We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel - Very helpful staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Andersen Boutique Hotel
Ranked #3 of 119 Hotels in Copenhagen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 August 2013

The hotel is really good.
Furniture is kinda classy, interior hotel design is really modern.
The staff was professional and helpful.

The hotel location is really close to the central station, which is handy but this means that the neighborhood suffers a bit...

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MarcoDeJesus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen N, Owner at Andersen Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2013

Thank you for a short and very spot on review

Our main asset is our lovely, friendly and helpful staff and I truly appreciate your praise and kind words.

The design is kept in fresh and vibrant colors - nice to hear Designers Guild materials and tapestry were to your liking

We hope you will pop by again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,700)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,767 - 1,773 of 2,700 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2013

We booked the hotel after seeing it was number 1 on Trip Advisor but while the staff were absolutely delightful, we found the hotel to be fairly average. The bathrooms were very bland (standard hotel fare!) and the rooms were okay. Definitely book on the 'back of the hotel' - not the front noiser part. The breakfast room is far too small to accommodate the guests, we had to try to get a table for breakfast 3 times before a table became free! The neighbourhood is very unattractive and the pavements around church behind it was absolutely littered with drug taking paraphernalia - be careful where you step!!!! I would probably not return to this hotel, I would look for something in a nicer neighbourhood with more going for it.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the back of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RoseLondon2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen N, Owner at Andersen Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2013

Thank you for a very useful review.

It is pleasant to hear how you like Andersen Hotel. I am sorry to read your point of view on the area by the church. To follow up we have contacted the police and asked for a general clean-up and we trust this will take place.

Vesterbro is a diverse neighborhood. Hopefully the renovation of Istedgade will upgrade the street to be like the more quiet Helgolandsgade.

We hope you will come back to Vesterbro and explore the Meatpacking Area, the Galleries and Restaurants.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2013

It's a good hotel. The rooms aren't big but they're really well set out with classy boutique furniture and fittings. Our bathroom was small; no shower cubicle, just a shower curtain round a small area and a small drain in the floor (so effectively a wet room), but it worked. Nothing got flooded. OK, you probably couldn't have two people using the bathroom at the same time but that wasn't a problem for us. The wi-fi is fast and worked instantly - no need to log in. Breakfast is continental style - nothing hot - but there's a pretty comprehensive selection of things to eat and drink (and lots of it). Be warned though if you like decaff drinks - they're pretty rare in Copenhagen; the city just doesn't do them. Luckily I always travel with Roiboos tea bags but I did miss my decaff flat whites when out and about.

The area is described as up and coming but it is quite seedy. On the plus side it's a 5-minute walk to Copenhagen Central train station which is really convenient when you're lugging/wheeling heavy bags.

There's no aircon in the rooms - it was warm when we were there and the rooms were a little stuffy. The desktop fan worked well to cool things down - after our first (hot) night we left it on all night and slept much better. Oddly though, the duvet in our room didn't feel like a thin summer-weight one, more like a heavier winter-weight one. I did ask about a lighter duvet but met a bit of blank with my enquiries.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Saesnes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen N, Owner at Andersen Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share a valuable review.

This summer has been very hot and we are aware some nights have been difficult to sleep through. The fall is on its way and we will soon be ready to turn on the heat.

The Wi-Fi must be working perfectly, be fast and easy to use. We want to continuously offer this complimentary service and apologize the few times our provider had difficulties.

Luckily the rest of Copenhagen is within bicycle reach - and you may easily explore with Andersen Hotel as your base

We hope to welcome you back in the future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2013

We had a nice three night stay at the Anderson hotel. First, it is just a two block walk from the back side of the Central Station. The walk is short but, especially in the evening, there can be a number of seedy looking characters around. As mentioned in other reviews, there were a couple of streetwalkers positioned around the hotel. Since I grew up in the city, that along with the typical aggressive panhandlers really freaked out my spouse. The room is smaller (even the slighter bigger room). The Wi-Fi is fast and doesn't require that you log in and out every time like most hotels. That is nicer than it sounds. No AC but even during a relative hot set of days, an open window and fan are enough. Breakfast only has old items but it is better than many places that have hot items. Coffee was hot and strong. Easy to pick up a bus from the hotel. Also, a good Indian/Paki restaurant place just up the block. Trendy restaurants in the meatpacking area are only a 5 minute walk away. Overall, recommended as long as you don't mind an inner city vibe at night.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank 5fortravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen N, Owner at Andersen Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2013

Thank you for sharing your point of view.

The neighborhood is always a hot topic - Vesterbro offers a bit of everything and you might meet all kinds of people on the corner. The location is convenient and near the Central Train Station and the Meatpacking Area.

Our breakfast buffet serves cold food and yes, we love strong coffee. We also have Nescafé if some of our guests prefers this alternative. Our tea selection is excellent and we hope to tempt our guests to try our specialty tea.

Hopefully the area will continue to clean up and we look forward to welcome you back to Andersen Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2013

Although we asked for a Junior Suite on a higher floor already in March we got a room on the 2nd floor (out of 5 floors). On the internet the bath was described having a bathtub, however it only had a shower tub with a shower curtain. Not what we expected. The room however was clean. The name "Junior Suite" indeed a little bit overdrawn. Breakfast was okay, but also not exciting. Filter coffee was included, Latte Macchiato, Espresso or Cappuccino had to be paid extra (DKK 25 each). All in all, the hotel was okay, however I would not recomment it to friends and also not return myself either. For a nightly rate of DKK 1'800 I would have expected more.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank redly1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen N, Owner at Andersen Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2013

Thank you for a helpful review.

I am sorry your expectations were not met regarding the Junior Suite. The rooms are all quite small, and we believe the size difference between a standard room and a Junior suite is significant. Some of the Jr.Suites have a large bathroom with shower and other have a smaller bathroom with bathtub.

I regret we forgot to ask for your preference. You are always welcome to change room if you are not happy with our choice. A few of our guests appreciate that they can look a various rooms before check-in.

A small Boutique Hotel has its charm and should not be compared to an large chain hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2013

We stayed here in late May before a cruise. The hotel has very helpful front desk staff. They were able to make several restaurant recommendations and arrange a taxi to the cruise terminal. E rooms are pretty newly renovated and fairly large for a downtown European capital. We had the brilliant double rooms. The breakfast was also very good. One night there was entertainment in the lobby, which usually had water and coffee available. It's near Tivoli and the meatpacking district which has nice restaurants and is up and coming.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank USAMaineTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen N, Owner at Andersen Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2013

Thank you for nice review.

We are pleased to hear how you enjoyed the area and the Copenhagen Dining scene. We have a lot of very good restaurants and we are more than happy to give recommendations

Throughout the year we hold DJ Events, exhibitions and wine tastings. From October we will open a Pop-Up restaurant and have various food and gourmet tastings. See Facebook for details.

We hope to welcome you back

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2013

Stayed her because several of their sites say you can check in and stay for 24 hours. We arrived at 10am and asked for a room early since we had traveled from us overnight and we wanted to catch a few hours sleep. We were told checkin was at 2 and we were not let in our room a minute earlier. I have traveled many times to Europe and usually hotels are more accommodating. When we left we stored our luggage for a few hours. When we came back to get it the room was jam packed with luggage and door not closed. Luckily nothing was missing. They obviously need to hire more help to clean to get people in their rooms. Also the receptionist was also concierge so we had to wait in line for quite some time whenever we needed something. Hotel was nice but not well run. I would stay in larger hotel more downtown next time.

Room Tip: If you want to get into a room earlier stay in a larger hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Frequenteurope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen N, Owner at Andersen Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

It is always nice to be told if something is not working perfectly. From your review we have realized the importance of continuously training our staff. We aim towards a flexible check-in. You are right in a small hotel it is sometimes difficult to offer a room at 10.00 a.m. during a high occupancy period.

We will try to do better in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Copenhagen hotels
Inner Vesterbro
Absalon Hotel
Absalon Hotel
#6 of 119 in Copenhagen
2,152 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
71 Nyhavn Hotel
71 Nyhavn Hotel
#4 of 119 in Copenhagen
376 reviews
Outer Vesterbro
Bertrams Guldsmeden - Copenhagen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Indre By (Inner City)
Skt. Petri
Skt. Petri
#9 of 119 in Copenhagen
409 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Nimb Hotel
Nimb Hotel
#2 of 119 in Copenhagen
467 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Axel Guldsmeden - Guldsmeden Hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Andersen Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Andersen Boutique Hotel

Address: Helgolandsgade 12, Copenhagen 1653, Denmark
Phone Number:
Region: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Inner Vesterbro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 119 Hotels in Copenhagen
Price Range: £114 - £264 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Andersen Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Privately owned Boutique Hotel run by third generation. Central Copenhagen location in the hip, trendy and lively Vesterbro neighborhood. Rooms feature: - A/C, hard wood floors, double glazed windows, Samsung LED TV, desk, snack bar, Nespresso machine and safe. Molton Brown Amenities - Daily Wine-Hour for all guests - - Free Wi-Fi - Honesty Bar, Magazines and Board Games - Complimentary Continental Breakfast - CONCEPT24: The room is yours for 24 hours (Late check-out at no extra cost- must be reserved) -- ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Nozio Netplan srl, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Andersen Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing