We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“location, location, style”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
First Hotel Twentyseven
Ranked #53 of 116 Hotels in Copenhagen
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
38 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
“location, location, style”
Reviewed 13 August 2009

This hotel has a lot going for it. The location can't really be beat - it is very central, one block from city hall, 1 1/2 blocks from Tivoli, 3 blocks from central staion for local and regional transit; and very close to many of the sights. The hotel (inside) is modern and trendy, the outside is pretty ordinary looking but that is not too unusual in Copenhagen. The rooms are small, but that is also apparently common for Copenhagen. The floor was wood, the bathroom was large enough and well designed. It had a medium sized glass shower. There was one chair for sitting, one at a small desk. The cupboards were only about 8 inches deep but you could hang a few things and there were a few (8") shelves. The bed was fairly comfortable. There was no top sheet and 2 comforters for a double bed (approximating a North American Queen size).
One of the major advantages was the included meals. There is a great breakfast buffet served until 11 AM. There is also an included dinner buffet that is quite good, though somewhat repetitive if you are staying for a number of days - they serve almost the same thing every day. They get you with the drinks - wine and beer are sold with dinner at very significant cost. They sell bottled water and won't provide tap water. They do have complimentary tea, coffee, latte, hot chocolate. Eating out in Copenhagen is prohibitively expensive, so if you are factoring that into your travel costs then this hotel makes a lot of sense despite the fairly high room rates. The hotel food is very good and locally inspired. At times the dining area, which is very nice, gets quite crowded, but we always found somewhere to sit.
There were 2 main disadvantages for this hotel. The main one is noise. If you are light sleeper you may need earplugs or choose another hotel. The noise comes from the 3 bars in the hotel and, more signifiantly, the !@&*^%$ town bell. The previously mentioned city hall has a bell tower with a loud and prolonged bell every 15 minutes from 8 AM until midnight. I have heard it is a problem for all downtown hotels with many blocks (it is loud!). There are also other (church) bells throughout the city so it may be hard to get away from. We asked for a quiet room and I think we got one (230). It did not lookout over the road or the main courtyard (bars in both areas) and was on tehe other side from the town hall bells. Noise was still a problem (minor mostly if you sleep when the town bells do). There are 5 floors. We were on the second. The elevator is small and slow to arrive so it was nice to be able to walk up easily.
The only other concern we had was that the housekeeping just wasn't that good for what is otherwise a 4 star hotel. The room was clean at first glance but not if you looked closely. The daily cleaning wasn't great. We had to ask for the sheets to be changed after being there 7 nights.
These negatives were really overwhelmed by the positives however and I would recommend this hotel for all the reasons mentioned. The staff (other than the cleaners) were great in all respects.
If you are touring then make sure to go to the Louisiana modern art museum which is a short train ride out of town - simply spectacular and a highlight of our 11 day stay. Also - it is really easy to go to Sweden on the train - 20 minutes to Malmo which is a very nice 1/2 or one day side trip.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChrisVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,085 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    411
    768
    526
    243
    137
See reviews for
189
875
155
438
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (235)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Corsica, France
Level Contributor
58 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2009

Very central, this hotel is good for a younger crowd who is looking for the design and modernity of the place. My girlfriend and I found the room sizes ridiculously small for the price (yes we know CPh is expensive in general, we stay there regularly) and the whole hotel (reception, etc...) felt more like a backpacker place than anything else.
It is also noisy until 11pm, so if you need an early night because you have to be early the day after, forget about it.
Service was also very poor (again backpacker standard, still wonder if the reception was actually a reception). Even the "design" element of it is really done cheaply. I stayed at the hotel of the Ice bar in Stockholm (27 is the hotel of the Ice bar for Cph) and design was uncomparably better, more stylish, original and using expensive material.
Really, unless you are a backpacker with a lot of cash, you're better off in a place like Kong Hans... alittle further from the centre (well really not much) with a modern touch too, more peace, more space and lower prices!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jeffou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Copenhagen hotels

Switzerland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2009

LOCATION: this hotel is perfectly located within short walking distance to main attractions (Tivoli, many museums, the shopping streets) and restaurants (on Vesterbrogade), as well as the central train station – though it would be difficult to find an ill-situated hotel in Copenhagen.

ROOMS: the rooms are nicely designed and the beds are very comfortable. Room sizes vary dramatically though, and range from cubicles barely accomodating a bed to more spacious and cosier rooms. We had a kettle with a selection of teas and an iron and ironboard in the room. Free high-speed wireless Internet in all the rooms.

FOOD: the breakfast buffet is served until late in the morning (to 11am) and offers a wide range of food that will accomodate pretty much any diet (eggs, beans and sausages, a wide selection of bread and cereals, dairies, as well as fresh vegetables and fruits and fruit juices). It is included in the price of the rooms (which is not usual in Copenhagen), and so is the light evening buffet, served between 6 and 9 pm. It will accomodate these who are not fussed over food and can do with a light dinner while saving both money and time.

BARS: the hotel has three bars: the spectacular and pricey ICE BAR (made entirely of – you guessed that right – ice), the WINE ROOM with its selection of wine that is fair by Copenhagen standards but will make anyone from Southern Europe wince, and our favorite, the HONEY RYDER, that offers a mouth-watering range of original, subtile, surprising and exquisite cocktails (prices are sky-high but standard for Copenhagen).

CLEANLINESS: definitely the major flaw of this hotel. The beautiful stone tiles of the bathroom were covered with calcareous stains and there was some mould. Housekeeping failed to change the sheets even once over a week-long stay and never bothered to wash mugs and glasses that were very obviously used.

IN SHORT: perfect location, well-thought food accomodation & bars and functionally-designed rooms will make your stay in Copenhaguen nice and easy as long as you are not fussed about cleanliness or real cosiness. Morning and evening buffet for free makes it fair-priced.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank d_isonthemove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 July 2009

This hotel was great value for Copenhagen which is notoriously expensive. The breakfast buffet had a good choice for continental breakfast, but also had a hot selection such as eggs, sausages and baked beans.

Our room was pretty small, but we did have an air-conditioning unit which doesn’t seem to be available in all rooms judging by some of the other comments (we were on the top floor – ie 5th floor). Although our room was very small, we did see inside some other rooms as they were being cleaned and they were significantly larger, so I guess as with all things, you get what you pay for ! We stayed for 1 week and found the miniscule wardrobe with 3 hangers fairly inadequate for the 2 of us (the wardrobe probably does only comfortably fit 3 pieces of clothing, but we anticipated this by taking extra space-saving hangers with us).

The problem of noise from the bar was reduced by being on the 5th floor with a window facing the street rather than the courtyard (nb bar noise was worse on Friday & Saturday night, but not too bad during the week), be aware however that the nearby town hall has a loud clock which chimes on the hour, every hour until midnight, starting up again at 8.00 in the morning !! (my partner used ear plugs and was fine).

The free evening buffet (from 6.00pm to 9.00pm) was a delightful surprise – quite substantial, plenty of salads, bread and fruit. There was always a hot meal (varied each night) consisting of some form of stew with either pasta, couscous, rice or potatoes (only 1 of these options available each night). Although there may not have been a huge choice, what was presented was good enough.

The location was great, we were able to walk to most sights.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travel1OO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2009

I recently stayed in this hotel for 5 nights, and just loved it! I booked a moderate double, and it was a beautiful and comfortable room. The bed was comfortable, the bathroom was spacious, the room was quiet. Included in my reservation was the breakfast and evening snacks (it's not touted as a dinner buffet). The breakfast was great! Everything was free, even the delicious coffee. You were welcome to eat as much as you liked. The variety of the food offered was fantastic. The evening snacks were the same every night, but it was very welcomed! I didn't find the food in Denmark that remarkable, so eating out at lunch was perfect, then coming back for the evening snacks made it quite good value, even despite the fact the prices for drinks were high (coffee , tea, hot chocolate were free).
The location of the hotel was a real bonus. For the price I paid for the room, with a full breakfast and evening snacks offered, I feel I had great value. I would definitely stay in this hotel again, and I would highly recommend it.
You do get what you pay for... I understand the leisure rooms are cheaper but the rooms are supposedly smaller. It is well worth spending a bit more and getting A LOT more for your money and comfort.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yanksmiffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brussels
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2009

This hotel isn't cheap, but so is the case with the whole of scandinavia. The rooms are too small by average European standards. However, they are nicely, but sparcely, furnished and the bed is wonderfully soft and cosy.
The staff is very friendly and know their languages.
The reception and lounge are furnished with (authentic?) Danish design: it looks fabulous.
Breakfast is plentiful, dinner looks good but is in fact a bit of a disappointment.
Our stay included a visit to the adjacent Icebar, but we never got in. The opening hours were never respected and now, 3 months later, we're still trying to get a refund...

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank orlandow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bergen, Norway
Level Contributor
323 reviews
121 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2009

I had high hopes for this hotel as most Clarion Collection hotels are quite good. This one is quite new, centrally located and is having a "hip" image.

The rooms were quite small although the beds are great, and interior is of good standard. I was a bit annoyed with the placing of the toilet in my room as it was squeezed towards the wall, meaning you couldn't sit straight. Also there was an oven on that wall, so I wonder how it is when that is on in winter time. The room were a bit noisy and I could very well hear, what must have been at least a family, in the room above me, everytime they walked on the floor. No view from my room, but then again it was on the first floor (130).

Location is great, and it's near "Rådhusplassen" and Tivoli. The hotel has a wine room as well as the Ice Bar situated next door. Unfortunately I wasn't able to visit it, but I've heard that it's supposed to be quite cool (in many ways I guess).

Breakfast was ok, with an eating area a bit different then many other hotels (It's like a living room with sofas etc.)

All in all the hotel was ok, but I had expected better. The price I got were really cheap (730 DKK), so if you can get the same offer I would say it's definately value for money. I would guess that the hotel is most suitable for young singles or couples.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomas1406
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Copenhagen hotels
Indre By (Inner City)
First Hotel Kong Frederik
First Hotel Kong Frederik
#61 of 116 in Copenhagen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 903 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Scandic Palace Hotel
Scandic Palace Hotel
#19 of 116 in Copenhagen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,012 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
The Square Copenhagen
The Square Copenhagen
#33 of 116 in Copenhagen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner Vesterbro
Absalon Hotel
Absalon Hotel
#6 of 116 in Copenhagen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,766 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Hotel Alexandra
Hotel Alexandra
#9 of 116 in Copenhagen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,256 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Hotel Danmark
Hotel Danmark
#73 of 116 in Copenhagen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to First Hotel Twentyseven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about First Hotel Twentyseven

Property: First Hotel Twentyseven
Address: Loengangstraede 27, Copenhagen 1468, Denmark
Region: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Indre By (Inner City)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#28 Luxury Hotel in Copenhagen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — First Hotel Twentyseven 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your First Hotel Twentyseven reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1st Hotel Twentyseven
Clarion Collection Copenhagen
Clarion Collection Twentyseven

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing