We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel and Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Andersen Boutique Hotel
Ranked #4 of 116 Hotels in Copenhagen
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Great Hotel and Location”
Reviewed 29 July 2013

6 of us stayed at the Andersen in July for a long weekend, great location being walking distance with a suitcase from the central station.

Staff were amazing and could not do enough for us and we were given a complementary bottle of champagne when the receptionist found out it was one of our birthdays.

Room very clean with nice fixtures and fittings, rooms generally a bit on the small side but fine for what we needed. Only real criticism is the lack of air conditioning which meant having the window open and therefore allowing noise in, this was only an issue as the weekend we went it was 30+ degrees.

Continental buffet breakfast was really fantastic with good choice of breads, cereals, meats, cheese etc.

I would definitely recommend this hotel and stay here again.

Room Tip: Higher floors better if you need the windows open as less noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cerbra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen N, Owner at Andersen Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 21 August 2013
Thank you for sharing your point of view and your positive recommendations.

The hotel is two bloks from the Central Station - just bear in mind to use the rear exit from the arrival hall. The train ride is only 12 minutes from the International Airport.

We have had an exceptional hot summer this year and we regret that Andersen Hotel does not have A/C but only small fans in the room. Sometimes an ear plug can make you sleep through the noise of an open window. Before we know it fall will hit Copenhagen and our pink umbrellas will be our savior

We hope you will chose Copenhagen for your next trip and we look forward to welcome you all back
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,347 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,173
    896
    211
    50
    17
See reviews for
391
1,195
124
268
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (369)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2013

first of all, probably the nicest staff you will find ever in a hotel. wonderful, friendly, helpful. the hotel itself is very much a boutique hotel. my biggest issue with the hotel was the lack of air conditioning, which i didn't realize until i had already booked it and couldn't cancel. our room, a junior suite, faced the street and the weather in copenhagen was nearly 80 degrees. so almost no sleep as it was miserably hot, as we couldn't leave the windows open because of the noise(even with the fan). my second biggest issue is the shower. i cannot stand a wall-less shower. water everywhere...unsafe, unsanitary and makes the bathroom unusable by more than one person at a time. i was glad we were only here one night. i should have known by the reviews but sometimes the 5 stars overwhelm my good sense. i would rate it lower but the service really made up for the shortcomings. also great breakfast.

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank mkmd1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen N, Owner at Andersen Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 14 August 2013
Thank you for a nice review and your warm compliments on our service

The summer has been the warmest since 1874 and I am so sorry that we did end up with some hot nigths. The temperature has now cooled down and the small room fans are again helping our guests to get a good nights sleep.

Our bathrooms are small and they all have a shower curtain around the shower / bathtub (typical Danish layout). All the rooms have Molton Brown Green Park exclusive hotel line.

We hope to welcome you back in our cool and lovely spring season.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
46 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2013 via mobile

We spent 4 nights here and we were extremely pleased with the very central location. We, as mother and daughter travellers, felt safe here too.

We really liked the fun, clean and modern decor and agreed that staying in a brilliant room, was indeed brilliant!

Breakfast, a continental buffet, was plentiful and tasty. It really set us up for the day ahead.

And now for the reason I felt I just had to review the hotel on here. The service we received from reception staff was just fantastic. Staff were knowledgeable and helpful about the area, they were polite and friendly and made us very welcome.

The hotel's best asset is without a doubt Sean on reception- hope you get to read this Sean! He is a delight to spend time with, hilarious company, extremely helpful and certainly an outstanding member if staff who goes the extra mile to ensure guests are happy.

Staff were thrilled to have been awarded the number one slot on the hotel rankings this week and we enjoyed helping them to celebrate. Congratulations, it is well deserved :-)

Scottish mother and daughter team
(Sean, you will know who we are!!)

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Claire S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen N, Owner at Andersen Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 14 August 2013
Thank you for sharing your lovely comments.

We are proud to have so many happy and satisfied guests staying with us and we appreciate all the helpful reviews from our guests.

Our team aim toward having satisfied guests and we like to give service with our heart.

I am pleased to hear you had a great time celebrating our #1 on Trip Advisor together with our team. I will make sure to pass on your warm regards.

We hope to see you in the near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Monica, California
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2013

After spending a month in Scandinavia, I had come to expect a very low level of service. So I was pleasantly surprised to be greeted with a helpful and nice person at the reception desk when I arrived at the Anderson Hotel for the last three days of my time in Denmark. In fact, all three hotel employes I interacted with there were nice and easy to deal with. I stayed in the junior suite and it was a good size. The only downside to the stay (aside from being in Copenhagen) was the loud construction outside that began early each morning, but that seems to be going on all over the city and is not the hotel's fault. If you must go to Copenhagen, this is a good place to stay. In an "edgy" city where it's common to encounter people roaming the streets drunk and waving knives & bottles of alcohol, it was nice to have a bright and clean place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RebeccaED
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen N, Owner at Andersen Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 14 August 2013
Thank you for a wonderful review.

I am sorry you were not found of Copenhagen and thought the level of service throughout Scandinavia was poor.

Hence it is a real cadeau to read your comments on our service and friendly staff.

Hopefully most od the building work throughout the City will end some time soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rayleigh, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013

We think that your holidays experiences are influenced by that first meeting whenever you enter a hotel. The staff at the Andersen Hotel in Copenhagen are simply fantastic. We were greeted with a big smile from the two friendly ladies in reception and they explained that we were three hours too early (which we knew but we had an early flight). They placed our luggage in a secure area, gave us a city map and pointed us towards nearby areas to explore for a few hours until our room was ready.

The hotel is very clean and tidy and also very quiet considering that it has 72 rooms and a lot of families were also staying there. The ladies who served breakfast, cleaners, night staff etc were all similar to the reception staff ie happy, chatty nice people.

The bed is this hotel was the most comfortable that we have ever slept in. I'd go back just for that!

The hotel is approx five minutes from the main station and approx ten minutes to Tivoli Gardens.

Reccomended!

Unrelated to this hotel but something that will affect most people..... the queue to buy train tickets from and to the airport are absolutely horrendous so allow an hour each way excluding travel.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TwoSeabirds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen N, Owner at Andersen Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 12 August 2013
Thank you for a fantastic review.

Our main asset is our hardworking, smiling and friendly staff. We believe excellent service is to be expected in any hospitality establishment. We want our guests to feel we care and actually like our job.

Your review is much appreciated as you confirm we are on right track. We continue to improve and all feedback is used in this process.

Please come back to stay with us again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013

Loved this 'urban' style hotel. Great modern rooms, and super friendly service. It even rained one day, and they gave us umbrellas to use. Location is close to some great bars/ restaurants and shopping... Also not too far from central station. Couldn't have asked for a better experience!

Stayed at a few other hotels in Copenhagen, and Andersen was a thousand times better (and cleaner)

Would definitely stay there again if I go back to beautiful Copenhagen

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Akadius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen N, Owner at Andersen Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 13 August 2013
Thank you for a superb review.

We appreciate your compliments and are happy you like Andersen Hotel, the neighborhood and the central location. It is reassuring that the cleanliness of the hotel lived up to your expectations as our Housekeepers work hard to keep up to our high standards.

We love to welcome you back as our regular guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013

We stayed in this hotel for two nights. It is in a good location near to the Tivoli. So we walked from there to the inner city as well. As we had no reservation we took a family room with more space. This room war very nice and stylish but also quite expensive. The breakfast was very good despite the fact, that they don't offer squirreld eggs or things like this. People there are very friendly. A good but not cheap place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Venris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen N, Owner at Andersen Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 13 August 2013
Thank you for a great review.

It is nice to hear you liked Andersen Hotel and the location.

I am sorry you found Copenhagen to be an expensive city. We try to offer value for money with excellent service, nice design and specialty coffee at a reasonable price. All our rates include our cold Breakfast Buffet. I wonder if our guests would prefer to pay a higher rate for more hot items on the buffet.

Sunday nights are often a cheaper night to stay in Copenhagen.

We hope to welcome you back to Andersen Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Copenhagen hotels
Inner Vesterbro
Absalon Hotel
Absalon Hotel
#6 of 116 in Copenhagen
1,883 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
71 Nyhavn Hotel
71 Nyhavn Hotel
#3 of 116 in Copenhagen
231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Indre By (Inner City)
Hotel Alexandra
Hotel Alexandra
#10 of 116 in Copenhagen
1,279 reviews
Outer Vesterbro
Bertrams Guldsmeden - Copenhagen
Indre By (Inner City)
Copenhagen Admiral Hotel
Copenhagen Admiral Hotel
#22 of 116 in Copenhagen
3,928 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Andersen Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Andersen Boutique Hotel

Property: Andersen Boutique Hotel
Address: Helgolandsgade 12, Copenhagen 1653, Denmark
Phone Number:
Region: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Inner Vesterbro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 116 Hotels in Copenhagen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Andersen Boutique Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Privately owned Boutique Hotel run by third generation. Central Copenhagen location in the hip,trendy and lively Vesterbro neighborhood. Our aim is to offer the best service in Copenhagen. Decorated in Designers Guild modern bright colors. Rooms feature: Samsung LED TV, desk, minibar and safe. - Daily Wine-Hour for all guests - Free Wi-Fi - Complimentary Continental Breakfast. - Bikes for rent. - CONCEPT24: The room is yours for 24 hours (Late check-out at no extra cost- must be reserved) - Molton Brown Amenities - Honesty Bar ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Nozio Netplan srl, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Andersen Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing