We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An enjoyable stay...am rating average because of the small size of the room!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Andersen Boutique Hotel
Ranked #4 of 118 Hotels in Copenhagen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 July 2013

The only criticisms i have of this trendy little boutique hotel were...room was way too small..for 2 people with suitcases it was inadequate...no aircon but as the weather was pleasant we could open the windows as we were overlooking the outdoor area....should have had umbrellas or some sort of covering in the outdoor area as it rained when we were there and everything was wet...and right in the redlight area which my grandchildren thought was funny...
The staff were fantastic but there werent enough of them...the reception guy we had could not have been more accomodating and pleasant...in fact he was excellent...they were overloaded at checkout time but had a pleasant foyer area with cold water and games boards..
I would definitely stay there again but ask for a bigger room next time or have less luggage!

Stayed: July 2013
Thank Andrea R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen N, Owner at Andersen Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2013

Thank you for writing a good review.

It is nice to hear that you enjoyed our Lobby Lounge, the Chess games and the free Wi-Fi.

Our aim is to offer excellent service with a friendly attitude and creating a nice ambiance. I am sorry if you had to wait for our staff to serve you. We will look at this matter in our continuous training.

Cool Double are our smallest rooms. You are always welcome to enquire about an upgrade to a Brilliant Double or an Amazing Junior Suite.

We look forward to welcome you and the family back to Andersen Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,478)
There are newer reviews for Andersen Boutique Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,600 - 1,606 of 2,478 reviews

Reviewed 29 July 2013

The hotel is located 5 minutes from the train station. Be sure to take the correct exit, as we took the main entrance when we first arrived and ended up with a longer walk than necessary! The hotel is close to Tivoli, but a longer walk or bus ride to the other touristy areas. The area was not as seedy as I anticipated but there is a strip club right down the street. At least the Andersen Hotel isn't facing it unlike some other hotels.
Check-in was easy and the staff were friendly and helpful. You can buy the Copenhagen card directly from them without needing to go to the TI office.
We had a corner triple room during our stay, which had plenty of windows to let natural light and a breeze in. There is no air conditioner like the other reviewers mentioned; a small fan is provided in the room. Clean, decent sized room with a large sofabed for the third person. Bathroom was small. The main issue with this room was that it faced the street and the corner liquor store, so it was pretty loud all throughout the night.
Breakfast was excellent overall with a good selection of cold items.

Room Tip: Corner suites with lots of natural light and breeze, but may be loud at night
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wahinekawi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen N, Owner at Andersen Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2013

Thank you for a nice and appropriate review.

We have Copenhagen Card, ticket to Tivoli Gardens, The Blue Planet and various attractions and sightseeing tours at the Front Desk. We also rent bikes and we love to asstist with different kind of restaurants suggestions and reservations.

Follow us on Facebook for upcomming events and fun things to do in the city. We have DJ events every month and changing art exhibition in our Lobby.

Please come back to stay with us in the near future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

When we arrived at the hotel we believed that we had paid for our stay, but the receptionist told us that they had forgotten to deduct the amount of money from the credit card we had given information about when we booked our stay at Andersen Hotel. This made us feel unsafe and it seemed unprofecional. Except from this, the staff seemed very polite. The receptions seemed under staffed during the rush hours around check-out time. We had to wait for several minutes to check out and the staff were very stressed. It should be obvious that there is more than one person working at the front desk at times when many people check in and out of the hotel.

The Andersen Hotel is a cool hotel with trendy and colorful design. The design is very completed and one realize that the hotel has made a great effort in the hotel overall.

The room was very clean, but also very small. The beds were soft and comfortable, but the pillows were way too flat and it felt like we slept with our heads on the mattress.

There was no A/C in the room, only a little fan that made a lot of noise. On a very hot mid-summer night we had to keep the windows open, something which caused much noise from the street below.

The neighborhood was characterized by prostitutes, alcoholics and sex shops/bars. Close to the Hovedbanegården, the train station where trains easy bring you to the airport. The hotel is also pretty close to Strøget and Tivoli.

The hotel had a cozy backyard with a pleasant atmosphere. Small things could have been done to make the atmosphere even more pleasant. The backyard could have been washed and scrubbed, because there was a lot of dust and dirt on the ground.There could have been proper and emptied ash trays, so that the tables were much more tidy looking.

The breakfast was good, but the selection could have been better. I missed basic hot dishes like bacon and scrambled eggs, maybe beans as well. It could have been a better selection of cheese and ham. The breakfast staff was polite, but seemed stressed. It seemed like they had too much to do, and that they could not satisfy all requirements.

All in all, we did not experience this hotel as a hotel with a #1 rating. We know of several other hotels in Copenhagen with better service, bigger rooms, better breakfast in more quiet neighborhoods.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Karolineontravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen N, Owner at Andersen Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

We are very proud that our guests have just voted us number 1 on Trip Advisor , and I am sorry you were disapointed when you arrived.

It is unfortunately, that we did not charge your stay as you anticipated, this should not have happend and I like to apologize.

We have revised our cleaning schedule of the courtyard and thank you for your valuable comment. Furthermore we have cut down on the number of rental bikes as they take up space.

It is never nice to hear that you felt we were understaffed. This is clearly an issue I will deal with urgently. We take great pride in the hotel- and hospitaly industry hence we continue to train and educate new Receptionists.

Trip Advisor is useful when chosing among the strenght and weakness of any property and it might aid one being realistic .

We hope you will return if your preference is a small individual boutique hotel in busy Vesterbro. Our focus is still exellent service, great eperience and nice design. No matter our ranking

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

6 of us stayed at the Andersen in July for a long weekend, great location being walking distance with a suitcase from the central station.

Staff were amazing and could not do enough for us and we were given a complementary bottle of champagne when the receptionist found out it was one of our birthdays.

Room very clean with nice fixtures and fittings, rooms generally a bit on the small side but fine for what we needed. Only real criticism is the lack of air conditioning which meant having the window open and therefore allowing noise in, this was only an issue as the weekend we went it was 30+ degrees.

Continental buffet breakfast was really fantastic with good choice of breads, cereals, meats, cheese etc.

I would definitely recommend this hotel and stay here again.

Room Tip: Higher floors better if you need the windows open as less noise
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cerbra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen N, Owner at Andersen Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2013

Thank you for sharing your point of view and your positive recommendations.

The hotel is two bloks from the Central Station - just bear in mind to use the rear exit from the arrival hall. The train ride is only 12 minutes from the International Airport.

We have had an exceptional hot summer this year and we regret that Andersen Hotel does not have A/C but only small fans in the room. Sometimes an ear plug can make you sleep through the noise of an open window. Before we know it fall will hit Copenhagen and our pink umbrellas will be our savior

We hope you will chose Copenhagen for your next trip and we look forward to welcome you all back

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2013

first of all, probably the nicest staff you will find ever in a hotel. wonderful, friendly, helpful. the hotel itself is very much a boutique hotel. my biggest issue with the hotel was the lack of air conditioning, which i didn't realize until i had already booked it and couldn't cancel. our room, a junior suite, faced the street and the weather in copenhagen was nearly 80 degrees. so almost no sleep as it was miserably hot, as we couldn't leave the windows open because of the noise(even with the fan). my second biggest issue is the shower. i cannot stand a wall-less shower. water everywhere...unsafe, unsanitary and makes the bathroom unusable by more than one person at a time. i was glad we were only here one night. i should have known by the reviews but sometimes the 5 stars overwhelm my good sense. i would rate it lower but the service really made up for the shortcomings. also great breakfast.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
Thank mkmd1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen N, Owner at Andersen Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2013

Thank you for a nice review and your warm compliments on our service

The summer has been the warmest since 1874 and I am so sorry that we did end up with some hot nigths. The temperature has now cooled down and the small room fans are again helping our guests to get a good nights sleep.

Our bathrooms are small and they all have a shower curtain around the shower / bathtub (typical Danish layout). All the rooms have Molton Brown Green Park exclusive hotel line.

We hope to welcome you back in our cool and lovely spring season.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2013 via mobile

We spent 4 nights here and we were extremely pleased with the very central location. We, as mother and daughter travellers, felt safe here too.

We really liked the fun, clean and modern decor and agreed that staying in a brilliant room, was indeed brilliant!

Breakfast, a continental buffet, was plentiful and tasty. It really set us up for the day ahead.

And now for the reason I felt I just had to review the hotel on here. The service we received from reception staff was just fantastic. Staff were knowledgeable and helpful about the area, they were polite and friendly and made us very welcome.

The hotel's best asset is without a doubt Sean on reception- hope you get to read this Sean! He is a delight to spend time with, hilarious company, extremely helpful and certainly an outstanding member if staff who goes the extra mile to ensure guests are happy.

Staff were thrilled to have been awarded the number one slot on the hotel rankings this week and we enjoyed helping them to celebrate. Congratulations, it is well deserved :-)

Scottish mother and daughter team
(Sean, you will know who we are!!)

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Claire S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen N, Owner at Andersen Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2013

Thank you for sharing your lovely comments.

We are proud to have so many happy and satisfied guests staying with us and we appreciate all the helpful reviews from our guests.

Our team aim toward having satisfied guests and we like to give service with our heart.

I am pleased to hear you had a great time celebrating our #1 on Trip Advisor together with our team. I will make sure to pass on your warm regards.

We hope to see you in the near future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2013

After spending a month in Scandinavia, I had come to expect a very low level of service. So I was pleasantly surprised to be greeted with a helpful and nice person at the reception desk when I arrived at the Anderson Hotel for the last three days of my time in Denmark. In fact, all three hotel employes I interacted with there were nice and easy to deal with. I stayed in the junior suite and it was a good size. The only downside to the stay (aside from being in Copenhagen) was the loud construction outside that began early each morning, but that seems to be going on all over the city and is not the hotel's fault. If you must go to Copenhagen, this is a good place to stay. In an "edgy" city where it's common to encounter people roaming the streets drunk and waving knives & bottles of alcohol, it was nice to have a bright and clean place to stay.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RebeccaED
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen N, Owner at Andersen Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2013

Thank you for a wonderful review.

I am sorry you were not found of Copenhagen and thought the level of service throughout Scandinavia was poor.

Hence it is a real cadeau to read your comments on our service and friendly staff.

Hopefully most od the building work throughout the City will end some time soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Copenhagen hotels
Inner Vesterbro
Absalon Hotel
Absalon Hotel
#6 of 118 in Copenhagen
1,982 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
71 Nyhavn Hotel
71 Nyhavn Hotel
#3 of 118 in Copenhagen
289 reviews
Outer Vesterbro
Bertrams Guldsmeden - Copenhagen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Indre By (Inner City)
Hotel Alexandra
Hotel Alexandra
#10 of 118 in Copenhagen
1,310 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Axel Guldsmeden - Guldsmeden Hotels
Indre By (Inner City)
Hotel D'Angleterre
Hotel D'Angleterre
#1 of 118 in Copenhagen
774 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Andersen Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Andersen Boutique Hotel

Address: Helgolandsgade 12, Copenhagen 1653, Denmark
Phone Number:
Region: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Inner Vesterbro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 118 Hotels in Copenhagen
Price Range: £121 - £254 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Andersen Boutique Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Privately owned Boutique Hotel run by third generation. Central Copenhagen location in the hip,trendy and lively Vesterbro neighborhood. Rooms feature: - A/C, hard Wood floors, double glazed windows, Samsung LED TV, desk, minibar, Nespresso machine and safe. Molton Brown Amenities - Daily Wine-Hour for all guests - - Free Wi-Fi - Honesty Bar, Magazines and Board Games - Complimentary Continental Breakfast - CONCEPT24: The room is yours for 24 hours (Late check-out at no extra cost- must be reserved) -- ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Nozio Netplan srl, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Andersen Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing