We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Plus Hotel City Copenhagen
Ranked #20 of 117 Hotels in Copenhagen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 December 2013

I've stayed here twice now but not sure I will again. Its a nice enough hotel, ok value for Copenhagen and location is excellent but I found the rooms to be a bit basic and the wifi rubbish, so basically ok but not amazing.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JKC1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,243)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

471 - 477 of 1,243 reviews

Reviewed 2 December 2013

Choosing a hotel in Copenhagen turned out to be a challenging task for me. I tried to get the combination of a reasonable price (generally local hotels are definitely overpriced relative to their quality), central location (between Tivoli and The Mermaid), and tranquil surroundings. BW City Hotel looked like the right choice, and turned out to be the one.
We stayed for three nights in a superior double room. The location is really good, with Nyhavn, Kongens Nytorv, and Christiansborg Palace within a few blocks from the hotel. We could easily walk to pretty much all central attractions of the city. The area was also very quite. Combined with the top-floor, courtyard-facing, end-of-the-corridor location of our room, the environment guaranteed us good sleep. As mentioned in other reviews, guests staying close to the elevator may be less happy.
The room was small (probably not more then 12 sq. m plus a small lobby), but functional. Besides a bed (quite comfortable) it had a coffee table with two Danish-design armchairs, a desk and a chair. The room was equipped with tea-making facilities (instant coffee as well), but lacked a refrigerator, an A/C or a safe (missed most). The bathroom was fine for a 3-star hotel. Everything was clean and looked fine. The sleeping room had a door, which helped to guard our sleep. Free WiFi worked well throughout the hotel.
The hotel has a very nice and functional lobby and a small bar area. Danish-design furniture is everywhere, and, to my mind, it made the hotel different from other generic institutions. The breakfast was very good. In the evening it is possible to get light snacks (e.g. chips) from the bar. The staff was friendly and efficient. Both times we asked to call a taxi, it worked smoothly.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nikolay07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHBruun, General Manager at Best Western Plus Hotel City Copenhagen, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2013

Dear Nikolay07,
Thank you for your feedback.

I am happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and found the location perfect for your stay.
Also it is great to hear you likes our Danish design theme throughout the hotel.

Regarding the A/C, we are located in a more than 100 years old building and therefore it is a bit difficult to install but we are looking into different options at the moment. Only a few hotels in Copenhagen has A/C and it only gets really hot a few weeks every summer. We do have table fans in every room and it is possible to open the windows. The safes you find in the lobby.

We hope to see you back someday.

Kindest regards,
CHBruun
Hotel City

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2013

Great experience in Copenhagen - super hotel, fabulous breakfast - certainly set us up for the day ahead - hotel was all we needed as a base. Rosenborg Castle - worth a visit. Loved the Glogg (mulled wine). Super bar just near to the Maison du Nord shop. Lovely restaurants Peder Oxe (pricey but an experience) and Skindbuksen (recommended by hotel) which was packed and an authentic restaurant.

Room Tip: We were on the 4th floor - very good ( we were opposite the lift and had no problems)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wright139
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013

A group of 8 of us (Americans) stayed two nights. The location is right in the middle of the action. We walked to many attractions and picked up the tour bus about 4 blocks away. I would definitely stay there again. The room was clean. The size was small. Keep in mind that the hotels are generally not air-conditioned. This one was not air-conditioned. It was not a problem.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joesecone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHBruun, General Manager at Best Western Plus Hotel City Copenhagen, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2013

Dear Joesecone,

Thank you for your positive feedback.
I am glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and found the location of our hotel perfect.

You are welcome back anytime.

Kindest regards,
CHBruun
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

This hotel is a very good standard for a city hotel. It is very central but on a quiet street so not noisy when you try to sleep. Our room (418) was a large twin room. The hotel has stylish décor and is very clean.

Breakfast is excellent. A great range of pastries, breads, cheese, hot food and cereals.

Great value in a very cool city.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gill10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHBruun, General Manager at Best Western Plus Hotel City Copenhagen, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2013

Dear Gill10,
Thank you for your positive feedback.
We do pride ourselves in having a great breakfast buffet so I am pleased to hear you liked it.

I am happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and that you found the location satisfactory.
We hope to welcome you back again next time you are in Copenhagen.

Kindest regards,
CHBruun

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Was a nice hotel and friendly staff. But sadly didn't get a good sleep due to my room overlooking the main road and directly opposite other hotels and student accommodation. It was very noisy at night which wasn't expected as on arrival the road seemed quiet.

Room Tip: Ask for a room not on the main road or opposite the other hotels or student flats!?
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank craigspencer1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2013 via mobile

Very good quite room on a quite quite street. Also very close to center shopping. Excellent wifi on room (5 mbps!). Good breakfast although no salmon or hering fish option...:(
Infinite warm water on shower which is perfect....

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank benzi1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHBruun, General Manager at Best Western Plus Hotel City Copenhagen, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2013

Dear Benzi1,

Thank you for your very positive reply - it is much appreciated.

Thank you for your comments regarding our breakfast buffet. It is quite large and with a good variation and some of the options does change from time to time. But maybe we should have salmon/herring more often? I will pass on your comments to my Kitchen Manager.

Kindest regards,
CHBruun
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Copenhagen hotels
Indre By (Inner City)
Copenhagen Admiral Hotel
Copenhagen Admiral Hotel
#25 of 117 in Copenhagen
4,159 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Scandic Palace Hotel
Scandic Palace Hotel
#24 of 117 in Copenhagen
2,284 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Skt. Petri
Skt. Petri
#8 of 117 in Copenhagen
342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner Vesterbro
Andersen Boutique Hotel
Andersen Boutique Hotel
#3 of 117 in Copenhagen
2,650 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
71 Nyhavn Hotel
71 Nyhavn Hotel
#4 of 117 in Copenhagen
351 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Copenhagen Strand
Copenhagen Strand
#26 of 117 in Copenhagen
1,492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Hotel City Copenhagen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Hotel City Copenhagen

Address: Peder Skrams Gade 24, Copenhagen 1054, Denmark (Formerly Best Western Hotel City)
Region: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Indre By (Inner City)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Copenhagen
#13 Family Hotel in Copenhagen
#16 Romantic Hotel in Copenhagen
#21 Business Hotel in Copenhagen
Price Range: £119 - £338 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Plus Hotel City Copenhagen 4*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BEST WESTERN Hotel City is a Danish design hotel in the center of Copenhagen. Located in a quiet street behind the Royal Theatre and Nyhavn, close to shopping, restaurants, museums and The Opera House.All rooms are furnished with Danish design like Arne Jakobsen and GUBI, large black/white jazz portraits, Samsung flatscreen TV and free WIFI all over the hotel.Easy access from the airport by Metro to Kongens Nytorv ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Hotel City Copenhagen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Hotel Copenhagen
Best Western Copenhagen
Copenhagen Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing