We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful start to our vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Andersen Boutique Hotel
Ranked #4 of 117 Hotels in Copenhagen
Certificate of Excellence
MANSFIELD TX
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Wonderful start to our vacation”
Reviewed 29 June 2014

We have just returned from a wonderful cruise to the Baltic. We began our trip with two days at this lovely hotel in central Copenhagen. Everything was very convenient. The hotel was exceptionally clean and the staff were very helpful. The rooms are a little small by American standards but that is the case just about everywhere in Europe. It is well located and within walking distance to Tivoli Gardens which is a must see while there. The hop on hop off bus line is also quite close. An excellent way to see the many sights Copenhagen has to offer. Securing a taxi to the ship dock was easy also. All in all a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TRAVELINOS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen N, Owner at Andersen Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Thank you for a lovely review.

We are pleased to hear you had a good start on your vacation and found Andersen Hotel both pleasant and wonderful.

The smallest room is Cool, followed by Brilliant Room and Amazing Junior Suites. A Wonderful Room is a small double with a sofa and can sleep three people. You will find pictures and a description on our own webpage: andersen-hotel.dk - we appreciate all direct reservations.

Hopefully you will be back in the future to stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,403 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,208
    911
    216
    51
    17
See reviews for
408
1,223
129
271
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (373)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

An interesting hotel 5 minutes walk from the station. I had not realised it was so close to the seedy side of town, but there was no great problem with this. The hotel itself has quirky decor, rooms are clean if a bit cramped. The only real criticism is that the two single beds (not the double requested - it matters when you are 1.95m tall) had mattresses that were way too soft with a life of their own so sleep was a bit patchy at times. Breakfast is really good and the staff were friendly

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RowleyEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen N, Owner at Andersen Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Thank you for a valuable review.

We are only a few minutes from the Central Station and 12 minutes by train from the International Airport. We rent bikes at the Front Desk DKK 100.- per day. This is a fun way to explore the City.

I apologiize for the bed being two singles put badly together. We have bought more brackets and hopefully this will work better in the future. I am sorry we did not manage to meet your request of a proper double bed.

We hope you will return in the near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Australia, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

We enjoyed our stay. The staff were friendly and helpful. Breakfast was most enjoyable . The hotel is 5 minutes from the central railway station and close to the waterfront, the shops, cafes. We had no problems with its location. e highly recommend it.

Room Tip: We had no problem with noise. It was great to be able to open the windows. There was double glazin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trish027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen N, Owner at Andersen Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Thank you for writing a truly Wonderful review.

We are happy that you enjoyed your stay at Andersen Boutique Hotel and that your expectations were met. It is true that the windows open, which is nice on a hot summer night as Andersen Hotel does not have air condition. There is a small fan in all rooms.

Vesterbro is a hip area with many different personalities, restaurants and the Meatpacking Area. The central location makes it easy to get around.

We look forward to welcome you back
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

I had the great pleasure of staying at the Andersen Boutique Hotel in Copenhagen for three nights last weekend. The hotel is situated only a short walk from the central train station & only a few minute stroll from Copenhagen's many sights. The hotel staff are friendly and welcoming. My room was clean, beautifully designed & colour schemed. The very quiet room was perfect to chill out in before a night out in the city. The breakfast buffet was a sight to behold. Fruits, cereals, meats, breads & cheese laid out beautifully each morning for guests to pick and choose their choice. With the edition of endless juice & coffee, this was the perfect way to set yourself up for the day ahead. I highly recommend this hotel to anyone wishing to visit Copenhagen. I look forward to staying here again one day :)

Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank PaulMLUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen N, Owner at Andersen Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Thank you very much for sharing a lovely review.

We are thrilled to hear how you enjoyed staying at Andersen Boutique Hotel and how your expectations were met.

Designers Guild is a treat to the eye and most people appreciate the fresh colours and the high quality materials and tapestry.

It is always helpful when our guests share pictures on Trip Advisor - Thank you. Glad you liked the cold Breakfast Buffet - next time you must try a Gammel Dansk.

We look forward to welcome back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
australia
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

I chose this Hotel when booking our Copenhagen stay months ago due to the great Trip Advisor reviews and the location to the Central Station. When I booked this hotel at that time, there was no mention in the reviews of the "fairly seedy" element surrounding the hotel.

The Hotel itself I would have given a 4 star.......Great staff, comfortable rooms (we did book a deluxe room) clean and comfortable, FANTASTIC breakfast and a very generous Happy Hour. Location wise when looking at a map it's fantastic! As we travelled in by train it is less than a 10 minute stroll with luggage from the station, Tivoli Gardens is 10 minutes and we also walked everywhere to all the Tourist Highlights.

What a map doesn't show you is that the area could be classified as seedy.....Sex Shops, Strip Club and we did see a few "Ladies of the Night" in the surrounding streets. As our room faced the street, there was a lot of drunk loud people all through the night waking us up from time to time.

I hate being negative about this hotel, as they deserve a big thumbs up, but the area lets them down. Especially when we paid a HUGE amount of money for this room. Yes, I know Copenhagen is very expensive, but I thought we would enjoy a "Boutique" experience, and that was not the case.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jc2626
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen N, Owner at Andersen Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Thank you for a most helpful review.

First of all, it is comforting to hear that you liked the hotel, the service, the room and the breakfast.

I apologize that you did not like the location. I would say that the Vesterbro location has been discussed a few times in this forum and I regret you did not like the area.

Being close to the Central Station is very convenient but at the same time attracts diversity. Copenhagen is probably no different to any other large city. On the other hand the area is very authentic, upcoming hip and trendy. We are near the Meatpacking Area with restaurants, nightlife and Galleries.

We know that many of our international guests are well traveled and appreciate living with the locals. If you prefer a quiet and calm neighborhood or have not traveled very much, Vesterbro might not be your first choice.

We hope you will be back in Copenhagen to explore more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

We were almost put off booking this hotel based on reviews referring to the nearby red light district but I'm glad we decided to ignore them. The hotel is in a great location, literally 5 minutes walk from the Central railway station and only a few minutes more to the Tivoli Gardens. Reception staff couldn't have been more friendly or helpful, with a free upgrade an unexpected surprise. Would definitely recommend

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the street that the entrance and reception is on
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sally C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen N, Owner at Andersen Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Thank you for an extremely helpful review.

A guest recommendation is the most valuable we can ask for, and we truly appreciate yours.

The neighborhood experience might be different from one person to another. If you are used to travel and like staying where the locals live Vesterbro is recommended. If you prefer a quiet, residential area you might prefer an alternative.

We are glad you chose Andersen Boutique Hotel and that your expectations were met.

Hopefully you will return to Copenhagen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morgantown
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Decided to stay for six nights prior to Baltic Cruise. When first booked discovered it was the remodeled Selandia Hotel, a one star hotel where we stayed over 25 years ago. We had one of the more expensive rooms and found it more than adequate. While some reviewers have criticized the breakfast, we found it excellent with traditional Danish food (rye bread, cheeses, meats, herring), two types of yogurt, fruit, pastries, juices (including carrot juice), hard boiled eggs, and great coffee. I was even offered Gammeldansk, a Danish tonic to help start the day. Staff were very accommodating and offered many great suggestions for dining and tours. Location is two blocks from train station and four from Tivoli, putting it in an ideal location. While we arrive at 9 a.m. from an overnight flight, we were able to check in by noon and received a complimentary breakfast in the meantime. Afternoon wine was very generous even extending to family who stopped by to receive us for dinner.

Room Tip: Rooms at back are quieter as there is street noise at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OKCowboy44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen N, Owner at Andersen Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Thank you for returning after 25 years. I understand your were surprised to see the change the hotel has been through. And we are thrilled you liked the result.

The hotel is named after my Grandmother Erna Andersen and I am third generation running our family owned hotels. I really enjoyed talking to you about the good old days.

The continental breakfast in complimentary and it sounds like it filled you up in the morning. Wi-Fi is also complimentary throughout the hotel. The speed has just been upgraded and is now up to the expected standard of an international hotel.

We hope you will not wait 25 years before your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Copenhagen hotels
Inner Vesterbro
Absalon Hotel
Absalon Hotel
#6 of 117 in Copenhagen
1,930 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
71 Nyhavn Hotel
71 Nyhavn Hotel
#3 of 117 in Copenhagen
257 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Hotel Alexandra
Hotel Alexandra
#11 of 117 in Copenhagen
1,296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Outer Vesterbro
Bertrams Guldsmeden - Copenhagen
Indre By (Inner City)
Copenhagen Admiral Hotel
Copenhagen Admiral Hotel
#24 of 117 in Copenhagen
3,991 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Andersen Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Andersen Boutique Hotel

Property: Andersen Boutique Hotel
Address: Helgolandsgade 12, Copenhagen 1653, Denmark
Phone Number:
Region: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Inner Vesterbro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 117 Hotels in Copenhagen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Andersen Boutique Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Privately owned Boutique Hotel run by third generation. Central Copenhagen location in the hip,trendy and lively Vesterbro neighborhood. Rooms feature: - A/C, hard Wood floors, double glazed windows, Samsung LED TV, desk, minibar, Nespresso machine and safe. Molton Brown Amenities - Daily Wine-Hour for all guests - - Free Wi-Fi - Honesty Bar, Magazines and Board Games - Complimentary Continental Breakfast - CONCEPT24: The room is yours for 24 hours (Late check-out at no extra cost- must be reserved) -- ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Nozio Netplan srl, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Andersen Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing