We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very mixed up hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Andersen Boutique Hotel
Ranked #7 of 116 Hotels in Copenhagen
Certificate of Excellence
Lennox Head, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Very mixed up hotel”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We've come from over 10,000 kilometres away to stay in a funky hotel in Denmark for a week. The hotel is reasonably well located near the main train station and it is a newly renovated hotel, with some quirky design features, and interesting colour schemes. It is fairly quiet, the room we were given is small and for a weeks
stay we are unable to unpack. The bed is too small. The room is really only suited for a single. We can hear some noise overhead, we are at the at the front, but it hasn't been enough to disturb us. The wifi is poor as you are constantly having to log on, which can take up to 10 minutes. The hotel is very clean, and the daily cleaning is excellent. Breakfast is satisfactory but has no hot food. I would stay again but would insist on a bigger room. The staff are very friendly, but not good at advising or recommending places to eat or to go.

Room Tip: Ask for a big room on the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lesley R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen N, Owner at Andersen Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Thank you for a helpful review.

It is positive to hear how you like the design, found the cleaning excellent and would stay here again.

The Cloud has our Wi-Fi, which is free of charge and for security reasons you have to login every 12 hours. The system will remember your profile if asked to.

Our smallest room type is Cool followed by Brilliant and the Junior Suite is Amazing. If we have larger rooms available you are welcome to upgrade to a higher category for a small fee.

The Continental Breakfast is complimentary and there are no hot items.

We look forward to welcome you back into a nice large room.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,216 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,086
    858
    205
    51
    16
See reviews for
363
1,130
117
260
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (359)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Great location- a few minutes walk from the train station. Safe colourful neighbourhood but close to all main attractions. Room size not a problem for two of us with 2 large suitcases & 2 smaller hand luggage. Clean room, comfortable bed, and window opens onto the street to let in fresh air and listen to the sounds of the city. Breakfast was fresh and more than adequate-love the Danish rye bread. Best asset has to be the staff. All were friendly and helpful-getting us helmets for the bikes from their sister hotel, directions but especially Sean who helped me to cancel two Michelin star restaurants (usu they charge cancellation fees at late notice) as my husband was sick, and then made sure I got to enjoy a nice glass of wine with bowls and cutlery for my takeaway meal in my room. Would highly recommend this hotel to friends and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wakaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen N, Owner at Andersen Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Thank you for a wonderful review.

It is a pleasure to hear that we lived up to your expectations and you were happy with the personal service touch.

We look forward to welcome you and your husband back to Copenhagen and to all the fantastic Michelin restaurants. Hopefully they will keep growing in number of stars.

We will continue with our popular Wine Hour throughout the summer, and the courtyard is slowly getting ready for the nice afternoons.

Let us know when you are back and we will be happy to make dinner arrangements .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
125 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014

We had a great stay at Anderson hotel . Had originally got a room in the corner facing the courtyard and a few things were not working so we were immediately moved and upgraded to another one facing the street with a lounge area, just great!
Breakfast is varied and generous, staff is extremely friendly and helpful although we were charged extra for the citysightseeing bus without being told. Book trendy restaurants very much in advance as we realised copenhageners go out and love their food. A few are in the hotel's area such as fiskebar. The area around the station must have been and still is a red light district but if hats not a problem for you it is a really convenient location and only 15 min max by train to the airport!
Would return if back in Copenhagen

Room Tip: Rooms facing the streets are more noisy but nicer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lauradezil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beverley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014 via mobile

I spent three nights in this hotel with my mom. We had the smaller double room and it was big enough for us. I was concerned it was going to be too small after reading the reviews, but it was perfectly acceptable. The bathroom was big enough and while the bedroom was small, we didn't mind this. The beds were comfortable, the room was clean and the decor gorgeous. If you have a lot of big luggage, this size room might be too small. The hotel staff are very helpful and friendly and we enjoyed the free glass of wine offered every evening. The breakfast was good, but improvements could be made to make it an excellent breakfast. The atmosphere in the downstairs lounge is cozy with other people sitting around having wine, playing games or talking. There are a lot of design magazines to browse if you are interested in that. My mom and I loved this hotel and would definitely go back. The only annoying thing was that one of the staff members recommended a very poor Thai restaurant very close to the hotel. This was the only disappointment. But saying that, the previous night a different receptionist recommended a very good restaurant called Madklubben.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Kramaidan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cap d'Ail, France
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Very friendly staff at this hotel. Great location and good Copenhagen atmosphere. I love the design and the colors that make this hotel stand out from the more sterile types generally found in Scandinavia. Definitely recommended!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank abolb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
117 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014

Only stayed one night on business but I was very impressed with this hotel. The rooms are spotlessly clean and reasonably priced.
Although the room was quite small the bed was very comfortable and the bathroom spotlessly clean and well decorated.
Breakfast was adequate and the location of the hotel is great. Receptionist also very friendly, would absolutely return to this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank serpico651
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

We were won over by great locale, stylish design and their unique 24 philosophy where guests can check out the same time they check in which was perfect for us since we were arriving and departing late. And Andersen Hotel not only didn't disappoint on those promises but elevated our stay even more with their wonderfully warm service!

We arrived just before dinner and literally got to the hotel by foot from the central train station in 2 mins! It's that close and in a completely safe and bustling neughbourhood. We were behind another couple checking in and we noticed the front desk manager Anna was truly patient and went through neighbourhood attractions and dining recommendations with them. When it came to our turn, she not only repeated herself with a warm smile and sincerity but also answered our more specific questions about dining on local food and shopping for home design ware. She was such a welcoming presence for our first encounter in Copenhagen!

Being a boutique hotel, we weren't expecting it to be too spacious but the design and Molton Brown amenities more than made up for the lack of space. The windows opened out to the street below but it was not noisy (we were on the 3rd floor) and while the rooms are not provided with a kettle, a quick request for hot water at the front desk is easy enough. Overall, a stylish abode in the middle of the city.

The location of the hotel is great - a 10 minute walk and we hit Stroget, the longest shopping street in Europe. Around the hotel's neighbourhood is a wealth of dining options. Anna's recommendation of the restaurant next door for local cuisine was fantastic. A walk down and you can reach the hip Meatpacking district (alas, we didn't make it there during our short trip...next time!) We also got to experience little cafes and more local shops from vintage to home furnishings along Vesterbrogade.

A generous, fresh breakfast buffet was served daily in the dining room on the first floor. The staff there were really friendly and warm and it was just great to come down in the mornings to smiling, welcoming faces! Special shout out to Stella for taking such good care of us!

Another special mention to Sean, the other front desk manager who was equally lovely and has a witty sense of humor! It was a hoot chatting with him about Copenhagen; giving us insight and tips into the local lifestyle. He also handled our check out and was just the friendliest & wittiest front desk manager we met on our trip thus far.

For its locale, service and comfort, Andersen Hotel was truly a wonderful stay and high up on our recommendation list!

Room Tip: Remember to take advantage of the 24 Philosophy if you are checking in and out late! Just request up...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank SingaporeStef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Copenhagen hotels
Inner Vesterbro
Absalon Hotel
Absalon Hotel
#6 of 116 in Copenhagen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,767 reviews
Outer Vesterbro
Bertrams Guldsmeden - Copenhagen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner Vesterbro
Axel Guldsmeden - Guldsmeden Hotels
Indre By (Inner City)
Hotel Kong Arthur
Hotel Kong Arthur
#14 of 116 in Copenhagen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,616 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Hotel Alexandra
Hotel Alexandra
#9 of 116 in Copenhagen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Andersen Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Andersen Boutique Hotel

Property: Andersen Boutique Hotel
Address: Helgolandsgade 12, Copenhagen 1653, Denmark
Phone Number:
Region: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Inner Vesterbro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 116 Hotels in Copenhagen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Andersen Boutique Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Privately owned Boutique Hotel run by third generation. Central Copenhagen location in the hip,trendy and lively Vesterbro neighborhood. Our aim is to offer the best service in Copenhagen. Decorated in Designers Guild modern bright colors. Rooms feature: Samsung LED TV, desk, minibar and safe. - Daily Wine-Hour for all guests - Free Wi-Fi - Complimentary Continental Breakfast. - Bikes for rent. - CONCEPT24: The room is yours for 24 hours (Late check-out at no extra cost- must be reserved) - Molton Brown Amenities - Honesty Bar ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Andersen Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing