We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel in perfect location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Andersen Boutique Hotel
Ranked #5 of 116 Hotels in Copenhagen
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great hotel in perfect location”
Reviewed 22 July 2013

Loved this 'urban' style hotel. Great modern rooms, and super friendly service. It even rained one day, and they gave us umbrellas to use. Location is close to some great bars/ restaurants and shopping... Also not too far from central station. Couldn't have asked for a better experience!

Stayed at a few other hotels in Copenhagen, and Andersen was a thousand times better (and cleaner)

Would definitely stay there again if I go back to beautiful Copenhagen

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Akadius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen N, Owner at Andersen Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 13 August 2013
Thank you for a superb review.

We appreciate your compliments and are happy you like Andersen Hotel, the neighborhood and the central location. It is reassuring that the cleanliness of the hotel lived up to your expectations as our Housekeepers work hard to keep up to our high standards.

We love to welcome you back as our regular guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,263 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,122
    867
    208
    50
    16
See reviews for
373
1,154
117
264
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (363)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013

We stayed in this hotel for two nights. It is in a good location near to the Tivoli. So we walked from there to the inner city as well. As we had no reservation we took a family room with more space. This room war very nice and stylish but also quite expensive. The breakfast was very good despite the fact, that they don't offer squirreld eggs or things like this. People there are very friendly. A good but not cheap place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Venris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen N, Owner at Andersen Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 13 August 2013
Thank you for a great review.

It is nice to hear you liked Andersen Hotel and the location.

I am sorry you found Copenhagen to be an expensive city. We try to offer value for money with excellent service, nice design and specialty coffee at a reasonable price. All our rates include our cold Breakfast Buffet. I wonder if our guests would prefer to pay a higher rate for more hot items on the buffet.

Sunday nights are often a cheaper night to stay in Copenhagen.

We hope to welcome you back to Andersen Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenkintown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
76 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2013

The hotel was just round the corner from the central station so its location was very practical. The neighborhood is safe but is a bit on the seedy side.

The staff were very helpful during check in and when we were late for breakfast they helped arrange something which we could take up to our rooms.

The room was large and the bed was very comfortable, the bathroom had a good sized bathtub.

As we had ordered a nicer package they had bubbly for us and a basket with chocolate and spa materials.

The price was good by danish standards - which means its not cheap. But this hotel was worth it.

The breakfast was large continental style and had everything you could ask for.

The wifi was included and worked very well.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 12shoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen N, Owner at Andersen Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 12 August 2013
Thank you for sharing your view on Trip Advisor.

We are pleased to hear you liked the hotel and the Spa Package.

Many of our international guests stay for a romantic getaway. You are always welcome to request a room with bathtub and double bed. We are more than happy to recommend restaurants and things to do during your stay.

We hope you will be back to pamper your relationship in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skillman, New Jersey
Level Contributor
187 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2013

Modern renovated hotel with small to moderate sized rooms. Staff was extremely helpful. Location is great with just a 5 minute walk from the central station and Tivoli. I had some concern about the area the hotel was in due to legalized prostitution establishments in the area. However, this was no problem. The streets around the hotel have undergone some gentrification. Several good restaurants are within walking distance. Excellent breakfast. They also had a free wine tasting while we were there.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank orchiddoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen N, Owner at Andersen Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 12 August 2013
Thank you for a lovely review.

The central location is convenient if you travel by train from the airport. It takes approximately 12 minutes and the easy exit is the rear of the the arrival hall (opposite Tivoli Gardens). Vesterbro is undergoing a renovation and Istedgade is under construction until Christmas. We hope this will upgrade the area in all ways.

We regularly have social events in our Lobby Lounge, art exhibitions, Fashion Shows and as you experienced wine tasting. All Events are free for our guests and we are happy to hear our guests enjoy our social events.

We look forward to welcome you back in the near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Level Contributor
130 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2013

We stayed 2 nights prior to our cruise. The first night we arrived at 11.30pm after a 37 flight from New Zealand and were shown to our room which was a standard room. The room although small was extremely comfortable with all the amenities. The next morning I asked for an upgrade to a larger room and for a nominal cost was upgraded to a Junior Suite. This room was spacious and again extremely comfortable. The breakfast was fabulous and the staff were all friendly. The area was quite edgy and interesting but appeared safe. Would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nakiboys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen N, Owner at Andersen Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 12 August 2013
Thank you for writing a review with a positive point of view.

Our standard rooms are European size and the Junior Suites are the largest room type. It is always nice to be able to upgrade if one decides to spend some time in the room. There is free wi-fi and a large LED TV in all rooms.

It is pleasant to read how you liked and enjoyed the cold continental Breakfast Buffet. But the best comment is about our friendly staff and that you like to return- especially with the long distance.

We look forward to welcome you back
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2013

Hotel is an easy walk from the central train station. Room was ready when we arrived; check-in was a breeze, except that we learned for the first time that there would be a 5% surcharge for using the same Amex card that we had used to guarantee the reservation. Our room was clean and functional. We had everything we needed for a one night stay including free wifi, an excellent breakfast, and competent hotel staff. The woman who seemed to be the general manager was a big help in recommending places to visit and have lunch. We had made a dinner reservation when we were still at home for the Bistro Degas and were able to walk there in 5 minutes. Check out was very efficient and the taxi we had requested arrived as scheduled. I would stay at the Anderson again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marji H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen N, Owner at Andersen Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 12 August 2013
Thank you for a positive and very nice review.

Vesterbro is a fun neighborhood with many restaurants in various ranges. We all enjoy recommending places to dine. On Andersen Hotel Pinterest we have a board called Vesterbro and Copenhagen restaurants for inspiration.

We only have a surcharge on Amex, whereas all all other credit cards are without a surcharge for our guests. Be aware a majority of restaurants charge a fee for use of international credit cards.

We look forward to welcome you back to Copenhagen and Andersen Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lenexa, Kansas
Level Contributor
64 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2013

My mother and I (ages 71 and 42) stayed in the hotel for 6 nights in June 2013. We traveled all over the island of Zealand Denmark with this hotel as our base. It is literally a couple of blocks from Central Station which was a Godsend. It's too bad that it wasn't on the other side of the station, but beggars can't be choosers. It would have been just that much closer to much of the tourist sights. But it really was a wonderful base.

The room wasn't very big. Basically enough space to walk around the bed. There was a small closet and small fridge. We requested a room next to the courtyard based on other reviews and it was fine. On the other side of the courtyard is an apartment building. The front desk staff said that they can sometimes be noisy but they weren't while we were there. I also requested a fan in our room which was there upon arrival, but it was a very quiet fan so it wouldn't have supplied much noise. I brought my own white noise machine and had no trouble.

As others have mentioned the wifi is spectacular. I didn't even have to put in a password. I skyped my kids and husband in the US almost every night.

The breakfast was more than adequate. Yogurts, cereals, breads, meat and cheese.

The staff was very responsive and friendly. The rooms did not have phones so I asked about how they dealt with wake up calls as we had an early flight out. They gave us a cell phone to use for the night. I don't know if we would have been able to borrow one during the duration of the trip, but that would have been nice as the free wifi on the trains and in some restaurants wasn't accessible to me because it requires that you have a code sent to your cell phone and my phone didn't work over there. Of course it wasn't an issue in the hotel though.

As another person mentioned, we went to Central Station to catch a train, arriving there just before 5 am. The first train was cancelled as our hotel staff had warned us sometimes happened. We were worried but the next train (I think around 5:20 am on a Sunday) arrived on time and we made it to the airport and through security in plenty of time to catch a 7 am flight, but it made us nervous. The trains are wonderful for transportation throughout the area in general.

There was one sex shop nearby with displays in the window. The only time we even noticed the prostitutes was the morning we were leaving so early to catch the train. We (two women) felt perfectly safe in the area. As others have mentioned, there are other hotels in the area.

It cost us about $245 US per night in June 2013.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank chelmail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen N, Owner at Andersen Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 9 August 2013
Thank you for a lovely review and thank you for sharing your pictures.

It is always nice for future guests to see the various rooms. You stayed in a Mermaid room (turquoise/lime) colors.

I guess you get e real good feeling of a hotel after staying six nights and we appreciate your compliments.

We have mobile phones at the reception for our guests to borrow, as the rooms does not have telephones. You are welcome to keep the phone during your stay. The Wi-Fi is free and great that you could Skype without any problems.

Vesterbro is a safe neighborhood just like the rest of Copenhagen. We have a few people "hanging" around. They are harmful and one can only feel sorry.

We hope you also in the future will use Andersen Hotel as your Copenhagen base
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Copenhagen hotels
Inner Vesterbro
Absalon Hotel
Absalon Hotel
#6 of 116 in Copenhagen
1,810 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
71 Nyhavn Hotel
71 Nyhavn Hotel
#3 of 116 in Copenhagen
198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Outer Vesterbro
Bertrams Guldsmeden - Copenhagen
Inner Vesterbro
Axel Guldsmeden - Guldsmeden Hotels
Indre By (Inner City)
Hotel Alexandra
Hotel Alexandra
#9 of 116 in Copenhagen
1,262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Andersen Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Andersen Boutique Hotel

Property: Andersen Boutique Hotel
Address: Helgolandsgade 12, Copenhagen 1653, Denmark
Phone Number:
Region: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Inner Vesterbro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 116 Hotels in Copenhagen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Andersen Boutique Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Privately owned Boutique Hotel run by third generation. Central Copenhagen location in the hip,trendy and lively Vesterbro neighborhood. Our aim is to offer the best service in Copenhagen. Decorated in Designers Guild modern bright colors. Rooms feature: Samsung LED TV, desk, minibar and safe. - Daily Wine-Hour for all guests - Free Wi-Fi - Complimentary Continental Breakfast. - Bikes for rent. - CONCEPT24: The room is yours for 24 hours (Late check-out at no extra cost- must be reserved) - Molton Brown Amenities - Honesty Bar ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de and getaroom.com so you can book your Andersen Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing