We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel and staff, great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Andersen Boutique Hotel
Ranked #4 of 117 Hotels in Copenhagen
Certificate of Excellence
Maine, USA
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great hotel and staff, great location”
Reviewed 1 August 2013

We stayed here in late May before a cruise. The hotel has very helpful front desk staff. They were able to make several restaurant recommendations and arrange a taxi to the cruise terminal. E rooms are pretty newly renovated and fairly large for a downtown European capital. We had the brilliant double rooms. The breakfast was also very good. One night there was entertainment in the lobby, which usually had water and coffee available. It's near Tivoli and the meatpacking district which has nice restaurants and is up and coming.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank USAMaineTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen N, Owner at Andersen Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 26 August 2013
Thank you for nice review.

We are pleased to hear how you enjoyed the area and the Copenhagen Dining scene. We have a lot of very good restaurants and we are more than happy to give recommendations

Throughout the year we hold DJ Events, exhibitions and wine tastings. From October we will open a Pop-Up restaurant and have various food and gourmet tastings. See Facebook for details.

We hope to welcome you back
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,401 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,207
    911
    215
    51
    17
See reviews for
408
1,221
129
271
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (373)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Myers, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 August 2013

Stayed her because several of their sites say you can check in and stay for 24 hours. We arrived at 10am and asked for a room early since we had traveled from us overnight and we wanted to catch a few hours sleep. We were told checkin was at 2 and we were not let in our room a minute earlier. I have traveled many times to Europe and usually hotels are more accommodating. When we left we stored our luggage for a few hours. When we came back to get it the room was jam packed with luggage and door not closed. Luckily nothing was missing. They obviously need to hire more help to clean to get people in their rooms. Also the receptionist was also concierge so we had to wait in line for quite some time whenever we needed something. Hotel was nice but not well run. I would stay in larger hotel more downtown next time.

Room Tip: If you want to get into a room earlier stay in a larger hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frequenteurope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen N, Owner at Andersen Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 9 August 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

It is always nice to be told if something is not working perfectly. From your review we have realized the importance of continuously training our staff. We aim towards a flexible check-in. You are right in a small hotel it is sometimes difficult to offer a room at 10.00 a.m. during a high occupancy period.

We will try to do better in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, IL
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2013

I stayed at the Andersen as the first part of my European trip. They were very accomodating, I had pre-asked for a higher up room and fan (no a/c) and had both of those things. It was beautiful weather but cool at night so with the window open I was fine, I had read complaints about noise, but I really didn't find this to be a problem. The staff was always very pleasant and they were helpful with restaurant suggestions or whatever I asked. There is a computer to use in the lobby or they will lend you the iPad - I suggest if it's nice, you go out back and sit outside to use it. Breakfast was good with lots of choices of cereals, there was cheese, yogurt, bread, fruits, etc. The hotel is about 1 1/2 blocks from a grocery (on Vesterbrogade), a short walk to Tivoli, and a nice stroll (I love to walk) to a large shopping area, the canals, and more. The queen's palace was further, and I didn't try the public transportation, but if you like walking it's not hard to get to it. The only think I didn't like was the shower being a curtain that you pulled across the small bathroom, but it still felt clean so it wasn't so bad. Love my rubber duck too :)

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jill567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen N, Owner at Andersen Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 21 August 2013
Thank you for a valuable review.

It is nice to read that beside the shower curtain you did like everything at Andersen Hotel.

We have aimed towards a Danish hotel with an international touch and feeling.The bathrooms are very Danish in the design and layout. Small, minimalism and nothing fancy. The amenities are Green Line by Molton Brown and the Andersen (Ugly) Duck are found in our suites and at the Front Desk.

The weather has cooled down and it is popular to sit in our back yard with a cold beer or a coffee. Checking news, mails or just online gossip. Lately some of our guests have left magazines with us for other to enjoy.

Our serviceminded and friendly staff is a certainty of an excellent stay and I appreciate your superb headline.

We look forward to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2013

The only criticisms i have of this trendy little boutique hotel were...room was way too small..for 2 people with suitcases it was inadequate...no aircon but as the weather was pleasant we could open the windows as we were overlooking the outdoor area....should have had umbrellas or some sort of covering in the outdoor area as it rained when we were there and everything was wet...and right in the redlight area which my grandchildren thought was funny...
The staff were fantastic but there werent enough of them...the reception guy we had could not have been more accomodating and pleasant...in fact he was excellent...they were overloaded at checkout time but had a pleasant foyer area with cold water and games boards..
I would definitely stay there again but ask for a bigger room next time or have less luggage!

Stayed July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Andrea R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen N, Owner at Andersen Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 13 August 2013
Thank you for writing a good review.

It is nice to hear that you enjoyed our Lobby Lounge, the Chess games and the free Wi-Fi.

Our aim is to offer excellent service with a friendly attitude and creating a nice ambiance. I am sorry if you had to wait for our staff to serve you. We will look at this matter in our continuous training.

Cool Double are our smallest rooms. You are always welcome to enquire about an upgrade to a Brilliant Double or an Amazing Junior Suite.

We look forward to welcome you and the family back to Andersen Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013

The hotel is located 5 minutes from the train station. Be sure to take the correct exit, as we took the main entrance when we first arrived and ended up with a longer walk than necessary! The hotel is close to Tivoli, but a longer walk or bus ride to the other touristy areas. The area was not as seedy as I anticipated but there is a strip club right down the street. At least the Andersen Hotel isn't facing it unlike some other hotels.
Check-in was easy and the staff were friendly and helpful. You can buy the Copenhagen card directly from them without needing to go to the TI office.
We had a corner triple room during our stay, which had plenty of windows to let natural light and a breeze in. There is no air conditioner like the other reviewers mentioned; a small fan is provided in the room. Clean, decent sized room with a large sofabed for the third person. Bathroom was small. The main issue with this room was that it faced the street and the corner liquor store, so it was pretty loud all throughout the night.
Breakfast was excellent overall with a good selection of cold items.

Room Tip: Corner suites with lots of natural light and breeze, but may be loud at night
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wahinekawi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen N, Owner at Andersen Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 21 August 2013
Thank you for a nice and appropriate review.

We have Copenhagen Card, ticket to Tivoli Gardens, The Blue Planet and various attractions and sightseeing tours at the Front Desk. We also rent bikes and we love to asstist with different kind of restaurants suggestions and reservations.

Follow us on Facebook for upcomming events and fun things to do in the city. We have DJ events every month and changing art exhibition in our Lobby.

Please come back to stay with us in the near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Drammen, Norway
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013

When we arrived at the hotel we believed that we had paid for our stay, but the receptionist told us that they had forgotten to deduct the amount of money from the credit card we had given information about when we booked our stay at Andersen Hotel. This made us feel unsafe and it seemed unprofecional. Except from this, the staff seemed very polite. The receptions seemed under staffed during the rush hours around check-out time. We had to wait for several minutes to check out and the staff were very stressed. It should be obvious that there is more than one person working at the front desk at times when many people check in and out of the hotel.

The Andersen Hotel is a cool hotel with trendy and colorful design. The design is very completed and one realize that the hotel has made a great effort in the hotel overall.

The room was very clean, but also very small. The beds were soft and comfortable, but the pillows were way too flat and it felt like we slept with our heads on the mattress.

There was no A/C in the room, only a little fan that made a lot of noise. On a very hot mid-summer night we had to keep the windows open, something which caused much noise from the street below.

The neighborhood was characterized by prostitutes, alcoholics and sex shops/bars. Close to the Hovedbanegården, the train station where trains easy bring you to the airport. The hotel is also pretty close to Strøget and Tivoli.

The hotel had a cozy backyard with a pleasant atmosphere. Small things could have been done to make the atmosphere even more pleasant. The backyard could have been washed and scrubbed, because there was a lot of dust and dirt on the ground.There could have been proper and emptied ash trays, so that the tables were much more tidy looking.

The breakfast was good, but the selection could have been better. I missed basic hot dishes like bacon and scrambled eggs, maybe beans as well. It could have been a better selection of cheese and ham. The breakfast staff was polite, but seemed stressed. It seemed like they had too much to do, and that they could not satisfy all requirements.

All in all, we did not experience this hotel as a hotel with a #1 rating. We know of several other hotels in Copenhagen with better service, bigger rooms, better breakfast in more quiet neighborhoods.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Karolineontravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen N, Owner at Andersen Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 1 August 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

We are very proud that our guests have just voted us number 1 on Trip Advisor , and I am sorry you were disapointed when you arrived.

It is unfortunately, that we did not charge your stay as you anticipated, this should not have happend and I like to apologize.

We have revised our cleaning schedule of the courtyard and thank you for your valuable comment. Furthermore we have cut down on the number of rental bikes as they take up space.

It is never nice to hear that you felt we were understaffed. This is clearly an issue I will deal with urgently. We take great pride in the hotel- and hospitaly industry hence we continue to train and educate new Receptionists.

Trip Advisor is useful when chosing among the strenght and weakness of any property and it might aid one being realistic .

We hope you will return if your preference is a small individual boutique hotel in busy Vesterbro. Our focus is still exellent service, great eperience and nice design. No matter our ranking
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013

6 of us stayed at the Andersen in July for a long weekend, great location being walking distance with a suitcase from the central station.

Staff were amazing and could not do enough for us and we were given a complementary bottle of champagne when the receptionist found out it was one of our birthdays.

Room very clean with nice fixtures and fittings, rooms generally a bit on the small side but fine for what we needed. Only real criticism is the lack of air conditioning which meant having the window open and therefore allowing noise in, this was only an issue as the weekend we went it was 30+ degrees.

Continental buffet breakfast was really fantastic with good choice of breads, cereals, meats, cheese etc.

I would definitely recommend this hotel and stay here again.

Room Tip: Higher floors better if you need the windows open as less noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cerbra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen N, Owner at Andersen Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 21 August 2013
Thank you for sharing your point of view and your positive recommendations.

The hotel is two bloks from the Central Station - just bear in mind to use the rear exit from the arrival hall. The train ride is only 12 minutes from the International Airport.

We have had an exceptional hot summer this year and we regret that Andersen Hotel does not have A/C but only small fans in the room. Sometimes an ear plug can make you sleep through the noise of an open window. Before we know it fall will hit Copenhagen and our pink umbrellas will be our savior

We hope you will chose Copenhagen for your next trip and we look forward to welcome you all back
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Copenhagen hotels
Inner Vesterbro
Absalon Hotel
Absalon Hotel
#7 of 117 in Copenhagen
1,927 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
71 Nyhavn Hotel
71 Nyhavn Hotel
#3 of 117 in Copenhagen
257 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Hotel Alexandra
Hotel Alexandra
#11 of 117 in Copenhagen
1,294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Outer Vesterbro
Bertrams Guldsmeden - Copenhagen
Indre By (Inner City)
Copenhagen Admiral Hotel
Copenhagen Admiral Hotel
#24 of 117 in Copenhagen
3,988 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Andersen Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Andersen Boutique Hotel

Property: Andersen Boutique Hotel
Address: Helgolandsgade 12, Copenhagen 1653, Denmark
Phone Number:
Region: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Inner Vesterbro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 117 Hotels in Copenhagen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Andersen Boutique Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Privately owned Boutique Hotel run by third generation. Central Copenhagen location in the hip,trendy and lively Vesterbro neighborhood. Rooms feature: - A/C, hard Wood floors, double glazed windows, Samsung LED TV, desk, minibar, Nespresso machine and safe. Molton Brown Amenities - Daily Wine-Hour for all guests - - Free Wi-Fi - Honesty Bar, Magazines and Board Games - Complimentary Continental Breakfast - CONCEPT24: The room is yours for 24 hours (Late check-out at no extra cost- must be reserved) -- ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Nozio Netplan srl, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Andersen Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing