We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap at a price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Plus Hotel City Copenhagen
Ranked #18 of 116 Hotels in Copenhagen
Certificate of Excellence
Helsingborg, Skane Lan, Sweden
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Cheap at a price”
Reviewed 12 March 2014

This hotel is cheap for Copenhagen, but of course then you have to say goodbye to things you would normally expect in a hotel, like the chance to get something to eat, there is no restaurant in the hotel but that can be found 500 meters from the hotel.
The room was small and outdated, the walls where thin enough that I could hear people talk in the room next to mine.
The breakfast buffet was small compared to normal standard but like I said the hotel is cheap :)

The parking is terrible and expensive in Copenhagen, so be prepared.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TegnerM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,172 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    338
    575
    209
    36
    14
See reviews for
151
565
102
169
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2014

The reception staff at this hotel were excellent - friendly, polite and helpful. I was however decidedly underwhelmed by the room, which felt very basic (and I was not staying in the most basic option room either). This was at odds with the attention paid to the communal areas of the hotel. The bed was comfortable, with plenty of pillows, but in the bathroom the shower area was small and an odd shape which made it difficult to shower properly. There was an odd smell (cigarette smoke mixed with kitchen smells?) in the room for the duration of my stay. Noise from other nearby rooms was also an issue.

I was not impressed by the cleaning of the cups in my room. I would expect them to be removed, cleaned properly in a dishwasher and replaced, but when I came back to my room they had clearly just been run quickly under the tap, with the stains of my previous beverage still present. Ugh.

The breakfast was good, offering traditional local options and also a wider choice for those who wanted a taste of home.

Overall, whilst I can't fault the staff, I expected more from this hotel given other recent reviews.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ADiscerningVoyager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 March 2014 via mobile

I stayed here with my partner for a short city- break. The hotel itself is perfectly situated for exploring the city centre and the hotel staff were very friendly and helpful.

I really loved the jazz and Scandinavian design themes throughout the hotel. The double room we stayed in was very comfortable and quiet at night too! This might have been because we visited our of season and our room window was facing the rear of the hotel.

Having the added bonuses of free wifi and breakfast included makes this the best short-stay hotel in the city centre (in my opinion).

I will definitely be recommending this hotel to friends and hope to return here next time we visit this beautiful city.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank mattr0x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2014 via mobile

Really soft beds with no support at all. Mattress was probably the cheapest kind. Room decor was generally dated, and somewhat old.
Reception, decent breakfast, and proximity to shopping street were probably the only salvaging factors.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank dorbetts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
athens
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2014 via mobile

The hotel is located in the very center on the city. It is an average as far as it concerns the infrastructions, renovated not long time ago. Certainly, the rooms are tired but they are clean and offer all the amenities they advertise. There is no mini bar, anyway it is useless, but the lack of slippers is something that could be a trouble. The breakfast is very good, with an adequate variety. The overall experience is worthy.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank prnc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kenilworth, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2014 via mobile

Pleasant and clean hotel with some cool contemporary touches and friendly service.

In a quiet location and easy walk to some great restaurants. I went with the cheapest room and it possibly showed but I would have hoped for a better bed. Breakfast was spot on.

Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Dan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHBruun, General Manager at Best Western Plus Hotel City Copenhagen, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
Dear Dan T,
Thank you for taking your time leaving some feedback.
It is much appreciated.

I am glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you back again someday.

Kindest regards,
CHBruun
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014

We headed to Copenhagen for Christmas having not experienced the city before and couldn't have made a better choice. The rooms were comfortable and well maintained, the front of house staff were friendly and informative and there were even bikes to hire which became the perfect way for us to explore the city.

The location however was the real winner – the train station was less than 5 minutes walk and we were able to take in most of the things we wanted to see at a walking/ riding distance. The boat-lined canals were gorgeous, the palace is just down the road and NOMA restaurant is within seeing distance! It really was a brilliant choice for the type of holiday experience we were looking to have.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHBruun, General Manager at Best Western Plus Hotel City Copenhagen, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
Dear Sarah B,

Thank you for taking your time leaving such a positive response.
It is much appreciated.

I am happy to hear you enjoyed your stay during Christmas and that you found my staff helpful and informative.
Regarding the location - it is indeed hard to beat!

I hope to see you back again for your next stay in Copenhagen.

Kindest regards,
CHBruun
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Copenhagen hotels
Indre By (Inner City)
71 Nyhavn Hotel
71 Nyhavn Hotel
#3 of 116 in Copenhagen
227 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Scandic Palace Hotel
Scandic Palace Hotel
#20 of 116 in Copenhagen
2,102 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Absalon Hotel
Absalon Hotel
#6 of 116 in Copenhagen
1,867 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Indre By (Inner City)
Copenhagen Admiral Hotel
Copenhagen Admiral Hotel
#22 of 116 in Copenhagen
3,914 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Hotel Alexandra
Hotel Alexandra
#10 of 116 in Copenhagen
1,276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Hotel City Copenhagen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Hotel City Copenhagen

Property: Best Western Plus Hotel City Copenhagen
Address: Peder Skrams Gade 24, Copenhagen 1054, Denmark (Formerly Best Western Hotel City)
Region: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Indre By (Inner City)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Copenhagen
#13 Family Hotel in Copenhagen
#16 Romantic Hotel in Copenhagen
#21 Business Hotel in Copenhagen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Plus Hotel City Copenhagen 4*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BEST WESTERN Hotel City is a Danish design hotel in the center of Copenhagen. Located in a quiet street behind the Royal Theatre and Nyhavn, close to shopping, restaurants, museums and The Opera House.All rooms are furnished with Danish design like Arne Jakobsen and GUBI, large black/white jazz portraits, Samsung flatscreen TV and free WIFI all over the hotel.Easy access from the airport by Metro to Kongens Nytorv ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Plus Hotel City Copenhagen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Hotel Copenhagen
Best Western Copenhagen
Copenhagen Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing