We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real winner”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Plus Hotel City Copenhagen
Ranked #20 of 118 Hotels in Copenhagen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 August 2014

I normally avoid American chains when I travel to Europe, but I am glad that I made an exception in the case of the Best Western Hotel City. The hotel was quiet, comfortable, convenient, centrally located, and clean. For me, this is like winning the hotel lottery! Our room with twin beds was cozy but so well laid out that it did not feel small. The hotel is on a quiet side street and its location couldn't be more perfect--walk 5 minutes in one direction to the Metro and bus hub of Kongens Nytorv (including a stop for Bus 26 which goes to the cruise ports), and 5 minutes in the other direction to the very picturesque Nyhavn. A ten minute walk will take you to Christiansborg Palace and the Black Diamond, the very modern central library. All of the other sights (Amalienborg Palace, Little Mermaid, Stroget, Rosenborg Castle, Tivoli, Ny Carlsberg Glyptotek) can also be reached on foot, by convenient bus, or by renting one of the hotel's bikes. Public trampolines are at the end of the block in a little play area canalside, in case you are in need of more aerobic exercise. The front desk staff welcomed us warmly and were extremely helpful throughout our stay. As a result of the restaurants they recommended, we found ourselves eating in small neighborhood establishments with the locals. The breakfast buffet is extensive, with fresh breads and pastries, fresh fruit, yogurt parfaits, cereals, scrambled eggs, bacon and sausage, and a selection of cold cuts and cheeses. I'm sure there was more, but that's all I remember. The staff refreshed the buffet items promptly. During our stay, I noted an equal mix of business and leisure travelers. Of course, this is a Best Western, so it is not a five star hotel. However, it had exactly the level of comfort and service that I require. The Best Western Hotel City is now my go-to hotel in Copenhagen!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Mickirish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,222)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

401 - 407 of 1,222 reviews

Reviewed 28 July 2014

Copenhagen is beautiful city, and Hotel City provided a great guest experience. This hotel is convenient to harbor tours, shopping and dining. It is in the heart of it all. The staff is extremely attentive to all of your needs during the stay. I will stay there again the next time I'm in town.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank William C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

This is one of the standard Best Western chain of hotels, located in a quiet street but very close to both Nyhavn and the main shopping street. Parking (expensive) is in the street outside and you pay by meter. The entrance area of the hotel is very attractive and the reception staff are extremely helpful and friendly. My room was a single (with a single bed) and was a little small but nicely decorated in Danish contemporary design. There was no air conditioning and on a hot summer night the room was very warm. There were no tea or coffee making facilities in the room. The room was clean, as was the bathroom, which was also nice looking contemporary Danish design - which is not always practical. The shower cubicle was small and the handle for water quantity and temperature stuck out halfway into the limited available space. This meant that it was all too easy to knock the temperature into freezing or boiling while washing.
The breakfast area was attractive and the breakfast itself was very good indeed. An all-you-can-eat buffet with a very good variety of hot and cold dishes.
Copenhagen is a beautiful city (the boat tours from Nyhavn are a must, but wear a hat in the summer) but it's expensive. The Best Western is a good value and pleasant hotel in a great location from which to base your stay. I recommend it.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jonathan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014

This hotel is conveniently located near Nyhavn, which is the starting point for canal rides and has many restaurants. It is within easy walking distance of many attractions.

We stayed in two rooms for several nights while visiting Copenhagen. Both were comfortable and moderately sized, not huge, but larger than many European hotels in which we have stayed. One room heard sounds from a nearby room, but the other did not, so I'm not sure if this was due to loud vs quiet neighbors or differential soundproofing between rooms. The beds were quite comfy and the shower had good heat and pressure. The breakfast was excellent and provided a delicious and economical start to the day.

My one concern is the lack of air conditioning. I'm not sure if any rooms have ac, but neither of ours did. The weather was cool when we visited and we were perfectly comfortable, however, if it had been warmer, it might have been challenging.

I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank SallyforthMaryland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed for three days, and it was very good indeed. Nice room, very comfortable bed and well situated in the middle of the city. You can walk to most places easily and they have bikes to borrow.

One downside was that the room was very, very hot and only had a fan (which was quite loud) but no a/c. It was during a heatwave so maybe this is an unusual situation.

Breakfast was a really nice buffet with just about everything you could think of.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Wrongisland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

We booked this hotel as we are Best Western loyalty card holders and on past experience their level of satisfaction has always been high.
Well located in Ny Haven almost on the waterfront, it was an excellent staring point for our cruise which started two days later. Restaurants abound along the canal side but, be warned, they are not cheap. The cost of the hotel was OK for the central capital city location, but generally speaking Copenhagen rivals the rest of Europe for being the most expensive. Half litre of lager £7. and a pleasant but not stunning meal cost over £100 for two.
The hotel itself was great with very attentive staff and I would imagine benefitting from a recent upgrade as everywhere was spotless and comfortable. Whilst it had no restaurant it had a small but very smart bar and an excellent breakfast buffet with all you needed. Why do so many people spirit away rolls and fruit for their lunch?
The acid test is would I stay there again/recommend it ---yes.
Also worthy of not is that the hotel has negotiated fixed taxi fares to the airport and cruise terminals cheaper than other taxis meters..

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Geoff38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Thoroughly enjoyed a three day stay at a comfortable hotel in a good location near all the tourist sights in Nyhavn, Copenhagen. Easy walk to the best restaurants on the waterfront. Very friendly staff and good breakfast. Comfortable bed and room amenities in a "superior" room. Will stay there again if returning to Copenhagen. Internet access a problem, however.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
2  Thank Romtink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Copenhagen hotels
Indre By (Inner City)
71 Nyhavn Hotel
71 Nyhavn Hotel
#4 of 118 in Copenhagen
319 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Scandic Palace Hotel
Scandic Palace Hotel
#22 of 118 in Copenhagen
2,236 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Copenhagen Admiral Hotel
Copenhagen Admiral Hotel
#25 of 118 in Copenhagen
4,083 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner Vesterbro
Andersen Boutique Hotel
Andersen Boutique Hotel
#3 of 118 in Copenhagen
2,552 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Copenhagen Strand
Copenhagen Strand
#27 of 118 in Copenhagen
1,470 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Absalon Hotel
Absalon Hotel
#6 of 118 in Copenhagen
2,035 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Hotel City Copenhagen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Hotel City Copenhagen

Address: Peder Skrams Gade 24, Copenhagen 1054, Denmark (Formerly Best Western Hotel City)
Region: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Indre By (Inner City)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Copenhagen
#13 Family Hotel in Copenhagen
#16 Romantic Hotel in Copenhagen
#21 Business Hotel in Copenhagen
Price Range: £131 - £327 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Plus Hotel City Copenhagen 4*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BEST WESTERN Hotel City is a Danish design hotel in the center of Copenhagen. Located in a quiet street behind the Royal Theatre and Nyhavn, close to shopping, restaurants, museums and The Opera House.All rooms are furnished with Danish design like Arne Jakobsen and GUBI, large black/white jazz portraits, Samsung flatscreen TV and free WIFI all over the hotel.Easy access from the airport by Metro to Kongens Nytorv ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Hotel City Copenhagen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Hotel Copenhagen
Best Western Copenhagen
Copenhagen Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing