We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“functional and nice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Best Western Plus Hotel City Copenhagen
Ranked #18 of 116 Hotels in Copenhagen
Certificate of Excellence
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
50 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“functional and nice”
Reviewed 22 August 2014

The rooms are nicely decorated with designer furniture. The bathroom was small but adequate but had a step which was dangerous in the middle of the night. There were not enough sockets to charge more than one device at a time. Wifi was very good and easy to get into.
The street is fairly quiet but my room was opposite the lifts and I could hear people talking in the hall.
I didn't have breakfast because I had to catch an early plain, but was offered coffee and biscuits. Staff were very friendly and helpful with tips on what to do in the evening. Would stay again both for business and pleasure.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OlgaH031
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,144 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    326
    565
    207
    34
    12
See reviews for
146
551
99
163
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2014

I'm giving this an average rating as I have only spent one night in 1 room and there are probably better rooms. However, I feel like you must know this in order to avoid it. Room 123 is located right next to the entrance on the left hand side. There is a glass sliding door at the entrance and every time someone enters the hotel it makes a loud noise in the room. To make matters worse, there were overnight deliveries at the hotel that came in via the front entrance between 4 and 5. I was hardly able to sleep. The room itself was also very small (see picture below) and only had a single bed. Now, that said: the location is very good (5 minutes walking distance from nyhavn and 15 minutes by taxi from the airport), the staff was friendly and the room was clean. Just avoid room 123.

Room Tip: I think it should be clear now: avoid room 123!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeroen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marlton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
667 reviews
109 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 565 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

This is a nice hotel in a decent location on a quiet street about 2 blocks from Nyhavn and Kongens Nytorv metro station. The rooms are smartly furnished and very clean. The staff is helpful and efficient. The lobby is nice. You can't go wrong here. However while we were in Copenhagen, we stayed in two other hotels where the rooms were also clean and nice but larger and the Internet was much better at about $70 less per night. The Internet did not work at all the entire time of our visit. I can't comment on the breakfast because we had to leave before it started. The staff was kind enough to get us some fruit and croissants but at the other hotel, the breakfast started 1 1/2 hours earlier so we were able to get a full breakfast in before we left. In one of the other rooms the location was right in Nyhavn and in the other the room consisted of both a living area with separate room. Like I say, there was no problems with this hotel except the Internet in our room did not work. But we got a little more or comparable for less elsewhere so my opinion is prejudged by that.
We had a bit of a difficult time finding it. If you are coming from Kongens Nytorv, you have to walk through the arch. I didn't think that was a street for some reason. Also if you are coming precruise, they can get a flat rate cab for you.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank angeleyes27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
271 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

My wife and I spent 6 nights here couldn't have been happier with the location. On a side street just a half block from the water, the nighttime noise was not a problem and we could easily walk to many attractions. We ate at two very good places a half block from the hotel; a Pakistani place by the name of Sahil and an Argentiean restaurant called Fuego. The vibrant Nyhavn area is only 5 minutes away and Christinia and the Tivoli can be reached in about 20 minutes. We loved this city and highly recommend this area.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Boulder-USA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014 via mobile

We booked this hotel for one one night prior to our cruise. This hotel is a charming boutique style located in the heart of the tourist district only a few steps away from the port. The room was big enough for us and our two huge bags.

Our first 4 hours in Copenhagen were a bit of a nightmare. We forgot one of our bags in the taxi and the staff at the hotel did everything in their power to help track it down, including calling the taxi companies numerous times and helping us figure out how to find what might have had to replace.

In the end, we tracked down our bag and the staff here also let us know that our driver had also overcharged us from the airport and helped us get reimbursed!

So a big thank you to all the staff especially to Nete and Nanna who saved our vacation!

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanford, Florida
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014

After a lot of reading reviews and searching hotels and locations, I chose BW Hotel City. This was our first hotel experience in Europe. We were very pleased with our choice. The price was reasonable, the service was good, the hotel room was small but efficient, clean, and comfortable. Breakfast was included in the price. They had a good variety of foods to please all....hot, cold, and local choices. The service in the dining area was so nice. It was a short walk to Nyhaven and the Hop On Hop Off bus stop. We spent 3 nights there. If we ever go back to Copenhagen we will stay there again. Loved Copenhagen! Such a beautiful city...mixture of old and new, friendly people....

Room Tip: We had a room on the second floor on the street side. There is no AC so we kept the window open. I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank susbuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHBruun, General Manager at Best Western Plus Hotel City Copenhagen, responded to this review, 16 September 2014
Dear Susbuff,
Thank you for your kind words and feedback.
I am happy to hear you enjoyed your stay at Best Western Hotel City including the breakfast.
It is indeed a great location - I am glad you found it excellent and useful.

We hope to see you back again for your next visit.

Kindest regards,
CHBruun
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delft, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2014

This Best Western hotel is to recommend. The location is very central. The metro station is just a few minutes away which connects you to e.g. the airport in 15 minutes. Furthermore Nyhaven is just around the corner, the city center is in close walking distance and the new food street on Paper Island is easy to reach with the water taxi.
The rooms aren't too big, but it's OK. They are a bit older, but furnished with Danish design furniture. Everything is clean and well maintained.
The breakfast is OK, but could be a bit better. You get everything but it could be served with a bit more dedication.
However, a nice hotel in a good location. To recommend for business trips or city weekend trips.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Copenhagen hotels
Inner Vesterbro
Absalon Hotel
Absalon Hotel
#6 of 116 in Copenhagen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,767 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
71 Nyhavn Hotel
71 Nyhavn Hotel
#2 of 116 in Copenhagen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Scandic Palace Hotel
Scandic Palace Hotel
#19 of 116 in Copenhagen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,015 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Indre By (Inner City)
Copenhagen Admiral Hotel
Copenhagen Admiral Hotel
#23 of 116 in Copenhagen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,812 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Andersen Boutique Hotel
Andersen Boutique Hotel
#7 of 116 in Copenhagen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Hotel City Copenhagen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Hotel City Copenhagen

Property: Best Western Plus Hotel City Copenhagen
Address: Peder Skrams Gade 24, Copenhagen 1054, Denmark (Formerly Best Western Hotel City)
Region: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Indre By (Inner City)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Copenhagen
#16 Romantic Hotel in Copenhagen
#21 Business Hotel in Copenhagen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus Hotel City Copenhagen 3*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BEST WESTERN Hotel City is a Danish design hotel in the center of Copenhagen. Located in a quiet street behind the Royal Theatre and Nyhavn, close to shopping, restaurants, museums and The Opera House.All rooms are furnished with Danish design like Arne Jakobsen and GUBI, large black/white jazz portraits, Samsung flatscreen TV and free WIFI all over the hotel.Easy access from the airport by Metro to Kongens Nytorv ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Hotel City Copenhagen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Hotel Copenhagen
Best Western Copenhagen
Copenhagen Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing