We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Andersen Boutique Hotel
Ranked #3 of 117 Hotels in Copenhagen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 December 2013

We recently started our honeymoon on a 3 night stay in this lovely hotel.

It is a five minute walk to the main train station and a ten minute walk to the many bus stops offering excellent transport links throughout the city although everything was a walk away being such a flat city!

We checked in with no problems and were greeted with a smile at the front desk.

We had booked a brilliant double as we had read the reviews suggesting that the cool rooms may be a little on the small side. The room was spacious and bright and the décor welcoming.

The bathroom was a reasonable size and the products were of a high standard.

The only problem with the room was the temperature control. The room could go from very cold to roasting in little time at all but as the radiators were adjustable this was fixable.

The noise from the exterior of the hotel could sometimes be a little loud due to traffic but generally we were not bothered at all.

The breakfast at the hotel was great. Considering how expensive eating out in Copenhagen is, we were able to fill up on a good selection of food and not eat again until the evening.

The service was good and we never had any problems. Staff are willing to suggest restaurants to visit and the wifi throughout the hotel and the computer in the lobby make research much easier.

All in all, we will stay again if we ever visit Copenhagen.

Room Tip: Pay the extra and stay in a brilliant room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank missdebosiom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen N, Owner at Andersen Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2014

Thank you for a wonderful review and congratulation on your wedding. We hope you will celebrate future anniversaries with us.

Copenhagen is a great city for biking, it is flat, offer plenty of bike lanes and bikes. You may rent bikes at Andersen Hotel any time of the year.

Our room amenities are Molton Browns exclusive hotel serie "Green Park". Glad to hear you liked them.

The cold breakfast buffet is an excellent way to start the day, and the Danish pastries are almost a must when in Denmark.

We look forward to welcome you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,663)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,615 - 1,621 of 2,663 reviews

Reviewed 17 December 2013

Perfect location, just a few minutes walk from Central Station and Tivoli and great value as well. Rooms spotlessly clean and the breakfast was extensive. The 24 hour checkout was perfect for us, meant we could sightsee on the Sunday then come back to freshen up before our evening flight. Yes, there are sex shops nearby but even late at night we did not feel intimidated in any way. Definitely recommend for a weekend in Copenhagen.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tooting3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen N, Owner at Andersen Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 December 2013

Thank you for a wonderful review.

It is always comforting to recieve positive feedback and it sounds like you enjoyed Andersen Hotel.

CONCEPT24 is our unique late check out concept. It allows you to keep the room for 24 hours no matter if you arrive at 14.00 hrs or 21.00 hrs and best of all: It is FREE of charge. Just book upon making your reservation. We try to honor all requests and have had great succes since the opening in 2012

We hope to welcome you back in the near future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2013

We had a good stay here enjoying the location near to the station , but more importantly, the proximity to the meat packing district with its fabulous new restaurants where we ate every night..a four minute walk. This means walking through the remains of the red light district and sex shops and the dispossed addicts queuing at the church. ..not an issue for me but may bother others maybe with young kids
We asked in advance for a quiet room but were given the one by the lift..not too much noise but annoying..and our room was small and an odd shape with an odd shaped bathroom and shower only. It was pretty quiet however and overlooked the courtyard which was fine. Would have liked a bath. Liked the products.

The bed was really comfortable and I liked the decor very much. For us the wifi was fine and worked well with a big download too

Breakfast a standard Scandinavian affair and very welcome.

We found all the staff friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gwynethh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen N, Owner at Andersen Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 December 2013

Thank you for taking your time to write a review. We appreciate all comments and feedback.

Most of the rooms have a bathtub and a few rooms have stand alone shower. You are more than welcome to request in advance or even ask upon arrival if you prefer to look at an alternative room. Designers Guild materials, tapestry and uphostery are used throughout the hotel. Nice to haer how you liked the design.

Another way to The Meatpacking Area is through Helgolandsgade (avoiding the people hanging out at the Church) and then passing Halmtorvet with its nice coffee places. Øksnehallen is an exhibition hall with various events.

Happy New Year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2013

Location great in hipster vesterbro, close to train station and city centre
Rooms ok, all you need wit wifi etc
Breakfast nice
Service rather dismal - check in complications, room not always made etc.
Good but not special

Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
Thank krisis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen N, Owner at Andersen Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 December 2013

Thank you for a valuable review.

I apologize that our service did not meet your expectations and regret you did not inform the Front Desk during your stay. I have spoken to our Houeskeeper and they will review procedures, as we usually get compliments on our cleaning and maintenance.

The cold Breakfast Buffet is complimentary and popular with our international guests.

We look forward to welcome you back and hope you will give us a second try

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2013

Really convenient location - about 5 min walk from Central Station and Tivoli. We didn't find the location or the proximity of the "red light" district a concern. Frankly, if I hadn't read reviews here that mentioned these things, I probably wouldn't have even noticed them at all. We only took advantage of breakfast one day and found it to be exactly what one would expect from a breakfast buffet. We didn't try the pop-up restaurant, as we had booked most all of our meals prior to arriving. WiFi is available, though we found the signal strength to be so weak we just used cell data most of the time. Rooms are adequate - we were in a standard double and, considering the size of the room, I found there to be far too much furniture in the room. The desk and 2 additional chairs were crammed in so tightly that it was difficult to walk around the bed. We almost ended up storing our empty luggage on the window sill, but eventually found a way to make everything fit. It would greatly benefit the functionality of the room to remove the 2 chairs (one at the "desk" - really more of a side table, and one in the corner) and provide a little more "wiggle room". The bathroom was standard, with the expected amenities. Our room faced the courtyard and we had little noise from the outside. This brings me to my first negative - there was LOTS of noise from the neighbors next door (I presume it's all apartments surrounding the hotel). We were in the last room in the hallway, so I'm sure the noise wasn't from fellow hotel go-ers. On Friday night, there was a near constant stomping/banging/door slamming from 10PM until approximately 2AM. This was repeated on Saturday. On Sunday - Tuesday, the noise generally quieted around midnight and started up again around 6AM (presumably someone getting ready for work or school). In general, we found the front desk staff to be friendly and helpful with the exception of the male staff member (my second negative). He was unhelpful with us and downright rude to a family of Spanish-speaking tourists who were speaking to him when we came into the lobby. He had no interest in helping them (or us) find what we were looking for and was quite derisive of tourists and things that he considered touristy…Which makes me think he is rather ill-suited to the hospitality industry.

All in all, we would stay at this hotel again, but we would ask for a room more centrally located (still overlooking the courtyard) in the hopes that this would minimize noise from non-hotel neighbors.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ATinCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen N, Owner at Andersen Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 December 2013

Thank you for a helpful and informative review.

We appreciate all feedback, it is a valuable tool to keep our standards and continuesly improve our services.

It is a good point about the excessive room furniture, and something we definately will look into. It is a bit more difficult with the noise from the neighbors. We will make our own observations and have a talk with them as we expect all neighbors to warn us before any parties or noisy events.

You are always welcome to contact the Front Desk for any concerns or to enquire. The rooms vary in size, decoration and layout, hence we are more than happy to fulfill any wish or request to make your stay as comfortable as possible.

Happy New Year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2013

I have just spent a weekend in this hotel with my daughter and son-in-law and can heartily recommend it. It is in a central location, the staff was extremely friendly and helpful, the breakfasts were excellent and the hotel itself is beautifully furnnished and comfortable.

Room Tip: I had a single room which was on the small side. It was on the third floor and to the back so the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank agnes612016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen N, Owner at Andersen Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 December 2013

Thank you for a wonderful review.

It is always nice when generations travel together and everybody like the hotel, design and location. A few of our single rooms are rather small, but quiet as they face the courtyard.

The complimentary berakfast buffet is a cold buffet with a selection of bread, cold cuts and cereals. We have an extensive tea selection and black coffee. Supplement for any specialty coffee is DKK 25.- (3 Euro).

We hope you and the family will be back in the near future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2013

When did you last meet a person at the front desk of a hotel with a big and honest smile?
We did that at Andersen Hotel in Copenhagen – and it continued that way through the whole stay. The room was very good and the level of service was excellent with good solutions and recommendations on all our different questions. The hotel has a perfect location, close to the central station (only a short walk from the airport express train), close to the pulsating life at Copenhagen’s “Kødbyen” with its nice and cozy cafes, bars and restaurants, a very good breakfast buffet and only a short walk to the Tivoli and shopping area “Strøget”. We will, most certainly, be back the next time we go to Copenhagen.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stig3400
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen N, Owner at Andersen Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 December 2013

Thank you for a wonderful review.

We work hard to make our guests feel comfortable and are happy each time we succeed in appropriate recommendations.

The Vesterbro location is very central and it a good start for either walking or biking when exploring the city. The Meatpacking Area (Kødbyen) offers restaurants, Galleries and nightclubs.

Remember if you arrive by train to take the rear exit (opposite Tivoli) and walk two blocks. The trainride is only 12 minutes form the international airport

We are pleased to hear you will return to Andersen Boutique Hotel and look forward to welcome you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Copenhagen hotels
Inner Vesterbro
Absalon Hotel
Absalon Hotel
#6 of 117 in Copenhagen
2,108 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
71 Nyhavn Hotel
71 Nyhavn Hotel
#4 of 117 in Copenhagen
354 reviews
Outer Vesterbro
Bertrams Guldsmeden - Copenhagen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Indre By (Inner City)
Skt. Petri
Skt. Petri
#8 of 117 in Copenhagen
354 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Axel Guldsmeden - Guldsmeden Hotels
Indre By (Inner City)
Hotel Alexandra
Hotel Alexandra
#10 of 117 in Copenhagen
1,351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Andersen Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Andersen Boutique Hotel

Address: Helgolandsgade 12, Copenhagen 1653, Denmark
Phone Number:
Region: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Inner Vesterbro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 117 Hotels in Copenhagen
Price Range: £114 - £280 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Andersen Boutique Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Privately owned Boutique Hotel run by third generation. Central Copenhagen location in the hip,trendy and lively Vesterbro neighborhood. Rooms feature: - A/C, hard Wood floors, double glazed windows, Samsung LED TV, desk, minibar, Nespresso machine and safe. Molton Brown Amenities - Daily Wine-Hour for all guests - - Free Wi-Fi - Honesty Bar, Magazines and Board Games - Complimentary Continental Breakfast - CONCEPT24: The room is yours for 24 hours (Late check-out at no extra cost- must be reserved) -- ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Nozio Netplan srl, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Andersen Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing