We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Andersen Boutique Hotel
Ranked #7 of 116 Hotels in Copenhagen
Certificate of Excellence
Champaign, Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“Friendly, great location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2013

My daughter and I stayed here before a cruise Sept 18, 2013. The room was upgraded without even asking to a Jr. suite. Very reasonable price. Beautiful lobby with a cozy bar for coffee/tea. Delightful, colorful and spotless breakfast room as well.. The desk clerks went out of their way to give us restaurant tips, get taxis and tickets for Tivoli Gardens, which is in walking distance. the breakfast the next morning was a full ,very large spread. We were most happy how well they accommodated my daughter who has food allergies. the cook came out and made sure everything was gluten free. Very helpful, friendly staff.

Room Tip: Even front room was quiet with construction going on..never heard a thing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelbug1920
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kn1653cph, Owner at Andersen Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 17 November 2013
Thank you for a fantastic review.

Sounds like you and your daughter had a wonderful time in Andersen Hotel and Copenhagen.

Amazing Jr. Suite is our largest room type and many believe it is good value for money. Some have a bathtub and others a stand alone shower.

We want our Lobby Lounge to be a pleasant and relaxed place. There is free wi-fi, board games, international magazines and plenty of beverages to choose from. And great company from my lovely, friendly and helpful collegues.

If we know about allergies or special needs we are happy to do our utmost to cater accordingly

We hoep to welcome you back next time you are in Copenhagen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,143 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,044
    830
    202
    51
    16
See reviews for
352
1,093
112
255
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (355)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
76 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2013

We had a delightful stay at the Andersen Hotel. The location is perfect - the train from the airport stops at the Central Station, and the hotel is a very short walk from the station. Check-in was a pleasure. Sean welcomed us and gave us great advice about the many good restaurants in the area. Our room was comfortable and well outfitted. I think it was recently re-done - everything was very fresh looking, with lots of fun touches. Good breakfast, too. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank laurag3023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen N, Owner at Andersen Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 24 November 2013
Thank you for your review.

It sounds like yo had a wonderful time and took advantage of our knowledgeable and helpfull staff. We all love and know our City and the secrets that comes with being a local Copenhagener.

You are always welcome to contact us beforehand to ask for suggestions, recommendations and reservations.

We look forward to welcome you back
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
60 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2013

We arrived late at night to the cab driver telling us to watch our bags as this was a 'bad neighbourhood'. In fact, it was fine, there were a few strip clubs near the hotel, but at no point did I feel unsafe or threatened at all. The hotel is about 2 minutes from central station, so is very well located. Rooms are clean and decked out nicely (one side of the double bed is soft and the other hard, so there is something for everyone!). As we arrived late there was no food available (pop up restaurant isn't every night), but we managed to get food from the 7 Eleven around the corner - worth bearing in mind if you are a late arrival to eat before you get to the hotel or check the restaurant is open that night. The reception staff are very helpful printing out various train times so we would make our meetings on time.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonWaffle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen N, Owner at Andersen Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 24 November 2013
Thank you for sharing a review

We appreciate feedback and aim towards doing our utmost to offer an excellent service and experience to our guests.

It was a surprise to read the taxi drivers comments on Vesterbro. We do comments on the area, one that is often repeated is how safe our guests feel, including female travellers. You might meet a drunk or a homeless in Istedgade, honestly I feel more sorry than afraid of them.

The neighborhood offers everything from designer shops, to galleries and the Meatpacking Area's restaurants. The newest is "KUL" (coal) and already very popular among the local hipsters.

We hope to welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2013

I summarized the experience to my friends as an expensive hostel. The front desk staff was very helpful but the good experience ends there. There was only one english channel on the TV (BBC World). There were no phones or clocks in the rooms. I couldn't call my travel companion staying there in another room, we had to email each other. I stayed three nights and my room was not cleaned once. I was out with a YES on my door from 9-1 on the first day, returned for 20 minutes and took off the YES, only to find a bag of towels on my door when leaving again. The next day I was out from 9 to 3:30 with a YES on my door. I came back and took it off and 15 minutes later there was a bag of towels on my door. No kettles or other amenities. My room was freezing. I paid for a brilliant Double and luckily stayed alone as you could not get out of the other side of the bed. The rooms were very expensive given what we got. I was very disappointed. There was construction outside my window (outside the hotel's control obviously) which looks long term and is very noisy early in the morning. The other room was a Single Brilliant. The bathroom was like that on a cruise ship. Shower pretty much over the toilet and they give you a brush to take the water off the floor you want to stand on and push it down the drain in the floor. Wow! I still can't believe that one. The rooms cost around $300US per night. Definitely expecting more for that, even in Europel

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LovesToTravel1803
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen N, Owner at Andersen Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 24 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your points and personal experiences.

First of all, I like to apologize for the Housekeeping issues. We will look into this matter with our Housekeeping Manager.

As previously written our guests are always welcome to contact the Front Desk for any matter small or big. As the rooms vary in size, decor and view we are more than happy to find a suitable room for any individual needs or requests. But it is much easier if we know about an issue before or during your stay.

The rooms do not have telephones, hence we borrow mobiles to borrow for free at the front desk.

The rooms do not have kettles as we serve excellent tea and specialty coffee for a reasonable price in our lobby lounge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amstelveen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
110 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2013

Went to Copenhagen with my sister and our daughters for 4 days. Booked hotel well in advance, mostly based on Tripadvisor reviews. Turned out they were right :-).
Hotel is a 5 minutes walk from the Copenhagen Central Station - which in turn is a simple approx. 15 min trainride from the airport.
It's located in what seems to be a very up- and coming neighbourhood with lots of hotels, and bars and restaurants in the 'meatpacking' district. Very nice and lively, and easy to find a place for lunch or dinner. Make sure to book a table as around 8 o'clock waiting times in popular restaurants can run up to an hour or more.
As I'm a ver bad sleeper when booking specifically asked for as quiet a room as possible, but still close to the other room we booked. Upon arrival they immediately referred to this, and had taken the trouble to even upgrade one room free of charge so we could be together. Unfortunately room facing the courtyard was still very noisy. Same nice blonde receptionist then went out of her way to ensure we would get another room on a higher floor. In which we slept very well! Though rooms on streetside can be noisy, as it's a lively neighbourhood especially in weekends, my sister and daughter weren't bothered by this at all and slept right through it - so don't be taken aback. Iff you're a light sleeeper: ask for a room on a higher floor, room 88 fi.
Room was nicely decorated, and obviously still quite new. Nice colors, wonderfully comfy bed, great shower. Breakfast was ver good as well with lots of choices for muesli, yoghurt, dried fruits - as well as croissants etc.
Reception was also very helpful when we'd forgotten some important medication, and gave good tips re restaurants. One day hired bikes at the hotel for 100 dkk pp and had a great time biking around Copenhagen.
For any next visit to this wonderful city will most definitely book at the Andersen Hotel!

Room Tip: If you're a light sleeper; ask for a room facing the courtyard, on a high floor (4 or 5).
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarionEngelschman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kn1653cph, Owner at Andersen Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 17 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time write a very helpful review.

It is true the higher floors are more quiet especially with the current road work. We all count down to mid December, when it is scheduled to be done.

The rooms are decorated in Designers Guild materials and tapestry. The top floors are magenta and purple called Princess and the lower floors are green and turquise called Mermaid. You are always welcome to look at our homepage to get an idea of the decoration. 1st Floor is classic and blue.

It is always fun to rent a bike and explore Copenhagen. If it is raining we are near the central station and many buslines. It is free of charge to bring your bike on the S-train.

We guess you will be back in the future and look forward to welcome you back
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

Hans Christian Andersen lived the other side of town but if he'd been around today he'd have moved in to his namesake hotel - and stayed for months (he was like that). Our anniversary trip to Copenhagen in mid-September was a 48 hour fairy tale of delights. Copenhagen hotels are usually poor value for money and have often seen better days but the Andersen is a cut above. We were upgraded for free on arrival, and were given large airy, newly refurbished room under the roof, huge by Copenhagen hotel standards. We hired excellent well-maintained bikes for 24 hours directly and cheaply from the hotel and cycled all over the city in the late summer sunshine (sun not guaranteed). Vesterbro is a bustling and trendy area with good cafes and restaurants. Main train station with direct trains to the airport is a few minutes walk away. Breakfast is a copious and delicious buffet. We enjoyed our stay. Copenhagen is wonderful, and will be wonderfuller still when they finally put all the roads back into the holes they have dug everywhere. Virtually every street currently has a gaping hole where they are installing new metro lines / district heating pipes / fibre optic cables, etc. The one downside right now of this forward-thinking city.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AJMarson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen N, Owner at Andersen Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 10 November 2013
Thank you for sharing your thoughts it is much appreciated.

My grandmother (Erna Andersen) would also have been very proud to see the hotel she gave name to. As third generation running our hotels is wonderful to get positive feedback on the design, the service and the Andersen Boutique vibe.

We will all be relieved the day the metro work is finished. A bit too much is happening in the streets, but I believe it is a sign of a healthy economy. Istedgade will be all done by Christmas and we look forward to an upgraded street.

Bikes are for rent at the Front Desk for DKK 100.- per day. They come with lights and you may keep them all night.

We hope to see you back in Copenhagen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eau Claire
Level Contributor
27 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2013 via mobile

We had a long stay in September and truly enjoyed the hotel and staff. The breakfast is first rate and a good start to the day. The staff was friendly and knowledgable. The hotel is close to sites and transportation. Consider this hotel, it's worth it.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank EC_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen N, Owner at Andersen Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 24 November 2013
Thank you for an excellent review.

We are always thankful when our guests take the time to care enough to wrtite a review. It is a wonderful tool for us to keep improving and keeping our promises and a true help to all future guests.

A recommendation from a truly well travel person is worth so much more to us. And to read how you liked Andersen Boutique Hotel, the service and the location is really nice. Thank you

We hope to welcome you back very soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Copenhagen hotels
Inner Vesterbro
Absalon Hotel
Absalon Hotel
#6 of 116 in Copenhagen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,713 reviews
Outer Vesterbro
Bertrams Guldsmeden - Copenhagen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner Vesterbro
Axel Guldsmeden - Guldsmeden Hotels
Indre By (Inner City)
Hotel Kong Arthur
Hotel Kong Arthur
#14 of 116 in Copenhagen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,577 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Hotel Alexandra
Hotel Alexandra
#9 of 116 in Copenhagen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Andersen Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Andersen Boutique Hotel

Property: Andersen Boutique Hotel
Address: Helgolandsgade 12, Copenhagen 1653, Denmark
Phone Number:
Region: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Inner Vesterbro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 116 Hotels in Copenhagen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Andersen Boutique Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Privately owned Boutique Hotel run by third generation. Central Copenhagen location in the hip,trendy and lively Vesterbro neighborhood. Our aim is to offer the best service in Copenhagen. Decorated in Designers Guild modern bright colors. Rooms feature: Samsung LED TV, desk, minibar and safe. - Daily Wine-Hour for all guests - Free Wi-Fi - Complimentary Continental Breakfast. - Bikes for rent. - CONCEPT24: The room is yours for 24 hours (Late check-out at no extra cost- must be reserved) - Molton Brown Amenities - Honesty Bar ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Nozio Netplan srl, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Andersen Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing