We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Andersen Boutique Hotel
Ranked #4 of 117 Hotels in Copenhagen
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Great stay”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Just returned from a 3 day trip to Copenhagan made all the more wonderful thanks to this lovely hotel. Location is good, 5 minutes form the central station and 10/15 minutes to the Tivoli gardens and the main pedestrian area of the town. Personally i wouldn't get too hung up on what some people have said about the area . Ok, there are a few shops selling "adult toys" nearby but i didn't find the area to be in anyway threatening. But as one review stated if you would have a problem just turn left from the hotel and then right and you won't see it . All the staff were very friendly from those behind reception through to the ladies on hand at breakfast time. Our room on the 5th floor was great (we actually got an upgrade from the larger room i booked to a small suite so thank-you again for that). It was spacious, beautifully decorated and very comfortable. Excellent breakfast with loads to choose from which meant we could fill up until dinner time. I would certainly come back again and would definately recommend a stay at the Andersen hotel to anyone coming to Copenhagan. Oh...and my duck has pride of place in the bathroom :-)

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LondonFifi_04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen N, Owner at Andersen Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Thank you for an excellent review.

It is nice to hear you were happy and truly enjoyed Andersen Boutique Hotel and Copenhagen.

You stayed in our largest room an Amazing Junior Suite with a small sitting area. The occupancy is much higher during summer than in April, hence upgrades are scarce.

Thank you for the comments on the area, it is certaintly a help to future travelers. The Tivoli Garden is within walking distance and the Friday Night Rock concerts are very popular among tourists and locals. We sell entrance tickets at the Front Desk, this makes you skip the line.

Your recommendation is much appreciated and we look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,403 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,208
    911
    216
    51
    17
See reviews for
408
1,223
129
271
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (373)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
171 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2014 via mobile

The hotel is very neat and clean throughout, and the staff are friendly. The design elements area a nice touch. Breakfast was a very good buffet. The location is convenient for the town centre. One note on the location, is that it is on the corner of Istegade, which is not a nice street. The red light area and lots of ne'er-do-wells are there. However, there are a lot of hotels around the area so the Andersen is not unique. Also the atmosphere is not actually bad, and if you only ever turn left out of the hotel doors and walk to town you won't even see the "cultural highlights" of Istegade. I would definitely stay here again as the hotel is really nice. They also have a good deal with the local car park, if you are mad or rich enough to try and drive around the city.

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Sargonix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen N, Owner at Andersen Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Thank you for an excellent review.

It is nice of you to mention the car park, where we sell 24 hours tickets to. The best way to explore the city is without a doubt on a bike. We rent bikes at the Front Desk for DKK 100.- per day and you may take the bike on the S-train free of charge.

Vesterbro has the Meatpacking Area with restaurants, galleries and nightclubs. Tivoli Gardens are just a few minutes away and the Central Station at the end of the street.

We hope you will be back in the near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cumbria
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014

My sons have shaped this review: and I am writing it on our last night at this wonderful hotel...
In their words : " the drinks at happy hour were amazing; the staff were always smiling and amazingly helpful; breakfasts were gourmet; recommended activities were fantastic and we loved playing chess in the lounger area every day. Hi tech and coooool. Comfy beds. Cosy room.The help with suggestions about where to go and what to see which are always good."
In my words: I have stayed in some of the best hotels around the world and I have to say hardly any can match the staff here for whom nothing is too much trouble. The care and attention given to guests is exemplary; what is most impressive is how staff go out of their way to offer little kindnesses and consideration. We had a beautifully decorated room on the 4 th - peaceful , quiet with inordinately comfortable beds. The breakfasts are outstanding, and again such wonderfully, extraordinarily solicitous staff. I wish I knew all the names of the lovely staff who helped us and made this stay so special but thank you Stella, Sean and so many more. Can't wait to return.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lakeypeople
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen N, Owner at Andersen Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Thank you to both you and your sons for a superb review.

We are always happy to make recommendations on tours, what to explore and restaurants. It is nice to hear you appreciated our staffs private recommendations and favourites. They are all extremely dedicated and have a profound knowledge of what Copenhagen has to offer.

The Lobby Lounge is also working as a living room and we are glad everytime our guests play the board games, join our Wine Hour or just relax reading international design magazines. We serve a large selection of local beer, specialty coffee and a selection of tea and much more.

We all hope you will be back to continue your Copenhagen excursions
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the hotel for 2 days from Friday 4th April to Sun 6th April and loved every minute of if. Only one suggestion.... change the washing powder because our towels smelt of vinegar! This aside the staff were fantastic, location great, room extremely clean and comfortable and quiet. Would definitely stay there again :)

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank David O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen N, Owner at Andersen Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Thank you for a perfect review.

We appreciate all comments and use them in our evaluation on how we are meting our guests. We aim towards offering the best personal service as we want our guests to feel comfortable and have an enjoyable stay. Thank you for your feedback which makes us all very happy.

The towels must not smell of anything but clean. We have been in contact with the laundry company and they apologize for the vinegar smell. They just got a green eco certification and thought they could change a procedure. This procedure is no longer taking place and the towels are back to a neutral smell.

We hope you will visit Copenhagen and Andersen Boutique Hotel again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014

This is an ok hotel with individually deigned floors in quirky colors. Very helpful staff compensate for the rather small rooms. Their bathrooms could use an upgrade. Nothing is impossible for the staff and the front desk did their absolute best to accommodate us, including a free upgrade. Breakfast is good and location is ok. Parking is around the corner in an underground garage – odd.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrPollack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen N, Owner at Andersen Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Thank you for a valuable review.

All hotel rooms are decorated in Designers Guild, known for the use of fresh colours in material, tapestry and design. Two floors are Princess Rooms in magenta / purple colours and two floors are Mermaid Rooms in green / turquouise colours.

The room size vary. Cool Rooms are small, Brilliant Rooms medium and Amazing Jr. Suite. Visit our webside for pictures on andersen-hotel.dk.
We will do our utmost to accommodate all requests.

There is unfortunately no private parking at Andersen Hotel. We collaborate with an underground garage one block away and sell 24 hours tickets at the Front Desk at a deducted rate.

We look forward to welcome you back next time you are in Copenhagen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2014

Having read the many positive reports on tripadvisor we decided to choose this hotel for a long weekend to celebrate our wedding anniversary. It proved to be an excellent choice. From the moment we were checked in by Anna to the moment we were waved off by Sean everything was good. We had requested a quiet room and were allocated one on the 1st floor which was appreciated as there was work being carried out on the lift. Our room was spacious with an excellent bathroom. There was a safe which was free to use and a fridge and we were kindly provided with a plate of fresh fruit. Many previous reports have commented on the wine offered between 5 and 6 pm in the reception area. This really is a lovely touch and we thoroughly appreciated it. On our first night there was a show in reception by a local artist and we ended up staying until 8pm meeting up with and chatting to several friendly people. It was a really pleasant evening and completely unexpected. Mia also enhanced the experience with her service and sense of fun. She also later taught us how to use the shower after our brains stopped working !!
The staff in this hotel are without exception so friendly and helpful that it was a pleasure to have known them even for such a short time. Our excellent breakfasts were made even better by chats with our friend Stella who kept us updated with world news. By the way the breakfast will give you a good start to the day. It is continental and there is plenty of choice.
The only thing we had to ask about was a vent in the bedroom that blew cold air out. It just needed closing and is worth a comment should someone else think it a problem.
Overall I would say that the Andersen is one of the best hotels we have stayed in. It is in a most convenient location for the Central Station and would highly recommend it for anyone visiting this fabulous city.

Room Tip: We had room facing the courtyard and it was nice and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank stevedenlewis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen N, Owner at Andersen Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Thank you for a perfect review and for choosing to spend your honeymoon at Andersen Hotel.

We appreciate your positive feedback on our "Live Art Performance" as this was first time we hosted this kind of event. We have decided to continue our Wine Hour throughout the summer season, based on the positive feedback from many guests enjoying the possibility of mingling and meeting other guests.

The rooms on the first floor have been upgraded this winter They now have hard wood floors, Philippe Starck in the bathrooms and new Designers Guild bed spreads in fresh colours.

We hope you will celebrate your future anniversaries with us
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redondo Beach, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2014 via mobile

The Andersen Hotel is conveniently located in Copenhagen. Close to the the train station and walking distance from all tourist destinations.

The people at the hotel were so friendly and helpful. A special heartfelt "thank you" to Stella. Our stay was most enjoyable and memorable. We loved our breakfasts in the morning. There were fresh fruits, breads, Danishes, cured meats and cheeses (and much more). There were healthy organic selections and gluten free options too!

Thank you so much. We can't wait to come back!

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Al A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen N, Owner at Andersen Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Thank you for a very kind review.

Andersen Boutique Hotel is only 2 years old - we will celebrate 1. May 2014 and you are all invited for cake and champagne. The hotel is named after my Grandmother Erna Andersen.

Stella has been working for the family for 25 years, and I hope all guests have a chance to meet her at breakfast. The cold Breakfast Buffet is complimentary and it is nice to hear how you enjoyed the selection. We have a good selection of tea and Danish pastries.

Warm greetings from Copenhagen and we look forward to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Copenhagen hotels
Inner Vesterbro
Absalon Hotel
Absalon Hotel
#6 of 117 in Copenhagen
1,930 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
71 Nyhavn Hotel
71 Nyhavn Hotel
#3 of 117 in Copenhagen
257 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Hotel Alexandra
Hotel Alexandra
#11 of 117 in Copenhagen
1,295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Outer Vesterbro
Bertrams Guldsmeden - Copenhagen
Indre By (Inner City)
Copenhagen Admiral Hotel
Copenhagen Admiral Hotel
#24 of 117 in Copenhagen
3,991 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Andersen Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Andersen Boutique Hotel

Property: Andersen Boutique Hotel
Address: Helgolandsgade 12, Copenhagen 1653, Denmark
Phone Number:
Region: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Inner Vesterbro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 117 Hotels in Copenhagen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Andersen Boutique Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Privately owned Boutique Hotel run by third generation. Central Copenhagen location in the hip,trendy and lively Vesterbro neighborhood. Rooms feature: - A/C, hard Wood floors, double glazed windows, Samsung LED TV, desk, minibar, Nespresso machine and safe. Molton Brown Amenities - Daily Wine-Hour for all guests - - Free Wi-Fi - Honesty Bar, Magazines and Board Games - Complimentary Continental Breakfast - CONCEPT24: The room is yours for 24 hours (Late check-out at no extra cost- must be reserved) -- ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Nozio Netplan srl, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Andersen Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing