We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect hotel for a citytrip!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Andersen Boutique Hotel
Ranked #7 of 116 Hotels in Copenhagen
Certificate of Excellence
Amstelveen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
110 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Perfect hotel for a citytrip!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2013

Went to Copenhagen with my sister and our daughters for 4 days. Booked hotel well in advance, mostly based on Tripadvisor reviews. Turned out they were right :-).
Hotel is a 5 minutes walk from the Copenhagen Central Station - which in turn is a simple approx. 15 min trainride from the airport.
It's located in what seems to be a very up- and coming neighbourhood with lots of hotels, and bars and restaurants in the 'meatpacking' district. Very nice and lively, and easy to find a place for lunch or dinner. Make sure to book a table as around 8 o'clock waiting times in popular restaurants can run up to an hour or more.
As I'm a ver bad sleeper when booking specifically asked for as quiet a room as possible, but still close to the other room we booked. Upon arrival they immediately referred to this, and had taken the trouble to even upgrade one room free of charge so we could be together. Unfortunately room facing the courtyard was still very noisy. Same nice blonde receptionist then went out of her way to ensure we would get another room on a higher floor. In which we slept very well! Though rooms on streetside can be noisy, as it's a lively neighbourhood especially in weekends, my sister and daughter weren't bothered by this at all and slept right through it - so don't be taken aback. Iff you're a light sleeeper: ask for a room on a higher floor, room 88 fi.
Room was nicely decorated, and obviously still quite new. Nice colors, wonderfully comfy bed, great shower. Breakfast was ver good as well with lots of choices for muesli, yoghurt, dried fruits - as well as croissants etc.
Reception was also very helpful when we'd forgotten some important medication, and gave good tips re restaurants. One day hired bikes at the hotel for 100 dkk pp and had a great time biking around Copenhagen.
For any next visit to this wonderful city will most definitely book at the Andersen Hotel!

Room Tip: If you're a light sleeper; ask for a room facing the courtyard, on a high floor (4 or 5).
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarionEngelschman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kn1653cph, Owner at Andersen Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 17 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time write a very helpful review.

It is true the higher floors are more quiet especially with the current road work. We all count down to mid December, when it is scheduled to be done.

The rooms are decorated in Designers Guild materials and tapestry. The top floors are magenta and purple called Princess and the lower floors are green and turquise called Mermaid. You are always welcome to look at our homepage to get an idea of the decoration. 1st Floor is classic and blue.

It is always fun to rent a bike and explore Copenhagen. If it is raining we are near the central station and many buslines. It is free of charge to bring your bike on the S-train.

We guess you will be back in the future and look forward to welcome you back
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,146 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,047
    830
    202
    51
    16
See reviews for
353
1,095
112
255
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (355)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

Hans Christian Andersen lived the other side of town but if he'd been around today he'd have moved in to his namesake hotel - and stayed for months (he was like that). Our anniversary trip to Copenhagen in mid-September was a 48 hour fairy tale of delights. Copenhagen hotels are usually poor value for money and have often seen better days but the Andersen is a cut above. We were upgraded for free on arrival, and were given large airy, newly refurbished room under the roof, huge by Copenhagen hotel standards. We hired excellent well-maintained bikes for 24 hours directly and cheaply from the hotel and cycled all over the city in the late summer sunshine (sun not guaranteed). Vesterbro is a bustling and trendy area with good cafes and restaurants. Main train station with direct trains to the airport is a few minutes walk away. Breakfast is a copious and delicious buffet. We enjoyed our stay. Copenhagen is wonderful, and will be wonderfuller still when they finally put all the roads back into the holes they have dug everywhere. Virtually every street currently has a gaping hole where they are installing new metro lines / district heating pipes / fibre optic cables, etc. The one downside right now of this forward-thinking city.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AJMarson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen N, Owner at Andersen Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 10 November 2013
Thank you for sharing your thoughts it is much appreciated.

My grandmother (Erna Andersen) would also have been very proud to see the hotel she gave name to. As third generation running our hotels is wonderful to get positive feedback on the design, the service and the Andersen Boutique vibe.

We will all be relieved the day the metro work is finished. A bit too much is happening in the streets, but I believe it is a sign of a healthy economy. Istedgade will be all done by Christmas and we look forward to an upgraded street.

Bikes are for rent at the Front Desk for DKK 100.- per day. They come with lights and you may keep them all night.

We hope to see you back in Copenhagen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eau Claire
Level Contributor
27 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2013 via mobile

We had a long stay in September and truly enjoyed the hotel and staff. The breakfast is first rate and a good start to the day. The staff was friendly and knowledgable. The hotel is close to sites and transportation. Consider this hotel, it's worth it.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank EC_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen N, Owner at Andersen Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 24 November 2013
Thank you for an excellent review.

We are always thankful when our guests take the time to care enough to wrtite a review. It is a wonderful tool for us to keep improving and keeping our promises and a true help to all future guests.

A recommendation from a truly well travel person is worth so much more to us. And to read how you liked Andersen Boutique Hotel, the service and the location is really nice. Thank you

We hope to welcome you back very soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2013 via mobile

The Anderson is a little dated in terms of decor but the friendliness, efficiency and energy of the staff makes up for it. Anne at reception is excellent and has the answers to any travellers questions.
It's close to the main strip and handy to everything. It has functional wifi. Rooms are small but adequate for any traveller. I recommend this small but friendly hotel.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Salliestone123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen N, Owner at Andersen Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 24 November 2013
Thank you for a helpful review.

Our aim is to offer the best service in Copenhagen and we are pleased to hear we lived up to your ecpectations. All our staff is very experienced and we love to share our knowledge with our guests

The hotel was renovated in 2012, hence the decoration might be last season to some. The staircase is original and old school design. The elevator is both small and original. The materials and tapestry are from Designers Guild and kept in fresh colours. Lamps are specially designed to Andersen Hotel by Frandsen Lightning.

We look forward to welcome you back to Copenhagen and our hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2013

Stayed there for one night and really enjoyed it!
Very modern and stylish, receptionists were very helpful when I had a special request, location pretty central.
A bit expensive, but accommodation in general is expensive in Copenhagen.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VB1284
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013

This is a lovely boutique hotel. The location of the hotel is a little further away from the centre, but not too far. If the weather had not been so good during our visit, I might have felt differently. The staff are extremely pleasant and helpful. Our room faced the street and although the road was undergoing works whilst we were there, this didn't bother us too much. The room was quite small, but nicely furnished. The autumn weather set in whilst we were there and when I asked about heating, a portable heater was brought to our room within 10 minutes. Breakfast was fabulous. Very fresh, great selection and restocked right up until the finish time. There are plenty of cafés and great restaurants nearby. I would mention that the hotel is located very close to a 'red light' street, sex shops and a hostel, none of which were bothersome. However, had I been travelling alone and not with my husband, I'm not sure how I would have felt about this.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank 8lackCardigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013 via mobile

I stayed here with two friends on a quick mid week break in July. Fantastic hotel, beautiful rooms, comfy beds and an amazing bathroom! (Perfect after 3 months backpacking!) Design is beautiful & breakfast was amazing! Friendly staff & great location!

Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Austraveller182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Copenhagen hotels
Inner Vesterbro
Absalon Hotel
Absalon Hotel
#6 of 116 in Copenhagen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,715 reviews
Outer Vesterbro
Bertrams Guldsmeden - Copenhagen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner Vesterbro
Axel Guldsmeden - Guldsmeden Hotels
Indre By (Inner City)
Hotel Kong Arthur
Hotel Kong Arthur
#14 of 116 in Copenhagen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,577 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Hotel Alexandra
Hotel Alexandra
#9 of 116 in Copenhagen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Andersen Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Andersen Boutique Hotel

Property: Andersen Boutique Hotel
Address: Helgolandsgade 12, Copenhagen 1653, Denmark
Phone Number:
Region: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Inner Vesterbro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 116 Hotels in Copenhagen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Andersen Boutique Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Privately owned Boutique Hotel run by third generation. Central Copenhagen location in the hip,trendy and lively Vesterbro neighborhood. Our aim is to offer the best service in Copenhagen. Decorated in Designers Guild modern bright colors. Rooms feature: Samsung LED TV, desk, minibar and safe. - Daily Wine-Hour for all guests - Free Wi-Fi - Complimentary Continental Breakfast. - Bikes for rent. - CONCEPT24: The room is yours for 24 hours (Late check-out at no extra cost- must be reserved) - Molton Brown Amenities - Honesty Bar ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Nozio Netplan srl, Booking.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Andersen Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing