We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel for city break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Andersen Boutique Hotel
Ranked #3 of 118 Hotels in Copenhagen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We really enjoyed our stay at the Andersen Hotel. True you may encounter some interesting characters outside but we never felt threatened at all. The room was small but very comfortable. The shower and toilet were compact, more like a wet room really, but the the squeegee meant you could dry the floor quickly. It's true there was no air conditioning but I would imagine that most of the time this is not an issue. We were there when it was particularly hot and sticky but we had a decent fan. Breakfast was good and there was plenty of it. The computer in reception meant you could look up anything you needed to plan your day. Wine hour was very nice and all the reception staff were helpful. Must give a special mention to the ever youthful Sean who even walked us to a nearby restaurant. We would definitely go back.

Room Tip: We were up on the 5th floor so not bothered by street level noise. Assume those facing the courtyard...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Liz T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen N, Owner at Andersen Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Thank you for an excellent review.

We are glda to hear your coped during the heatwave earlier this summer. The temperature is now more pleasant although it is now too cold to swim in the harbour.

There are many great restaurants in the neighborhood within walking distance. Our next door neighbor is Frk Barners Kælder restauarant serving a traditional Danish cuisine including open face sandwiches. In the Meatpacking Area you will find hip and trendy places including the popular Fiskebaren.

We look forward to welcome you back next time you are in Copenhagen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,542)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,369 - 1,375 of 2,542 reviews

Reviewed 4 August 2014

The Andersen Hotel is in the heart of Copenhagen, just blocks from Tivoli and the main train station and has amenities that will knock your socks off! Such delights as super friendly and helpful front desk staff, a lobby equipped to meet your technology needs (free wifi throughout the hotel) and physical needs such as a free personal coffee drink brewed up on the spot, to favorite non-alcoholic/alcoholic drinks, to a large plate filled with some delectable "snack" items. The lobby seating is modern, colorful and cozy. Chess anyone? Game boards are scattered here and there.

The hotel room is a masterpiece of design and simplicity. "Fresh and colorful" greets you when you walk in - and you will soon experience a very comfortable bed, small glass night stands, a desk, a good size wardrobe for your hanging needs, a stocked frig and plenty of convenient outlets for charging your electricals. The bathroom is good size and so user-friendly you'll wish you had one like it at home (the hairdryer is fabulous!). Everything about the room feels clean, new, fresh. I loved the large windows in the room and the bathroom that can be opened or closed at your pleasure.

And the breakfast! Oh boy, what a feast! Cereals, yogurts, dried fruit and fresh cut-up fruit, fresh breads and charcuterie, cheeses and jams - a "tower" of various Danish pastries, and of course, pickled herring and pate. There's a selection of teas and juices that will amaze you, carrot or beet juice anyone? If you need an egg there is a basket of them. And there is the same kind and helpful service given by the breakfast staff who will answer your questions or meet a special need.

If you can possibly stay at this hotel while you are in Copenhagen don't miss your chance!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Karen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen N, Owner at Andersen Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2014

Thank you for an excellent review.

I truly believe you enjoyed your stay at Andersen Boutique Hotel. Our main asset is our local staff. We all love Copenhagen and we are more than happy to share our preferred places with our guests.

The hotel is named after my Grandmother and I am third generation running the hotel. Many years of hospitality knowledge was used to make Andersen Hotel. We are thrilled that you liked it

Hopefully you had a chance to join us for Wine Hour - a perfect way to relas and mingle.

We look forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

Arriving on August 3 we allready noticed the very small rooms, dated bathrooms and no airconditioning but we were also not able to open the window because of the noise all night of the hookers.
Just park your car in the street was recommended. At least you are sure that junks Will take care of it.
Staff is friendly that is the only thing what is true.
The high rating on trip advisor for sure is manipulated.
Price quality is ridiculous
Design hotel? A joke

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ridderhof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen N, Owner at Andersen Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Thank you for sharing your point of view.

We value any feedback, as we aim towards keeping our high service level and continue to meet our guest expectations.

As previously discussed many times in this forum, Vesterbro Neighborhood has a lot to offer, although it still has an edge from the older times. Unfortunately, the street volume seem to rise together with the outside temperature.

Please accept my apologies for the inconvenience you experienced. Furthermore you stayed on the warmest July night in history, which made it difficult to sleep as you were not able to open the window due to the street noise. There is a fan in the room, but it was most likely not sufficient.

We hope you will come back in Copenhagen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

It is, by Copenhagen standards, a good hotel with clean rooms, friendly service and perfect location. Breakfasts were disappointing, however, there are plenty of places where you can eat raw and fresh food in Copenhagen. Another thing that troubled me was a very (VERY!) small bath.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Ksyushok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen N, Owner at Andersen Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Thank you for a nice review.

Fortunately you found the rooms clean, our service friendly and perfect location. The cold breakfast buffet is complimentary, and I am sorry you did not find enough raw food and fresh fruit. We serve yoghurt, fruit salad and a wide selection of dried fruit, seeds and nuts.

Copenhagen is known by many to be an expensive city. Please remember 25% sales tax is always included in the sales price. All non-EU residents may get a taxrefund on goods upon departure. Furthermore tips are included in all prices and we only leave a tip if the service was exceptional.

We look forward to welcome you back

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Stayed here for 4 nights in July. Location is perfect especially if using the train to explore. My first contact with the hotel staff was to request a suggested mode of transportation from the airport. I received a swift and helpful reply. Upon our early arrival, our room was ready and this allowed us to "clean up" and unpack before we began our exploration of this beautiful city. It has been unseasonably warm, and the property is not air-conditioned, as the very warm day was an exception, and while the room was warm, we requested and received a fan that made the room generally comfortable. The room was average size and impeccably clean and well-maintained. Larger than average bathroom and shower were also spotlessly clean. The reception staff was most pleasant and helpful, directing us to an area to explore for a few hours. A point of note: this is a very eclectic and vibrant neighborhood, and as is often the case near train stations, there are signs of people who live on the street and prostitutes. For those of us who travel the world, this just adds to the overall experience. The women that we passed, while making it clear that they were working, were not aggressive and should not detract from your visit. Ok, back to the hotel: breakfast was simple, but fresh and varied. Breakfast staff was hard working and attentive. This hotel pays attention to the small details that do matter: A couple of examples 1) when we returned to our room after our first day out, we were greeted with a a plate of fresh fruits and chocolate 2) while there is a lift (elevator) taking the stairs provided "prizes" at each floor landing...bottled water, Danish butter cookies, hard and soft candy, etc. Bottom line, I would definitely return to the The Andersen. It is a wonderful small hotel in a trendy neighborhood perfect for exploring this incredible city. Well done Andersen!

Room Tip: We had a room overlooking the courtyard. This kept any street noise from entering the room, even wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank jcrilleyjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen N, Owner at Andersen Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Thank you for a very helpful and informative review.

Your description of Vesterbro as an eclectic and vibrant neighborhood is spot on. We agree the neighborhood is recommended for world travelers wanting to explore the local areas and for people used to travel.

The Meatpacking Area has just won number 4 Hipster area in the world. You will find restaurants, night clubs and galleries there.

Designers Guild is used throughout the hotel, and the fresh colors makes the hotel stand out from mostly larger hotels. We only have 73 rooms - a true Boutique Hotel, run and managed by 3. generation.

We hope to see you back before long

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

My family and I stayed at the Andersen Hotel and we loved the comfort and service the hotel provided. In particular Sean, who worked behind the counter, was extremely friendly and kind (and not just the fake stuff you usually get at hotels). Sean was genuinely a nice person and made our time in Copenhagen that much better. He gave us recommendations for places to eat, helped make reservations, and even upgraded my room so I wouldn't have to share one with my sister. I highly recommend staying at Andersen's... besides the complimentary wine hour is pretty sweet too.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrew G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen N, Owner at Andersen Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Thank you for sharing your lovely review.

Our main asset is most likely our wonderful, friendly and helpful sfaff. We all love Copenhagen and to share the opportunities to explore. The city has many restaurants and we are happy to make reservations and recommendations even prior to your stay. Sorry, no hotline to Noma:)

Check out Andersen Hotel on Pinterest. We have a Board for Restaurants in Copenhagen and another board on our favorite places in Vesterbro. The Meatpacking Area is a popular place to dine for local Hipsters and international travelers.

We hope to welcome you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

We booked independently with this hotel who unfortunately mixed up our booking and were not expecting us when we arrived! Despite this they found us two rooms quickly and without fuss but not the superior room we had requested as the hotel was full. They provided us with two bottles of wine in the bar in the free "wine hour" to compensate us. The rooms were very comfortable and the staff were pleasant and efficient. I wouldnt hesitate to recommend for a short stay.

Room Tip: Chose superior or above
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nigel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen N, Owner at Andersen Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Thank you for a helpful review.

We apologize about the reservation fault and I trust my collegues solved the problem to your satisfaction.

It is always much appreciate everytime our guests book directly through our own Andersen-hotel.dk website.

The Wine Hour is very popular and a good way to mingle and meet other guests in our Lobby Lounge. The wide selction of design magazines are for the enjoyment of our guests.

Thank you for your recommendation, we look forward to welcome you back

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Copenhagen hotels
Inner Vesterbro
Absalon Hotel
Absalon Hotel
#6 of 118 in Copenhagen
2,033 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
71 Nyhavn Hotel
71 Nyhavn Hotel
#4 of 118 in Copenhagen
313 reviews
Outer Vesterbro
Bertrams Guldsmeden - Copenhagen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner Vesterbro
Axel Guldsmeden - Guldsmeden Hotels
Indre By (Inner City)
Hotel Alexandra
Hotel Alexandra
#11 of 118 in Copenhagen
1,323 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Nimb Hotel
Nimb Hotel
#2 of 118 in Copenhagen
429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Andersen Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Andersen Boutique Hotel

Address: Helgolandsgade 12, Copenhagen 1653, Denmark
Phone Number:
Region: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Inner Vesterbro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 118 Hotels in Copenhagen
Price Range: £126 - £246 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Andersen Boutique Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Privately owned Boutique Hotel run by third generation. Central Copenhagen location in the hip,trendy and lively Vesterbro neighborhood. Rooms feature: - A/C, hard Wood floors, double glazed windows, Samsung LED TV, desk, minibar, Nespresso machine and safe. Molton Brown Amenities - Daily Wine-Hour for all guests - - Free Wi-Fi - Honesty Bar, Magazines and Board Games - Complimentary Continental Breakfast - CONCEPT24: The room is yours for 24 hours (Late check-out at no extra cost- must be reserved) -- ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Nozio Netplan srl, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Ebookers, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Andersen Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing