We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Andersen Boutique Hotel
Ranked #4 of 116 Hotels in Copenhagen
Certificate of Excellence
La Jolla, CA
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay”
Reviewed 24 July 2014

We had a wonderful stay at the Andersen. The location could not have been more convenient -- just a few minutes from the main train station, and from there one could go anywhere. It was so easy to get to the airport!

The staff were amazing! Sean was so funny -- his stories during the free wine hour were just hysterical! We felt so very welcome! We were visiting our son, and he would come by to meet us -- they made him feel welcome as well! Great restaurant recommendations (many restaurants within a few minutes) directions, etc.

The bountiful cold breakfast buffet -- yogurt, fruit, fruit salad, cereals, breads, meats, herring, cheeses, hard boiled eggs, juices, pastries, coffee, tea, etc., got our day off to a good start -- if one really could not do without a hot entrée, one could get one for an extra fee.

We asked for a quiet room on an upper floor in the rear. We got a room on the top floor in the back corner -totally quiet! Our room was small, but more than adequate, and the bathroom had heated floors, a nice touch for December! The Wi-Fi service was good, which was key, since my husband had a bunch of work to do during our stay.

My only complaint was that there was a step up to the bathroom. We always travel with a night light, and we were glad we had it because of that step. FYI --There is no landline in the room, so one cannot phone the front desk except by using one's own cell phone or voip.

We were so glad we stayed at the Andersen -- my son will be in Copenhagen for several years, and it is good to know that we have a home away from home!

Room Tip: We asked for a quiet room on an upper floor in the back, and had no trouble sleeping.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelightLaJolla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen N, Owner at Andersen Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Thank you for a lovely review.

Not much have changed since December except the weather.... This summer has been all about cold drinks (we always have fresh water in the lobby), plenty of bikes to rent and fans to cool the rooms.

As we have no phones in the rooms we offer to borrow a mobile phone for free to make domestic calls during your stay. I am sorry we did not inform you of this.

The cold Breakfast Buffet is complimentary and hopefully it will get you of to a good start. We still have our daily Wine Hour and you are always welcome to join us.

We look forward to welcome you back next time your visit your son.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,276 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,132
    870
    208
    50
    16
See reviews for
376
1,160
117
267
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (365)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
dallas
Level Contributor
73 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Easy 5 min walk from train station. Rent bikes for 100/day... the easiest (and most fun) way to get around the city. Staff at the front desk was always friendly and eager to help. The room itself was the smallest of the 8 hotels we visited in Scandinavia, but it was functional. Breakfast was all cold items but it was plentiful and of good quality. We were able to eat a large breakfast each morning before setting out and then have a much smaller lunch and dinner to save money. We had beautiful weather one evening, so we bought a six-pack of beer across the street and walked 5 minutes northwest to the park on the water near the planetarium and enjoyed the weather with locals.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank john0105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen N, Owner at Andersen Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Thank you for a wonderful review.

It sounds like you really enjoyed the summer in Copenhagen. Bikes are a great way to get around, it is fun and efficient.

Cool Rooms are our smallest rooms followed by Brilliant and Amazing. Wonderful have a sofa bed for more comfort.

The complimentary cold breakfast buffet is a good way to start the day, and nice that it kept you going almost all day

We look forward to welcome you back
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
81 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

We stayed at the hotel for a total of 9 nights. I would stay again if in Copenhagen. Let me start with the positives.
LOCATION! My husband attended a conference at Bella Center. We didn't want to stay in the hotel there due to its large size, lack of character, and location so far from the city. Andersen is a two minute walk to the central train station, from where you can go anywhere. It is very close to the renowned Mikkeller Bar (brewery), very close to fabulous restaurants, and easy to get to all tourist attractions. We took the train from the airport and were at the hotel within 20 minutes.
SAFETY! We felt very secure and at home at the hotel. One must use their key to get on the stairs or elevator. There is a back courtyard shared by the hotel and neighboring apartments. It also requires a key for entry. (We felt safe in all of Copenhagen, by the way.)
STAFF! I can't say enough about the helpfulness of the staff. The front desk is your concierge, bartender, espresso maker, etc. They are incredibly accommodating, helpful, and professional. They take a sincere interest in their guests and their genuineness shows. The breakfast staff are equally amazing. We were interested in going to flea markets on one of our days there and the breakfast staff all consulted with one another to provide us the best recommendations. They really go above and beyond. If you're lucky, you'll get Rasmus at the front desk from 3 p.m. on and Julia will be at your service in the breakfast area.
Other positives - rooms are very clean; towels are soft and smell fresh; bedding is of exceptional quality for a great night's sleep. We thought the breakfast was great. A huge variety of teas, coffee, carrot, beet, apple, and orange juice, milk, water, and some traditional Danish libations are available. A variety of breads, cereals, meats, cheeses, and cereal are all offered, plus a plain and flavored yogurt with all sorts of toppings. Herring, soft boiled eggs, and a variety of Danish pastries round out the offering. We had breakfast each morning and weren't hungry until the evening - because of the variety, quality, and quantity. Wine hour - we usually were ready to wrap up our day's activities between 5 and 6 and returned to the hotel to relax before dinner. Note - Danish diners eat between 5 and 7 and most restaurants close at 9. We enjoyed a glass of wine in the courtyard with our feet up. It was a beautiful, restful place. Most evenings, we conversed with other guests about their day, their country of origin, and the like. We are both introverted and typically don't socialize, but this ended up to be such an enjoyable part of our trip - meeting others from around the world.
There are negatives, but in doing extensive research prior to our trip, they aren't unique to the Andersen. (lack of air conditioning, small rooms, small bathrooms) There is no air conditioning; but few hotels (particularly boutique hotels) have air conditioning. It is rarely hot, so rarely needed. It was very, very hot 3 of our nights - there was a fan in the room and with the windows open, it was comfortable.
The rooms are small, but everything in Denmark is tiny (from cars to grocery stores). Our room was equipped with a desk and chair; 2 additional chairs and a small table between them. There is glass shelving on either side of the bed to serve as night stands. There is a closet with shelving and to hang clothing. Also there is a refrigerator and bar area on top of it. We spent so little time in our room, that the size wasn't an issue at all. The bathroom was equipped with a tub/shower, toilet and pedestal sink.
We had a front facing window on the fifth floor. There is an elevator available. As prior reviewers suggest, there are prostitutes on the corner and sex shops nearby. They didn't bother us at all. There are so many positives about the hotel, including its location that make up for this. I typically want a quiet room to sleep. We were so exhausted after each day's adventures, that the noise from the street wasn't bothersome to us at all. We could have closed the windows and the drapes to shut out the noise and light entirely, but we wanted the Danish experience! It was an effort for us to get up by 9:30 each morning, even though we rarely went to bed after 10! There is so much to see, do and experience in Copenhagen and the Andersen Hotel is the perfect base to do so!

Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
5 Thank SallyFoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen N, Owner at Andersen Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Thank you for a fantastic and very helpful review from an experienced traveler.

After 9 days staying in Andersen Hotel you must have seen and heard everything, and we truly value your evaluation. We appreciate all your comments and agree Vesterbro has a lot to offer.

You stayed on the Top Floor in a Princess Room (magenta/purple) and we a glad you liked it. There is no A/C in Andersen Hotel just a small fan in the room. All the windows will open to get fresh air.

We often have events with DJ, drinks and Art Exhibitions. You are welcome to follow us on Facebook or Twitter for upcoming events.

We hope you will back in the near future to spend some more time with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eskilstuna, Sweden
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 July 2014

This is a nice little hotel. The wine hour each day was a nice addition, but it was stuffy and full of small kids. We took the wine to our room. We requested a quiet room. It was quiet at night. However, by 8:00 am their were children from the hotel screaming and throwing things in the courtyard under the room windows. It was far too hot to have the windows shut, but there is hardly a breeze in the courtyard "quiet" section.
Excellent front desk help. Price is is bit steep for accommodations.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hvan20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen N, Owner at Andersen Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Thank you for a helpful review.

I am sorry to hear you did not fully enjoy the Wine Hour due to noisy kids.

It is always a balance to mix families with grown up travelers. Fortunately, we seldom have problems with noisy children. Only few of our rooms are suitable for a family. Children are more than welcome, especially if they are nice and have parents used to travel. We have board games in the lobby for all our guests.

Most families travel during the school holidays and we seldom see children during the week. We hope you will return in a more children quiet period.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

We spent 6 weeks travelling in Great Britain and the Baltic Sea. We travelled mainly first class including a luxurious 12 day cruise with Seaborne. Copenhagen was our last stop and we stayed here because of the proximity to the train station and the TA reviews. It was a large step down staying at Andersen. We got a very small room on the fifth floor on the street side facing the all night liquor store. The room was tiny and very hot although it was cool outside. There is no A/C so the window had to be open. There was a small moveable fan but it sounded like a small chainsaw. There is an intersection right outside our window and both streets are busy, day and night. The prostitutes work the corner and there was yelling and horn honking all night. The sex shops and strip clubs are a few steps away. The staff were friendly and helpful but we expect that wherever we go. The breakfast was good and the rooms clean. Again, we expect both of those. For us the stay was not enjoyable.

Room Tip: Don't take a street side room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Irwin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen N, Owner at Andersen Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Thank you for sharing your point of view.

I am sorry we did manage to talk to you during your stay. We always try to make our guests happy whether it requires a room change, room upgrade or even search an alternative hotel e.g. a five star luxury hotel in a quiet neighborhood.

Trip Advisor is a helpful platform when searching room accommodation in a foreign city. A lot of the previous reviews have been about the location. Most find it fun to stay in an authentic neighborhood. Others find it too noisy and not posh at all.

A small boutique hotel often lacks 5* facilities. Andersen Hotel does not have A/C, the complimentary breakfast buffet is cold and some rooms are small. Wi-fi is free throughout the hotel, CONCEPT24 let you have the room for 24 hours at no extra cost (please request) and the free Wine-hour is popular with many guests.

We hope you will be back in Copenhagen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
homewood, Il
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

This hotel is lovely. Located within walking distance of all sites. Great breakfast and wine in the afternoons. The staff goes above and beyond to be helpful always with a smile. Rooms not overly spacious but large enough; a bit tight with multiple large pieces of luggage. We left a piece of luggage in the storage room overnight where it was safely locked.
Can't say enough nice things.

Room Tip: No air conditioning
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank banachi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen N, Owner at Andersen Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Thank you for a lovely review.

It is nice to hear you enjoyed our complimentary cold Buffet Breakfast - maybe you even tried a Gammel Dansk Bitter.

The Meatpacking Area has many restaurants and Galleries are opening. There is plenty to do in the area, and otherwise we rent bikes for our guests to explore the city like a Dane.

We are pleased to hear it worked out with the luggage. We have a storage room where our guests are more than welcome to store luggage.

We look forward to see you back in Copenhagen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakton, Virginia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014 via mobile

Clean safe hotel with friendly staff. Very close to Tivoli entertainment and great wine happy hour from 5-6pm which was unexpected. There was a good English breakfast. They are kind to Americans and we booked 2 room, the family junior suite and a standard room. Near the meat packing district. Cool decor in the lobby and rooms and free wifi in the lobby after a short registration process, we had just come off a Baltic cruise.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank TracyTravel_22124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen N, Owner at Andersen Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Thank you for a nice review.

We are happy to hear you liked Andersen Boutique, the Staff and the location.

The daily Wine-Hour is very popular and many of our guests enjoy meeting and mingling with other travelers. We will continue this as long as our guest appreciate our hospitality.

Wi-Fi is free throughout the hotel and we have just upgraded the speed. We have a computer in the lobby, which is mainly used to check-in and print boarding passes.

We look forward to welcome you back
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Copenhagen hotels
Inner Vesterbro
Absalon Hotel
Absalon Hotel
#6 of 116 in Copenhagen
1,815 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
71 Nyhavn Hotel
71 Nyhavn Hotel
#3 of 116 in Copenhagen
200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Outer Vesterbro
Bertrams Guldsmeden - Copenhagen
Inner Vesterbro
Axel Guldsmeden - Guldsmeden Hotels
Indre By (Inner City)
Hotel Alexandra
Hotel Alexandra
#9 of 116 in Copenhagen
1,264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Andersen Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Andersen Boutique Hotel

Property: Andersen Boutique Hotel
Address: Helgolandsgade 12, Copenhagen 1653, Denmark
Phone Number:
Region: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Inner Vesterbro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 116 Hotels in Copenhagen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Andersen Boutique Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Privately owned Boutique Hotel run by third generation. Central Copenhagen location in the hip,trendy and lively Vesterbro neighborhood. Our aim is to offer the best service in Copenhagen. Decorated in Designers Guild modern bright colors. Rooms feature: Samsung LED TV, desk, minibar and safe. - Daily Wine-Hour for all guests - Free Wi-Fi - Complimentary Continental Breakfast. - Bikes for rent. - CONCEPT24: The room is yours for 24 hours (Late check-out at no extra cost- must be reserved) - Molton Brown Amenities - Honesty Bar ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Andersen Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing