We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hans Christian would be proud...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Andersen Boutique Hotel
Ranked #3 of 117 Hotels in Copenhagen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Hans Christian Andersen lived the other side of town but if he'd been around today he'd have moved in to his namesake hotel - and stayed for months (he was like that). Our anniversary trip to Copenhagen in mid-September was a 48 hour fairy tale of delights. Copenhagen hotels are usually poor value for money and have often seen better days but the Andersen is a cut above. We were upgraded for free on arrival, and were given large airy, newly refurbished room under the roof, huge by Copenhagen hotel standards. We hired excellent well-maintained bikes for 24 hours directly and cheaply from the hotel and cycled all over the city in the late summer sunshine (sun not guaranteed). Vesterbro is a bustling and trendy area with good cafes and restaurants. Main train station with direct trains to the airport is a few minutes walk away. Breakfast is a copious and delicious buffet. We enjoyed our stay. Copenhagen is wonderful, and will be wonderfuller still when they finally put all the roads back into the holes they have dug everywhere. Virtually every street currently has a gaping hole where they are installing new metro lines / district heating pipes / fibre optic cables, etc. The one downside right now of this forward-thinking city.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AJMarson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen N, Owner at Andersen Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2013

Thank you for sharing your thoughts it is much appreciated.

My grandmother (Erna Andersen) would also have been very proud to see the hotel she gave name to. As third generation running our hotels is wonderful to get positive feedback on the design, the service and the Andersen Boutique vibe.

We will all be relieved the day the metro work is finished. A bit too much is happening in the streets, but I believe it is a sign of a healthy economy. Istedgade will be all done by Christmas and we look forward to an upgraded street.

Bikes are for rent at the Front Desk for DKK 100.- per day. They come with lights and you may keep them all night.

We hope to see you back in Copenhagen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,659)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,647 - 1,653 of 2,660 reviews

Reviewed 13 October 2013

We had a long stay in September and truly enjoyed the hotel and staff. The breakfast is first rate and a good start to the day. The staff was friendly and knowledgable. The hotel is close to sites and transportation. Consider this hotel, it's worth it.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank EC_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen N, Owner at Andersen Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 November 2013

Thank you for an excellent review.

We are always thankful when our guests take the time to care enough to wrtite a review. It is a wonderful tool for us to keep improving and keeping our promises and a true help to all future guests.

A recommendation from a truly well travel person is worth so much more to us. And to read how you liked Andersen Boutique Hotel, the service and the location is really nice. Thank you

We hope to welcome you back very soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

The Anderson is a little dated in terms of decor but the friendliness, efficiency and energy of the staff makes up for it. Anne at reception is excellent and has the answers to any travellers questions.
It's close to the main strip and handy to everything. It has functional wifi. Rooms are small but adequate for any traveller. I recommend this small but friendly hotel.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Salliestone123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen N, Owner at Andersen Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 November 2013

Thank you for a helpful review.

Our aim is to offer the best service in Copenhagen and we are pleased to hear we lived up to your ecpectations. All our staff is very experienced and we love to share our knowledge with our guests

The hotel was renovated in 2012, hence the decoration might be last season to some. The staircase is original and old school design. The elevator is both small and original. The materials and tapestry are from Designers Guild and kept in fresh colours. Lamps are specially designed to Andersen Hotel by Frandsen Lightning.

We look forward to welcome you back to Copenhagen and our hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2013

Stayed there for one night and really enjoyed it!
Very modern and stylish, receptionists were very helpful when I had a special request, location pretty central.
A bit expensive, but accommodation in general is expensive in Copenhagen.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VB1284
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

This is a lovely boutique hotel. The location of the hotel is a little further away from the centre, but not too far. If the weather had not been so good during our visit, I might have felt differently. The staff are extremely pleasant and helpful. Our room faced the street and although the road was undergoing works whilst we were there, this didn't bother us too much. The room was quite small, but nicely furnished. The autumn weather set in whilst we were there and when I asked about heating, a portable heater was brought to our room within 10 minutes. Breakfast was fabulous. Very fresh, great selection and restocked right up until the finish time. There are plenty of cafés and great restaurants nearby. I would mention that the hotel is located very close to a 'red light' street, sex shops and a hostel, none of which were bothersome. However, had I been travelling alone and not with my husband, I'm not sure how I would have felt about this.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank 8lackCardigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013 via mobile

I stayed here with two friends on a quick mid week break in July. Fantastic hotel, beautiful rooms, comfy beds and an amazing bathroom! (Perfect after 3 months backpacking!) Design is beautiful & breakfast was amazing! Friendly staff & great location!

Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Austraveller182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013

Had a great stay at Andersen Hotel. The room is very stylish (as the hotel itself), quiet, bed is comfy, bathroom is clean. Everything was perfect. Besides, the localization is excellent, whithin a short walk from Central Station. Breakfast is good, staff is very friendly - especially Brit, who helped us many time always with a smile on her face. Would definitely recommed and can't wait to return.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrea_GK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Copenhagen hotels
Inner Vesterbro
Absalon Hotel
Absalon Hotel
#6 of 117 in Copenhagen
2,104 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
71 Nyhavn Hotel
71 Nyhavn Hotel
#4 of 117 in Copenhagen
352 reviews
Outer Vesterbro
Bertrams Guldsmeden - Copenhagen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Indre By (Inner City)
Skt. Petri
Skt. Petri
#8 of 117 in Copenhagen
350 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Axel Guldsmeden - Guldsmeden Hotels
Indre By (Inner City)
Hotel Alexandra
Hotel Alexandra
#10 of 117 in Copenhagen
1,350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Andersen Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Andersen Boutique Hotel

Address: Helgolandsgade 12, Copenhagen 1653, Denmark
Phone Number:
Region: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Inner Vesterbro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 117 Hotels in Copenhagen
Price Range: £113 - £279 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Andersen Boutique Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Privately owned Boutique Hotel run by third generation. Central Copenhagen location in the hip,trendy and lively Vesterbro neighborhood. Rooms feature: - A/C, hard Wood floors, double glazed windows, Samsung LED TV, desk, minibar, Nespresso machine and safe. Molton Brown Amenities - Daily Wine-Hour for all guests - - Free Wi-Fi - Honesty Bar, Magazines and Board Games - Complimentary Continental Breakfast - CONCEPT24: The room is yours for 24 hours (Late check-out at no extra cost- must be reserved) -- ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Nozio Netplan srl, Travel Republic (UK), 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Andersen Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing