, when an agency had full-price rooms. This was a bit disappointing.

Staff are all friendly and welcoming. That's a real asset.

Walls are thin, so you will hear if a neighbour is talking on the phone or rises early. Free wi-fi works very well.

Breakfast is very wide-ranging, and there's plenty to suit everyone.

The central railway station is a 40-minute walk, but the Metro is only 5. So from the airport take the Metro. One day, sometime never, the nearby cross-harbour bridge will be finished, but don't hold out too many hopes. Then it will be a 5-minute walk/cycle to the new Opera House across the water.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BobandGina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHBruun, Manager at Best Western Plus Hotel City Copenhagen, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2013

Dear BobandGina,
Thank you for taking your time to leave a response.

You feedback is much appreciated and I am happy to hear you enjoyed your stay.

Kindest regards,
CHBruun

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

I booked into the Hotel City on return from a cruise, and knowing the prices in Copenhagen, I was surprised to get a room in a chain hotel for about $100 in mid-summer. Of course, the Hotel City is not a typical Best Western. It's in an old building on a small street near Nyhaven, a small harbour that is one of the nicest parts of downtown Copenhagen. Because of its location, the hotel itself is tight for space. My single room was a narrow little chamber, almost like a cruise ship cabin, with everything tailored to fit the space available. The bathroom was also measured to the inch, as others have noted here. But the room was comfortable, and everything worked, although the shower drain did clog up while I was there. And the hotel has little bits of Scandinavian design here and there, like the modern-looking metal elevator doors. I appreciated the free WiFi, and the breakfast buffet was incredible -- it had just about everything you could think of. The staff was generally friendly and helpful. But the best thing about the hotel is its location. With its quaint, colourful buildings, Nyhaven is a great place to sit in the evening and have a beer, or to dine in one of the outdoor patios. And it's within easy walking distance of the Stroget pedestrian mall, the Amalienborg Palace and most of the sights of downtown Copenhagen. Overall, I'd recommend the Hotel City -- except to really BIG people.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TOTrekker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHBruun, Manager at Best Western Plus Hotel City Copenhagen, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2013

Dear TOTrekker,
Thank you for your feedback regarding our hotel and the location.
I am happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and found the location quite good.
Nyhavn and its atmosphere is indeed a nice area.

I hope to see you back again someday.

Kindest regards,
CHBruun

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Copenhagen hotels
Indre By (Inner City)
71 Nyhavn Hotel
71 Nyhavn Hotel
#3 of 118 in Copenhagen
296 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Scandic Palace Hotel
Scandic Palace Hotel
#21 of 118 in Copenhagen
2,211 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Copenhagen Admiral Hotel
Copenhagen Admiral Hotel
#24 of 118 in Copenhagen
4,044 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Indre By (Inner City)
Copenhagen Strand
Copenhagen Strand
#27 of 118 in Copenhagen
1,457 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Copenhagen Marriott Hotel
Copenhagen Marriott Hotel
#11 of 118 in Copenhagen
1,452 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Hotel Alexandra
Hotel Alexandra
#10 of 118 in Copenhagen
1,313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Hotel City Copenhagen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Hotel City Copenhagen

Address: Peder Skrams Gade 24, Copenhagen 1054, Denmark (Formerly Best Western Hotel City)
Region: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Indre By (Inner City)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Copenhagen
#13 Family Hotel in Copenhagen
#16 Romantic Hotel in Copenhagen
#21 Business Hotel in Copenhagen
Price Range: £139 - £337 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Plus Hotel City Copenhagen 4*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BEST WESTERN Hotel City is a Danish design hotel in the center of Copenhagen. Located in a quiet street behind the Royal Theatre and Nyhavn, close to shopping, restaurants, museums and The Opera House.All rooms are furnished with Danish design like Arne Jakobsen and GUBI, large black/white jazz portraits, Samsung flatscreen TV and free WIFI all over the hotel.Easy access from the airport by Metro to Kongens Nytorv ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Hotel City Copenhagen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Hotel Copenhagen
Best Western Copenhagen
Copenhagen Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing